Contribute
Register

[Success] b1's "Mac Mini Killer" with macOS Mojave: i7-8700 | Gigabyte Z370N | RX560 | 16GB RAM

Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
14
Motherboard
GB Z370N
CPU
I5-7500
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mine sleeps - I guess - however when I press the keyboard or the power button it comes back from a complete power off; I see the BIOS post and the machine boots fine. It doesn't seem like it's crashed as the OS doesn't state anything.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
393
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mine sleeps - I guess - however when I press the keyboard or the power button it comes back from a complete power off; I see the BIOS post and the machine boots fine. It doesn't seem like it's crashed as the OS doesn't state anything.

That's exactly what I experience before.
I will test an 8h sleep in a few hours with autopoweroff=0 and proximitywake=0. Previous 5h sleep was ok.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
14
Motherboard
GB Z370N
CPU
I5-7500
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just disabled autopoweroff even though it's default value seems to state that after 8 hours it will kick in. However that was not the case for me; manually entering sleep after 1 min also did it. It seems that now it automatically sleeps after the monitor goes to sleep (what I want) and also if I do it manually. Will test over night with 8+ hours :)
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2018
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270XP-SLI
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With latest Lilu and WhatEvergreen, I found that Inject Intel and ig-platform-id are not longer necessary for my build (RX580 + iGPU). You can try if you want to remove some useless entries on Clover.

I really like your build (the only thing that jars a bit is the brown Noctua fan) :)
Do you know if removing Inject Intel and the ig-platform-id would work on a Gigabyte Z270XP-SLI with an i7-7700k? I seem to recall reading that will only work on the Coffee Lake procs...any thoughts?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
393
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you know if removing Inject Intel and the ig-platform-id would work on a Gigabyte Z270XP-SLI with an i7-7700k? I seem to recall reading that will only work on the Coffee Lake procs...any thoughts?

Just try.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
393
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just disabled autopoweroff even though it's default value seems to state that after 8 hours it will kick in. However that was not the case for me; manually entering sleep after 1 min also did it. It seems that now it automatically sleeps after the monitor goes to sleep (what I want) and also if I do it manually. Will test over night with 8+ hours :)

Mine works :) Slept 8+ hours, no reboots.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
14
Motherboard
GB Z370N
CPU
I5-7500
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mine works :) Slept 8+ hours, no reboots.

Same here :) I left proximitywake == 1 just to see but even after 8 hours it woke up as normal. One thing I noted was that exactly after 8 hours I got this from pmset:

2018-09-29 00:38:04 +0200 Sleep Entering Sleep state due to 'Maintenance Sleep':TCPKeepAlive=inactive Using AC (Charge:0%) 28796 secs
2018-09-29 00:38:06 +0200 PM Client Acks Delays to Sleep notifications: [com.apple.apsd is slow(1959 ms)]
2018-09-29 08:37:59 +0200 Kernel Client Acks Delays to Sleep notifications: [CodecCommander driver is slow(msg: SetState to 0)(302 ms)] [en3 driver is slow(msg: WillChangeState to 0)(5287 ms)]
2018-09-29 08:37:59 +0200 Assertions PID 183(mDNSResponder) Created MaintenanceWake "mDNSResponder:maintenance" 00:00:00 id:0x0xd00008dc5 [System: BGTask SRPrevSleep kCPU]
2018-09-29 08:37:59 +0200 Assertions PID 1171(cloudphotosd) Released BackgroundTask "com.apple.cloudphotosd.darkwake.sync" 08:00:39 id:0x0xb00008dbd [System: PrevIdle BGTask SRPrevSleep kCPU]
2018-09-29 08:37:59 +0200 Assertions PID 183(mDNSResponder) Released MaintenanceWake "mDNSResponder:maintenance" 00:00:00 id:0x0xd00008dc5 [System: PrevIdle BGTask]
2018-09-29 08:37:59 +0200 AppWakeReason AppWoke:com.apple.bluetoothd Reason:proximity Wake
2018-09-29 08:37:59 +0200 Assertions PID 58(powerd) Created InternalPreventSleep "Assertion to change proximity monitoring state" 00:00:00 id:0x0xd00008dc8 [System: BGTask SRPrevSleep kCPU]
2018-09-29 08:37:59 +0200 Assertions PID 58(powerd) Created InternalPreventSleep "Holding in darkwake for user proximity for up to 1800 secs" 00:00:00 id:0x0xd00008dc9 [System: BGTask SRPrevSleep kCPU]
2018-09-29 08:37:59 +0200 Assertions PID 58(powerd) Released InternalPreventSleep "Assertion to change proximity monitoring state" 00:00:00 id:0x0xd00008dc8 [System: BGTask SRPrevSleep kCPU]
2018-09-29 08:38:00 +0200 Assertions PID 58(powerd) Created InternalPreventSleep "PM configd - Wait for Device enumeration" 00:00:00 id:0x0xd00008dca [System: BGTask SRPrevSleep kCPU]
2018-09-29 08:38:00 +0200 DarkWake DarkWake from AutoPowerOff [CDN] due to XDCI XHC/: Using AC (Charge:0%) 45 secs
2018-09-29 08:38:00 +0200 WakeDetails DriverReason:XHC - DriverDetails:
The machine was still sleeping when I got back to it after ~9 hours but I had that in the log. Ill try and disable proximitywake as well. Playing around with autopoweroffdelay settings as that's the only thing with a default 8 hour setting. Ive changed that to 20 min just to see the results faster.

Im back to just having darkwake selected under boot settings in Clover.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2018
Messages
43
Motherboard
Asus Z370-I ROG Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I followed your EFI to a certain extent. I don't have the same DSDT patches exactly since we have different motherboards but everything else is pretty much the same. I am getting hit with a couldn't allocate runtime area issue. Any ideas?

Hardware: 8700k + RX 580 + Asus Z370
I have iGPU enabled.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
393
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I followed your EFI to a certain extent. I don't have the same DSDT patches exactly since we have different motherboards but everything else is pretty much the same. I am getting hit with a couldn't allocate runtime area issue. Any ideas?

Hardware: 8700k + RX 580 + Asus Z370
I have iGPU enabled.

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Top