Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Asus Maximus V Gene - i7 3770k - PNY GTX 660ti

Joined
Oct 18, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V Gene
CPU
Intel i7 3770k
Graphics
Pny GTX 660 ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,
Have you tried to follow this guide?
[video=youtube;XI-zGV8SLho]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XI-zGV8SLho&feature=youtube_gdata_player[/video]
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V gene
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570k
Graphics
EVGA GTX670 FTW
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
Have you tried to follow this guide?...

Hi Sacco,

Thanks for replying to my cry for help. Funny thing is that I have just managed to flash the mobo with patched BIOS 1604. I dont know how I exactly did it as at one point I started removing USB cables, unplugging the power supply cable, resetting CMOS, praying, threatening, you name it. So now I have speedstep (x16 - x42) and SMBIOS Macmini 6,2 with vanilla applecpupowermanagement.kext :D .

Which SMBIOS do you use again?

Did you use the Nvidia web drivers for your vcard?

I must say that I am pretty happy with the computers performance. However I am having issues getting the USB 3 Asmedia ports to properly work.

Were you able to get this fixed or are we on the same boat?
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2011
Messages
28
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V Gene
CPU
Intel i7 3770k
Graphics
Pny GTX 660 ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
We are in the same boat :D .
I have not used nVidia driver, so i think that GPU is natively recognized.
I didn't install anything else about Multibeast, so if you want to know my Mavericks settings just look at the prrvius page.

I am really happy that you have solved your problem :) .
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V gene
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570k
Graphics
EVGA GTX670 FTW
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, thats too bad. I will try some things later today regarding USB3 and if I manage to get it working I will let you know. I will also see if installing the nvidia web drivers does anything to performance. I guess that those drivers are more for 3rd party apps to offload tasks to the GPUs rather than for Mac OS X own tasks.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
65
Motherboard
X220
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Here is my current setup.

Overall the install went smoothly. My only problem is that the sound keeps on cutting in and out. During hangout it cuts out. If the computer goes to sleep it cuts out as well.

Here is what the console states.

8/21/14 4:44:35.452 AM CoreServicesUIAgent[1225]: Error: qtn_file_apply_to_path error: Read-only file system
8/21/14 4:44:50.000 AM kernel[0]: process Google Chrome[184] caught causing excessive wakeups. Observed wakeups rate (per sec): 498; Maximum permitted wakeups rate (per sec): 150; Observation period: 300 seconds; Task lifetime number of wakeups: 3688007
8/21/14 4:44:50.248 AM ReportCrash[1249]: Invoking spindump for pid=184 wakeups_rate=498 duration=91 because of excessive wakeups
8/21/14 4:44:52.812 AM spindump[1250]: Saved wakeups_resource.spin report for Google Chrome version 36.0.1985.143 (1985.143) to /Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/Google Chrome_2014-08-21-044452_Davids-Mac-Pro.wakeups_resource.spin
8/21/14 4:44:53.215 AM Finder[190]: NSFileCoordinator: Sending of a providerCheckin message was interrupted. Details: Connection interrupted
8/21/14 4:44:53.539 AM sandboxd[120]: ([191]) coreaudiod(191) deny file-read-data /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/Flip4Mac WMA Import.component
8/21/14 4:44:53.572 AM sandboxd[120]: ([191]) coreaudiod(191) deny file-read-metadata /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/Flip4Mac WMA Import.component/Contents
8/21/14 4:44:53.589 AM sandboxd[120]: ([191]) coreaudiod(191) deny file-read-metadata /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/Flip4Mac WMA Import.component
8/21/14 4:45:00.227 AM storeagent[295]: ### Error:-25257 File:/SourceCache/CommerceCore/CommerceCore-42/ISPurchaseReceipt.m Line:565
8/21/14 4:45:09.882 AM com.apple.IconServicesAgent[211]: main Failed to composit image for binding VariantBinding [0x36f] flags: 0x8 binding: FileInfoBinding [0x2af] - extension: jpg, UTI: public.jpeg, fileType: ????.
8/21/14 4:45:09.882 AM quicklookd[1258]: Warning: Cache image returned by the server has size range covering all valid image sizes. Binding: VariantBinding [0x203] flags: 0x8 binding: FileInfoBinding [0x103] - extension: jpg, UTI: public.jpeg, fileType: ???? request size:128 scale: 1
8/21/14 4:45:10.000 AM kernel[0]: CODE SIGNING: cs_invalid_page(0x1000): p=1260[GoogleSoftwareUp] final status 0x0, allowing (remove VALID) page
8/21/14 4:45:13.759 AM com.apple.IconServicesAgent[211]: main Failed to composit image for binding VariantBinding [0x2b9] flags: 0x8 binding: FileInfoBinding [0x1ad] - extension: png, UTI: public.png, fileType: ????.
8/21/14 4:45:13.759 AM quicklookd[1258]: Warning: Cache image returned by the server has size range covering all valid image sizes. Binding: VariantBinding [0x403] flags: 0x8 binding: FileInfoBinding [0x303] - extension: png, UTI: public.png, fileType: ???? request size:128 scale: 1
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2014-08-21 at 4.45.23 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2014-08-21 at 4.45.23 AM.png
    126.3 KB · Views: 237
Joined
Jul 20, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
Maximus V Gene
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K
Graphics
Asus Nvidia GTX 770 2GB
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hiya! Is there any other way I can get the patched Maximus V Gene BIOS? The repo site seems to be down. I'd greatly appreciate it, thanks for all the info. Excited to try Mavericks :D
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2013
Messages
18
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus V Gene Intel Z77
CPU
Intel I5
Graphics
EVGA GTX670
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
FYI you can get the different BIOS files for the ASUS Maximus V Gene MOBO from their site - http://www.asus.com/ROG_ROG/MAXIMUS_V_GENE/HelpDesk_Download/ hope that helps. My question is, is it necessary to flash it back to an earlier version if it is current? Also, I'm assuming no settings were modified in the BIOS manually?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Not to bump an old thread but I am having a few issues getting this to work with El Capitan. Is there a link that isn't broke to the bios flash file? During install, apple logo will come up and do one of three things. sit at the apple logo, get almost all the way through the install bar, or go to a white screen with :beachball: and sit there. I am sure there are a few bios settings that I am missing sense I am use too Biostar boards. Any help would be appreciated.

I am running the fallowing

Asus Maximus Gene
Intel LGA1155 i5
Corsair Vengance 12GB of ram
Samsung SSD HDD
GTX 650
 
Top