Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero II Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X - i7-8700K - AMD RX 580

Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
186
Motherboard
AsrockZ270M Extreme4
CPU
I5-7600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
@WedgeTail I noticed that your graphics card is running at x8, maybe because you left the 1050 still plugged in? If not may I suggest that you take out the card then reseat it as ran into a similar issue with my Z77 build that caused my card to be running at x2 with no other cards in any of the PCIe slots...
HI Dajjal -- No, the only other PCIE card I have installed is a Wi-Fi card in the x4 slot. Thanks for the advice. I took advantage of taking my system down for a Windows install on a separate drive, and did as you suggested. I have needed to press on the back end of the RX 560 to align the fasteners with the frame holes (had to do the same when I was using the 1050), so I tried to alter that.Screen Shot 2018-10-22 at 19.51.52.png
No change, I'm afraid, but I don't think it would make much difference to the performance, which has been all I would expect.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,449
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Since I was still experiencing some random crashes with RX 580 Nitro, I had to change SMBIOS from 18,1 to 17,1 in order to avoid them completely. I'm not sure why, but it seems it helps "Photos" not messing up with the ATI causing GPU Restart while indexing/processing large libraries.
Stork, am i missing out something important sticking with 17,1 ?

Edit:
I ended up replacing the Nitro with a Pulse, couldn't have made a better choice, see post #415
 
Last edited:

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,449
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Since I was still experiencing some random crashes with RX 580 Nitro, I had to change SMBIOS from 18,1 to 17,1 in order to avoid them completely. I'm not sure why, but it seems it helps "Photos" not messing up with the ATI causing GPU Restart while indexing/processing large libraries.
Stork, am i missing out something important sticking with 17,1 ?
You should be using iMac18,3 since you have a graphics card. The iMac 18,1 doesn't use a graphics chipset, just the Intel integrated graphics. I'm using iMac18,3 w/o any problems.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
You should be using iMac18,3 since you have a graphics card. The iMac 18,1 doesn't use a graphics chipset, just the Intel integrated graphics. I'm using iMac18,3 w/o any problems.
Thanks a lot for the reply, definitely clear.
I suspect the RX 580 Nitro+ doesn't work as flawlessly as the Pulse. Based on what you said, my guess is that using the 17,1 or 18,1 Photos doesn't try to use the GPU to accelerate Photo analysis, hence avoiding the crashes.
I'm finding limited information regarding the Nitro and hackintoshes, and even less having a similar problem. I'm honestly a bit lost..

Edit:
I ended up replacing the Nitro with a Pulse, couldn't have made a better choice, see post #415
 
Last edited:

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,449
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks a lot for the reply, definitely clear.
I suspect the RX 580 Nitro+ doesn't work as flawlessly as the Pulse. Based on what you said, my guess is that using the 17,1 or 18,1 Photos doesn't try to use the GPU to accelerate Photo analysis, hence avoiding the crashes.
... What's your suggestion?
See my OP for the Frame Buffer config.plist patch or Post #342.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
See my OP for the Frame Buffer config.plist patch or Post #342.
I indeed already set the config.plist as you suggested, currently using Orinoco and InjectATI, InjectIntel.

To avoid crashes in Adobe Rush/Premiere i found out that i also need DSDT Patches GFX -> IGPU and PEG0 -> GFX0, combined with imac 18,1 or 17,1

Edit:
Even though the fix lowered the occurrence of crashes, it didn't avoid them completely. I ended up replacing the Nitro with a Pulse, see post #415
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX VEGA 56
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I just updated to Mojave without any problems. Appstore download -> update. Then I left to take the kids to preschool, and I was at new login screen when I came back. Now I noticed though that my fans are running at pretty high RPM.

Is there any post install thing i need to do to fix this? I've forgot if i did something about it in High Sierra.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,449
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pjmartin82, it's a Vega "thing". @pastrychef had the same problem, and I think he solved it with a special kext. See his Golden Build description for more information.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,047
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I just updated to Mojave without any problems. Appstore download -> update. Then I left to take the kids to preschool, and I was at new login screen when I came back. Now I noticed though that my fans are running at pretty high RPM.

Is there any post install thing i need to do to fix this? I've forgot if i did something about it in High Sierra.
Yes, you can use the VGTab utility to customize the fan speeds and then create a kext that will fix the fans. You can find the VGTab utility attached to post #1 of my Z370 build thread. Link is below in my signature.
 
Top