Stork's Gene Build > ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE - i5-6600K - Gigabyte GTX 950

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by Stork, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    532
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 17, 2017 at 12:04 AM #741
    AlphaFox

    AlphaFox

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    532
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    no, I am sticking with some Samsung SATA EVO 850s, don't want to mess with NVMe, thanks for the heads up though.
     
    Stork likes this.
  2. Andrewfo

    Andrewfo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790
    Jan 17, 2017 at 3:30 PM #742
    Andrewfo

    Andrewfo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790
    Like lawry above, I am experiencing similar graphics problems. Originally, I used the built-in graphics on my Gene board but only got 1 display - but at least it was at full res. Yesterday, my long-awaited GTX960 WF2 arrived and I installed it, changing the config.plst. However, Sierra doesn't recognize the card and I only get 1280x800. I cannot change to the Web files I installed. It will only recognize the built-in OS X files.

    Any help or counsel would be greatly appreciated, as my 2008 MBP is burning up, it's running so hot and I need this new rig.
     
  3. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,674
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Jan 17, 2017 at 3:41 PM #743
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,674
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Hi Anfrewfo,
    When you mention you cannot change to the Web drivers, do you mean you change them in the control panel but they always revert to the default OS drivers when you restart.
     
  4. Andrewfo

    Andrewfo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790
    Jan 17, 2017 at 3:43 PM #744
    Andrewfo

    Andrewfo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790
    Yes - that's exactly what happens. I can't get past this.
     
  5. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,674
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Jan 17, 2017 at 3:47 PM #745
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,674
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Ok, it seems that you have a newer BIOS that cannot save the variables to NVRAM. I had the exact same problem when I updated my BIOS. Take a look at a couple of simple steps to make it work here Post#439.
    This is from my build description as I added a little word of caution, it will also work for you too.
     
    Stork likes this.
  6. Andrewfo

    Andrewfo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790
    Jan 17, 2017 at 4:45 PM #746
    Andrewfo

    Andrewfo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790
    Thanks for this. Just one problem: this is only my 2nd build and I'm a total newbie to Clover. Could you give me a step-by-step guide to doing this and explain how I should install it, as it's a bit over my head, I'm afraid. I downloaded the latest Clover and opened the package in Pacifist but, despite seeing the folder list, couldn't see how to customize the installation - and then, how to update my installation.
     
  7. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,674
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Jan 17, 2017 at 4:53 PM #747
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,674
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    No need to extract anything from the Clover installer with Pacifist.
    Run the installer(double click on it) and select Continue, Continue, Continue, Agree then Customise.
    It'll open up some tick boxes. Tick the Box under Drivers64UEFI > √ EmuVariableUefi-64 and tick the box √ Install RC scripts on the target volume. Ignore what is already selected and leave them selected. Click Install > Enter password.
    The Installer completes. Open Nvidia Driver Manager and Select NVIDIA Web Driver > you'll need to unlock it with your password. It will ask you to restart. Restart and you should be now running the Web Driver.
     
  8. Coherent

    Coherent

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Jan 17, 2017 at 5:06 PM #748
    Coherent

    Coherent

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    I think that updating my bios caused the issues that I am having too. I followed these instructions and now when I reboot it says that it running the nvidia web drivers but I still don't get hardware acceleration. When I look at my system information it says '8mb nvidia' without the specific 980ti card that I have. Is there anything else that I could try? Thanks so much for your previous posts!
     
  9. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,674
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Jan 17, 2017 at 5:14 PM #749
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,674
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Check that you are not injecting Nvidia via your config.plist. Check under the Graphics Section > InjectNvidia - No
     
  10. Coherent

    Coherent

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Jan 17, 2017 at 7:36 PM #750
    Coherent

    Coherent

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks for the tip, I am enclosing my anonymized config.plist below if it is helpful but I indeed am not injecting nvidia. Man, I really wish that I could downgrade my bios firmware at this point but when I try to the bios just rejects it.

    One possible lead is that when I installed that clover you linked over, I didn't really pay attention to things to uncheck, I just checked the additional ones that you mentioned and now my clover screen is old style. I don't really care but is that something I should fix and how?
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page