Stork's Gene Build > ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE - i5-6600K - Gigabyte GTX 950

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by Stork, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. CREEEP

    CREEEP

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Jan 5, 2017 at 6:21 PM #741
    CREEEP

    CREEEP

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    hi
    its nice work

    But I have a question:
    i have zoom tac 2r audio interface thonderbolt 2 can i use this with usb c to thonderbolt 2 whit this M.B ?
    sorry i cant speek english well :d
     
  2. pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,323
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene Z170
    CPU:
    i7-6700K @ 4.8GHz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 5, 2017 at 7:24 PM #742
    pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,323
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene Z170
    CPU:
    i7-6700K @ 4.8GHz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I've never noticed any speed differences.
     
  3. izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    2x980Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 5, 2017 at 10:29 PM #743
    izo1

    izo1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    341
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VIII Gene
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    2x980Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thank you for checking!
    Will stay on 14,2 for now. I know 14,2 supports Speed Step...using Intel Power Gadget, I can see that CPU power features seem to be supported properly.
     
  4. magssss

    magssss

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus gene viii
    CPU:
    I5-6500
    Graphics:
    Intel 530
    Jan 7, 2017 at 11:30 PM #744
    magssss

    magssss

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus gene viii
    CPU:
    I5-6500
    Graphics:
    Intel 530
    I have the same specs except for the video card, I'm using the Intel 530. I was using my 720p tv as monitor and just bought a 4K tv and the tv won't recognize the computer
     
  5. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,660
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 7, 2017 at 11:36 PM #745
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,660
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    According to the GENE User's Manual, page 9,
    So, you'll need a HDMI cable that supports HDMI 1.4b signals.
     
  6. lawry

    lawry

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 10:34 PM #746
    lawry

    lawry

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi everyone.

    Does anybody experience with this Mobo and GTX970? I have installed sierra 10.12.2 and vga isn't recognized (attached image).
    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2017-01-11 at 14.30.49.png  (114.8 KB, 20 views)
  7. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,660
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 12, 2017 at 12:06 AM #747
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,660
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Do you mean the VGA port? (VGA port won't work in OS X/macOS as Apple hasn't supported it in a decade or more.) Or by VGA do you mean your graphics card?

    For the 970 to be correctly recognized, you'll need to use the Nvidia drivers and the Clover config.plist modification as described in the first post's installation procedures.
     
  8. lawry

    lawry

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 12, 2017 at 7:32 AM #748
    lawry

    lawry

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sorry that is my mistake. I mean VGA like as graphic card, not VGA output on them.

    Actually I have installed web driver, but nVidia Driver manager doesn't see any graphic card in PCI slots.'

    As you can see in attached images I have applied changes in config.plist for Clover, but It doesn't work. It's clean install of macOS Sierra 10.12.2 (16C68). I was trying system definition iMac14.2, iMac17.1, MacPro5.1, MacPro6.1. Right now I have defined iMac17.1 and It's probably the worst configuration, because I have many fragments during typing that post :(.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 08.22.00.png  (81.5 KB, 25 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 08.22.51.png  (97.3 KB, 24 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 08.25.13.png  (14.2 KB, 24 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 08.26.25.png  (27.4 KB, 25 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 08.26.39.png  (20.6 KB, 24 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 08.30.42.png  (240.2 KB, 24 views)
  9. WedgeTail

    WedgeTail

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-EP35-DS4
    CPU:
    Q6600 Quad 2.4GHz
    Graphics:
    GA 8800GT
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 16, 2017 at 3:05 AM #749
    WedgeTail

    WedgeTail

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-EP35-DS4
    CPU:
    Q6600 Quad 2.4GHz
    Graphics:
    GA 8800GT
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Stork, since your initial install of the NVM2 SSD, have you had to update or change you original settings and patches, e.g. for 10.12.1 or .2?
     
  10. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,660
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 16, 2017 at 2:15 PM #750
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9,660
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    RehabMan's patch has no differences between 10.12.1 and 10.12.2. So, I didn't create a new patched kext. I don't know if I'll need a new patched kext for the .3 update coming soon. I'll have to wait and see what RehabMan discovers.
     

Share This Page