Contribute
Register

[solved] UHD 630 either not booting or no acceleration on Dell XPS 15 9570 4K

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,309
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
59
Motherboard
OS X 10.10.3
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
66
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570 (Clover UEFI)
CPU
i7-8750H/CM246
Graphics
UHD 630/1050Ti, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have the same laptop as you and have experienced similar issues.
Could you post your config.plist perhaps, to compare? Thanks for the patch by the way, I'll be able to test it later tonight.

Edit: I was able to test it and it doesn't KP anymore! The remaining issue then: I still can't get macOS to display. I don't have time to mess with eDP patching but here's a picture of my output (which is better looking than before).

20181004_100754.jpg
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,309
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Could you post your config.plist perhaps, to compare? Thanks for the patch by the way, I'll be able to test it later tonight.

Edit: I was able to test it and it doesn't KP anymore! The remaining issue then: I still can't get macOS to display. I don't have time to mess with eDP patching but here's a picture of my output (which is better looking than before).

View attachment 355208

"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.

Note: Use an invalid ig-platford-id if necessary to get full debug files (we need to see what you installed to the system volume).
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
66
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570 (Clover UEFI)
CPU
i7-8750H/CM246
Graphics
UHD 630/1050Ti, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
It's the exact same config as in debug_8723.zip but with the stolenmem and fbmem uncommented, and with the patch.
Should I upload the files anyways...?

Anyways, I don't understand how macOS can only use 32MB of DVMT-prealloc (it doesn't crash when the stolenmem/fbmem are set to 19M+9M, but it does when nothing is there). Maybe I'll try 57M+0M though that's what it should default to...
BIOS still says 64M, AmiSetupWriter still says 64M (but the key variable/value of course).
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
59
Motherboard
OS X 10.10.3
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You don't need the 32MB DVMT patch, as Dell sets 64MB in BIOS by default and it is enough to power up the internal 4K display.

I am away from my laptop right now, so I cannot upload my config.plist.

There isn't any special settings in my config at the moment, but there are a few things I want to mention.

1. Don't forget to disable the discrete graphics card if you have not done that yet.

2. Use 3E9B0000 as your ig-platform-id with Clover/Inject Intel=Yes.

3. Make sure that your AppleIntelCFLFramebuffer binary is not modified. I suggest you avoid binary patching directly unless you know what you are doing and the potential consequence.

4. The only KextsToPatch entry related to the framebuffer driver should be the one I post yesterday.

5. You don't need to patch the framebuffer right now (e.g. modify the cursor memory, change the port type, etc.). 3E9B0000 defines a LVDS port and two DP ports. The LVDS port can be used to power up the builtin display even though Dell uses eDP. (And I think Apple also uses eDP on genuine MacBook Pro.)

6. You need to patch the CoreDisplay framework to unlock the pixel clock, otherwise the builtin display cannot be lighted up. To do that, I suggest you use CoreDisplayFixup with Lilu right now, as WhateverGreen involves lots of patches related to IGPU and we want to reduce its potential impacts on the graphics driver.

7. Lastly, if you use SSDT-PNLF, AppleBacklightInjector and binary patch for the AppleBacklight.kext to implement the brightness, I think you will find that the brightness is at the lowest (I mean very very low and you hardly see anything) level at boot. After 3 or 5 minutes, the brightness becomes normal and you can adjust it without any issue.

I noticed that some people have this similar issue on their Coffee Lake-based laptops. (And yes me too) There are some threads talking about this problem, and I am looking forward to your reply to see whether you have the same issue.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
66
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570 (Clover UEFI)
CPU
i7-8750H/CM246
Graphics
UHD 630/1050Ti, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You don't need the 32MB DVMT patch, as Dell sets 64MB in BIOS by default and it is enough to power up the internal 4K display.
That's what I thought, not sure why I'm crashing still though. It still gives me the divide error KP so I'm honestly baffled.

Don't forget to disable the discrete graphics card if you have not done that yet.
Already did, I just don't know if it works or not. It doesn't show in the system report in any case.
Did you have to do any changes regarding eDP? Also, do you have WhateverGreen installed?
Sorry for the many questions, I'm trying to figure out what's going on :(
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
59
Motherboard
OS X 10.10.3
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
That's what I thought, not sure why I'm crashing still though. It still gives me the divide error KP so I'm honestly baffled.


Already did, I just don't know if it works or not. It doesn't show in the system report in any case.
Did you have to do any changes regarding eDP? Also, do you have WhateverGreen installed?
Sorry for the many questions, I'm trying to figure out what's going on :(

Please check my reply again, as I just updated it.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
59
Motherboard
OS X 10.10.3
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
That's what I thought, not sure why I'm crashing still though. It still gives me the divide error KP so I'm honestly baffled.

Clover's KextsToPatch only applies to the kexts in the kernel cache. You need to inject an invalid ig-platform-id (e.g. 0x12345678) to "load" the framebuffer driver. Once you enter the Desktop without any graphics acceleration, run `kextcache -i /` in your terminal to rebuild the kernel cache.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
66
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570 (Clover UEFI)
CPU
i7-8750H/CM246
Graphics
UHD 630/1050Ti, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Clover's KextsToPatch only applies to the kexts in the kernel cache. You need to inject an invalid ig-platform-id (e.g. 0x12345678) to "load" the framebuffer driver.
Yeah, I tried this. My process:
1. I added `\System\Library\Extensions\AppleIntelCFLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext` to my ForceKextsToLoad array.
2. I booted with an invalid ig-platform-id.
3. I ran `sudo kextcache -i /`.
4. I reboot. No dice, it still KPs at the end.

I know that it is loaded before being cached (as I just re-cached with still no luck), because of this:
Code:
Raymonfs-MBP:~ raymonf$ kextstat | grep "CFL"
  105    0 0xffffff7f8349c000 0x222000   0x222000   com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCFLGraphicsFramebuffer (12.0.0) E47A29EE-39F5-3787-AD6C-234BBC7F39D2 <104 103 102 19 12 11 7 6 5 4 3 1>

It's quite literally the same exact error. I must be doing something wrong...

RE: PR response, I've attached the full response files which I got by booting with an invalid ig-platform-id. Anything else: the same config.plist from the full PR archive is separately attached as well.

Edit: Hey, it works! It turns out that it's different for me. I read you were using 10.14.1, so that's probably why. Here's the a modified patch for Mojave RTM/GM. Thanks for the temporary fix (which will probably become permanent)!

Code:
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>Set the number of active lanes to 4 - 10.14 RTM (for laptop with 4K display) (by FireWolf)</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                VUiJ5Uj/BaVGBwCLlsAlAACKjg==
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleIntelCFLGraphicsFramebuffer</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                VUiJ5bgEAAAAiYa8JQAAMcBdww==
                </data>
            </dict>
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    10.8 KB · Views: 130
  • debug_22607.zip
    4.7 MB · Views: 50
Last edited:
Top