Contribute
Register

[Solved] Problem reaching High Sierra Install screen

Joined
Jan 27, 2018
Messages
8
Hi there, I have the following specs:
-Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X
-CPU: Intel I7 6700K quadcore
-RAM: 32GB DDR4
-GPU: EVGA GTX 960 4GB
-Samsung pro 500GB SSD

I'm trying to install High Sierra version 13.1.05
I followed every step on the Unibeast high sierra guide but when i reach the clover boot menu and select my drive, it starts loading and when it's just over half of the bar it freezes on this screen:
IMG_4760.JPG
Does anyone know what is happening? I'm quite new in this whole Hackintosh thing so I would really appreciate help!!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,899
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there, I have the following specs:
-Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170X
-CPU: Intel I7 6700K quadcore
-RAM: 32GB DDR4
-GPU: EVGA GTX 960 4GB
-Samsung pro 500GB SSD

I'm trying to install High Sierra version 13.1.05
I followed every step on the Unibeast high sierra guide but when i reach the clover boot menu and select my drive, it starts loading and when it's just over half of the bar it freezes on this screen:
View attachment 309165
Does anyone know what is happening? I'm quite new in this whole Hackintosh thing so I would really appreciate help!!

  • Please edit your Personal Details and add your MoBo|CPU|Graphics to the appropriate sections in the popup window so that they will appear below your login name and logo in all your posts for readers to know what System you are asking for help in troubleshoot as your first Hackintosh. According to the Forum rules everyone has to comply with this.
  • The problem GUI boot screen you have posted is most likely from your PCIE Nvidia Graphics card.
  • To troubleshoot this problem , for the initial installation , use your Integrated Intel HD 530 Graphics instead of the Nvidia GTX 960 with proper BIOS choices for IGFX and edited CLOVER of your USB to use the Intel HD 530 .
  • After the system installation is completed successfully and the System hard disk gets its CLOVER and kexts etc ( either from Multibeast or manually) and boots flawlessly on its own without any support from the USB installer disk, as a second step install your Nvidia PCIE Graphics card.
  • The above can be done if you follow these steps:
    • From the above frozen screen, force reboot using ON/Off switch
    • During reboot press Del >BIOS Setup >Peripherals and switch from PCIE to IGFX and also choose DVMPT-Pre-allocated to 128 for your Intel HD 530 to work OK.
    • Make sure to keep your UEFI USB installer disk as the #1 and only device under Boot Option Priorities while selecting every other device and Disabling one after the other.
    • Save and Reboot
    • On reboot the Monitor screen will show "No Display" (because you have changed the BIOS >Peripherals to IGFX)
    • Shut down the PC using On/Off button
    • Remove Power Cable from the Socket of PSU.
    • Disconnect the Video Cable from its NVIDIA digital port and connect it to same port of Intel Integrated Graphics.
    • Open the case and carefully disconnect the Nvidia 960 from PCIE slot making sure not to disturb the other devices from their connection to the Mobo. If you have to temporarily remove any other device while pulling the PCIE Graphics card off its socket , make sure to reinstall them.
    • Now Re-insert the PWR cable and reboot
    • Reenter the BIOS to make sure all edited and saved options are unchanged
    • Reboot to Clover Boot Manager(CBM) screen
    • Once your macOS High Sierra UEFI USB Installer reaches CBM Screen immediately go to Options >
      • Boot Args: edit to add -v dart=0 -diasblegfxfirmware
      • ACPI >DropOEM_DSM [√] all boxes
      • ACPI DSD Fix mask [√] the following RTC, Fix TMR, Fix_WAK, Del unused, Fix ADP1, Add PNLF, Fix S3D, Rename ACST, Fix Regions, Fix Headers
      • In GraphicsInjector-> [√]Inject Intel
        Fake ID:19128086
*-platform-id=0x19120000
  • Return to CBM screen and boot your USB installer and take photos of any problem screen verbose boot to upload to the Forum
  • If you could start installation with the above, during the reboot, make sure to press F-12 and SELECT UEFI USB INSTALLER Disk to enter CLOVER.
  • MAKE SURE you edit Options as before
  • ONLY AFTER the above, you boot your partially installed System Disk .
  • You should follow the above after each reboot (because the Hard disk DOES NOT have a CLOVER and the config.plist in the USB is also lacking the required options which you are temporarily enabling through CBM >Options and sub menus.)
  • Once you finish installation on the hard disk and install CLOVER and needed kexts in the System disk, you have to edit CLOVER/kexst/Other to add required kexts for your Graphics. To use Nvidia you have to add NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext and latest Lilu.kext in CLOVER/kexts/Other. You also need to install NvidiaGraphicsFixup and Lilu.kext in /S/L/E using Kext Wizard.
  • You will need to install NvidiaWebdriver for the macOS High Sierra Version you have installed.
  • You will then need to edit config.plsit for NVIDIA graphics
  • The ACPI editing you have been doing in the CBM >Options must be entered in the config.plist >ACPI section
  • Boot section should NOT have any NVIDIA [√]
  • Graphics section should not have for any devices [√] Inject
  • Rt Variable CsrActiveConfig = 0x67
  • SMBIOS > using CCV's up/down arrow selection switch , pick iMac18.3 for the Product Name
  • System Parameters :[√]NvidiaWeb and Inject kexts [Yes] and [√] NvidiaWeb and Inject kexts [Yes] and [√] Inject System ID
  • Save this edited CLOVER
  • Reboot >Del>BIOS setup > Change Peripherals to PCIE Graphics and DISABLE Intel Processor associated Graphics
  • Make sure Boot Option Priorities has your UEFI MacOS SSD has #1 boot device and all other devices must be disabled.
  • F-10>Save and reboot
  • Shut Down PC and Reinstall removed NVIDIA PCIE graphics . Make sure its PCIE Power is securely and firmly inserted and neighboring devices unhurt during the installation
  • Remove Video cable from IGFX to Nvidia port.
  • Reinsert removed PWR cable and reboot
  • Enter BIOS to quickly survey to make sure all options are OK
  • Boot to CBM
  • Make one more check in Options> Graphics Injector to see IGFX has gone; only Nvidia with [√] NvidiaWeb seen
  • Esc> CBM >Boot your System HD
  • Hopefully everything works OK.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 27, 2018
Messages
8
Hi, wow, thanks for your quick and extensive reply! I only have a few questions regarding steps you suggest:
-In ACPI DSD fix, there is only an option 'del unused', not 'del used'. I suppose that is what you meant or should I not check 'del unused'?
-In GraphicsInjector, I suppose I should uncheck Inject Nvidia or should I keep that checked?
-Is is necessary to physically disconnect/remove my GPU from my computer?

Thank you so much for your help!
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,899
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, wow, thanks for your quick and extensive reply! I only have a few questions regarding steps you suggest:
-In ACPI DSD fix, there is only an option 'del unused', not 'del used'. I suppose that is what you meant or should I not check 'del unused'?
-In GraphicsInjector, I suppose I should uncheck Inject Nvidia or should I keep that checked?
-Is is necessary to physically disconnect/remove my GPU from my computer?

Thank you so much for your help!
In ACPI DSD fix, there is only an option 'del unused', not 'del used'. I suppose that is what you meant or should I not check 'del unused'?
"Unused ones" are to be deleted to streamline ACPI. In the late night with Grey cells turning their lights off, I made that error and I regret making it and confusing you. Will edit and correct.soon.

In GraphicsInjector, I suppose I should uncheck Inject Nvidia or should I keep that checked?
YES . When [√] NvidiaWeb in System Parameters with Kext Inject Yes DON't use [√]InjectNvidia in Graphics.

-Is is necessary to physically disconnect/remove my GPU from my computer?

Removing PCIE Power conector to the PCI Card to DISABLE the PCIE Card DOES NOT seem to work Consistently. I always suggest Physical Disconnection even though it is a Pain: it is the surest way for BIOS NOT to initialize it and create problem for poor Clover EFI Bootloader later and forcing it into a freeze state.

Until I can install a card like your card with "Power OFF ONLY method" and can prove it would work OK , this would be my approach. Time saved for both types of hardware changes is a few minutes but the total removal is a definite success.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,899
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, wow, thanks for your quick and extensive reply! I only have a few questions regarding steps you suggest:
-In ACPI DSD fix, there is only an option 'del unused', not 'del used'. I suppose that is what you meant or should I not check 'del unused'?
-In GraphicsInjector, I suppose I should uncheck Inject Nvidia or should I keep that checked?
-Is is necessary to physically disconnect/remove my GPU from my computer?

Thank you so much for your help!
  • In some High Sierra builds , the NVIDIA Graphics installation has been rather difficult if done in the standard way by DISABLING SIP ( config.plsit>Rt Variables> CsrActiveConfig =0x67).
  • If done the above way, on reboot there could be black screen crash.
    • I have only one system with Nvidia as the PCIE card [GT 710], and I have not faced that problem in any of my builds using it starting from 10.13.0 to 10.13.3.

  • A suggested way to prevent this is to First ENABLE SIP by editing /CLOVER/config.plsit opened with CCV and scrolling to "Rt Variables" menu and changing "CsrActiveConfig" field to show "0X0" instead of "0x67" and save that config.plist and install the Webdriver and then after reboot change the CsrActiveConfig to 0x67 and save.

  • If you have already done the web driver install with the usual SIP Disabled method and facing a black screen problem, you will need to edit and remove the Webdriver (NVDASStartupWeb.kext) through Recovery Disk >Terminal command
  1. CBM screen select and boot Recovery disk > Utilities> Terminal
  2. Launch Terminal
  3. In the following command, Replace "disk_name" with what you've named your hackintosh boot drive [Example mine is HighSierraST3500312CS for my Seagate SATA spindisk used as the target for HS install]
    1. rm -R /Volumes/disk_name/Library/Extensions/NVDAStartupWeb.kext
    2. touch /Volumes/disk_name/Library/Extensions/
    3. reboot
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2018
Messages
8
"Unused ones" are to be deleted to streamline ACPI. In the late night with Grey cells turning their lights off, I made that error and I regret making it and confusing you. Will edit and correct.soon.


YES . When [√] NvidiaWeb in System Parameters with Kext Inject Yes DON't use [√]InjectNvidia in Graphics.



Removing PCIE Power conector to the PCI Card to DISABLE the PCIE Card DOES NOT seem to work Consistently. I always suggest Physical Disconnection even though it is a Pain: it is the surest way for BIOS NOT to initialize it and create problem for poor Clover EFI Bootloader later and forcing it into a freeze state.

Until I can install a card like your card with "Power OFF ONLY method" and can prove it would work OK , this would be my approach. Time saved for both types of hardware changes is a few minutes but the total removal is a definite success.

It worked! I took my gpu out, followed the steps and I'm in disk utility now. Now I have a new issue: It doesn't recognize my SSD, only my HDD's in RAID...
IMG_7920.JPG

What should I do? is there a way to fix this? note: I did once 'clean' and change the disk partition table to GPT via command prompt in windows installer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,899
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It worked! I took my gpu out, followed the steps and I'm in disk utility now. Now I have a new issue: It doesn't recognize my SSD, only my HDD's in RAID...View attachment 309425
What should I do? is there a way to fix this? note: I did once 'clean' and change the disk partition table to GPT via command prompt in windows installer.
It doesn't recognize my SSD

At this Screen Click View > [√] Show All Devices [See image]
 

Attachments

  • Show All Devices.png
    Show All Devices.png
    767.3 KB · Views: 225
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,899
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hahaha well that was kind of dumb of me that I didn't think of that... I covered all the next steps and have a perfectly running macOS High Sierra on my Hackintosh right now! Thank you so much for all your help!
:clap:. Congratulations.
  • Please edit the Title of your post with the Prefix [SOLVED].
  • Edit to add any steps not already covered in the posted threads
  • Your successful troubleshoot can thus provide help to others looking for answers to same problem with similar hardware.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
28
Motherboard
GA-Z270X_Designare
CPU
Intel i7-7700K
Graphics
Raedon 580RX Nitro+
:clap:. Congratulations.
  • Please edit the Title of your post with the Prefix [SOLVED].
  • Edit to add any steps not already covered in the posted threads
  • Your successful troubleshoot can thus provide help to others looking for answers to the same problem with similar hardware.
Hi there cmn699,

I was wondering if this solution would work for my install? Currently been on this screen for the past hour. When I go to shut off/power down the tower via the on/off button, nothing happens. I'm afraid to touch or do anything in the event that it works, but it's not looking good. I also don't have my listed graphics card installed at the moment, only working with the motherboard and the CPU. I'm new to the Hackintosh wave and this is my first go around. Your help would be appreciated.
IMG_3148.jpg
 
Top