Contribute
Register

**SOLVED!** OS X SIERRA - Graphics 0VRAM? New Build, Intel i7 4790 with a Gigabyte Z97 HD3

Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97 HD3
CPU
Intel i7 4790K LGA1150
Graphics
GE FORCE GT 740 SC 2GB DDR5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
GRAPHICS TROUBLE

NOTE: Following these steps do not work for me!

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...for-macos-sierra-10-12-0-367-15-10-05.200843/


I have everything working on my new build, internet via a wired ethernet connection, audio is working from both the motherboard line out and the front audio headphone jack.

The only remaining issue I have is with the graphics card. When I installed the the OS for the first time I did it without the graphics card plugged in, using the internal graphics via a DVI- HDMI from the motherboard display output.

Now that the graphics card is installed (GT 740 SC 2GB DDR5) along with the latest web drivers for Sierra, I can't seem to enable the graphics card (or disable the internal graphics properly). I have gone into the BIOS setup and disabled internal graphics. Nvidia inject is off (I used clover).

The display is working but there is no difference between the output quality of the internal graphics and the output of the graphics card. Graphics card is powered by the PSU.

My display is plugged into the graphics card, the OS is recognising the graphics card but showing up with 0 VRAM.

Does anyone know how to fix this issue?

Thanks in advance

Hardware .png
Graphics.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97 HD3
CPU
Intel i7 4790K LGA1150
Graphics
GE FORCE GT 740 SC 2GB DDR5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Inject / Nvidia is definitely enabled in your 2nd screenshot.

Thanks for the swift reply! How can you tell? I was so sure I deselected it ...
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,680
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Nvidia drivers (no matter if Apple stock or WebDrivers) wouldn't call your graphics card by its vendor name (EVGA), they just call them "NVIDIA", no matter who produced the board. This is a custom string injected by Clover.
The same applies to the amount of VRAM.

Be sure to edit the correct config.plist. It's located on your EFI partition in /EFI/Clover.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97 HD3
CPU
Intel i7 4790K LGA1150
Graphics
GE FORCE GT 740 SC 2GB DDR5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks so much! I opened up the list with text editor and changed it to false.

Now the VRAM shows up correctly, but in the NVIDIA web drivers preferences pane it still says EEC not supported, and the graphics quality hasn't changed at all? Do I need to remove this info from the config.plist that I had inserted earlier -

<key>SystemParameters</key>
<dict>
<key>InjectKexts</key>
<string>YES</string>
<key>InjectSystemID</key>
<true/>
<key>NvidiaWeb</key>
<true/>
</dict>

The chipset model has changed from EVGA GeForce GT 740 to NVIDIA GeForce GT 740

inject nvidia true .png



VRAM working .png
 

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,680
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Only Quadro graphics cards support EEC, so that's fine.

What's the problem about your graphics quality? Screenshots are looking perfectly fine to me. Since you're using a TV set as display, you might experience overscan/underscan issues, which result in a blurry picture. That's not a hackintosh issue though but caused by the TV.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97 HD3
CPU
Intel i7 4790K LGA1150
Graphics
GE FORCE GT 740 SC 2GB DDR5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The graphics card is working perfectly! Thanks so much for all your help, I think I was expecting far too much from the TV as a display! Too used to the display on my Mac Book Pro! Thanks so much for all your help, it saved me another 20 hours of trawling through forums.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2017
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte z97 HD3
CPU
i7 4790
Graphics
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 10/900 SERIES
GRAPHICS TROUBLE

NOTE: Following these steps do not work for me!

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...for-macos-sierra-10-12-0-367-15-10-05.200843/


I have everything working on my new build, internet via a wired ethernet connection, audio is working from both the motherboard line out and the front audio headphone jack.

The only remaining issue I have is with the graphics card. When I installed the the OS for the first time I did it without the graphics card plugged in, using the internal graphics via a DVI- HDMI from the motherboard display output.

Now that the graphics card is installed (GT 740 SC 2GB DDR5) along with the latest web drivers for Sierra, I can't seem to enable the graphics card (or disable the internal graphics properly). I have gone into the BIOS setup and disabled internal graphics. Nvidia inject is off (I used clover).

The display is working but there is no difference between the output quality of the internal graphics and the output of the graphics card. Graphics card is powered by the PSU.

My display is plugged into the graphics card, the OS is recognising the graphics card but showing up with 0 VRAM.

Does anyone know how to fix this issue?

Thanks in advance

View attachment 216356 View attachment 216357
what is your processor? the i7 4790k? the i7 4790S? or just the i7 4790?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97 HD3
CPU
Intel i7 4790K LGA1150
Graphics
GE FORCE GT 740 SC 2GB DDR5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Top