[READ ME FIRST!] Graphics Setup & Troubleshooting

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by Fl0r!an, Jan 13, 2016.

  1. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,715
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2016 at 7:24 PM #1
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,715
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Graphics Setup & Troubleshooting

    0. Introduction
    Most graphics related issues are caused by a few well-known bad bootloader settings or missing drivers. We'd like you to read the section which applies to your graphics card before posting. It's very likely that you'll fix the problem on your own by following a few simple steps!
    Feel free to open a thread if your problems persist!

    1. NVIDIA GeForce Graphics Cards

    Basic Setup
    Unlike AMD graphics, the NVIDIA drivers are supplied both by Apple (through OS X system updates) and NVIDIA. The so-called NVIDIA Web Drivers are mandatory for some GPU chipsets (see below), because Apple doesn't support them. Additionally, they may improve the overall performance (especially on Kepler-based cards).
    It's important to know that each build of the NVIDIA Web Driver is tied to a specific OS X release, so OS X updates will break them! If you're searching for the Web Drivers for a specific OS X version, you can find them here: http://www.macvidcards.com/drivers.html

    The NVIDIA Web Drivers have to be activated with the boot flag "nvda_drv=1". If your NVRAM is fully functional, this boot flag should be automatically set when installing the drivers. Otherwise you might have to add it to your bootloaders config file.
    Note: A recent Clover update has introduced a new way to enable the WebDrivers, which should be used on macOS Sierra builds. Fixing NVRAM support is the prefered method though!

    The following bootloader settings are necessary for full functionality:
    Kepler- & Maxwell-Generation: InjectNvidia=False / GraphicsEnabler=No
    everything before Kepler: InjectNvidia=True / GraphicsEnabler=Yes

    Note: Some low-end GTX 6xx/7xx cards are rebadged Fermi cards.

    NVIDIA Web Driver is necessary for the following GPUs:
    • all Pascall-based cards (GTX 1xxx, Titan Xp, requires macOS 10.12.4+)
    • all Maxwell-based cards (GTX 750[Ti], GTX 9xx, GTX Titan X, requires OS X 10.10+)
    • final Kepler-based cards (GTX 780Ti, GTX Titan Black)
    • some revisions of GT 740
    • some Fermi-based cards (e.g. GTX 560Ti)
    • exotic cards (e.g. some Quadro series)
    Also have a look at our Graphics Benchmarking Chart if you're unsure.

    Common Issues

    Kernel Panic on boot
    If you've installed a graphics card which isn't supported by OS X stock drivers (e.g. Maxwell series), the OS X drivers may crash when they're loaded during the boot process.
    To get in your system, boot with the flag "nv_disable=1". This will prevent all NVIDIA drivers from being loaded. Install and enable the NVIDIA Web Drivers as described above.

    Nvidia WebDriver doesn't load / GPU not recognized
    This usually happens on mainboards without native NVRAM support, which is required to save the flag for choosing the WebDriver. Have a look at problem 6 in the NVIDIA driver thread.

    No Graphics Acceleration
    OS X will fall back to software rendering if no driver is loaded for your GPU. So if you don't get any graphics acceleration with your NVIDIA GPU, you've most likely forgotten to install and enable the NVIDIA WebDrivers.
    Also make sure that you didn't disabled the NVIDIA drivers with the flag "nv_disable=1". This should only be used to get into the system in case of an error. Remove it, otherwise the drivers won't load.

    System Profiler shows 0MB VRAM
    This is usually caused by having GraphicsEnabler=Yes when using Chameleon/Chimera or Inject/NVidia/True when using Clover. Change it to No or False respectively and you should see the proper VRAM.

    Multi-Screen setup doesn't work properly
    This is usually caused by having GraphicsEnabler=Yes when using Chameleon/Chimera or Inject/NVidia/True when using Clover. Change it to No or False respectively to enable multi screen setups.
    Another solution would be the need for the Nvidia Web Drivers. Install them and add the boot flag (argument) nvda_drv=1 to your config.

    Black screen on boot
    This will happen with certain system profiles, e.g. MacPro6,1, iMac15,1 or iMac17,1. Read up here: Black Screen with MacPro 6,1 or iMac 15 or iMac 17 System Definition

    HDMI or DP ports not working
    This is usually caused by having GraphicsEnabler=Yes when using Chameleon/Chimera or Inject/NVidia/True when using Clover. Change it to No or False respectively to enable all ports.

    No HDMI/DP Audio
    HDMI/DP audio won't work OOB, follow toleda's HDMI Audio AppleHDA Guide.

    Display can't be driven at native resolution (> 1080p)
    In case you've already achieved full graphics acceleration, this can usually be solved by applying the Pixel Clock Patch, which removes artificial software limitations. Your SMBIOS can also affect the maximum resolution in OS X.

    2. AMD Radeon Graphics Cards

    Basic Setup
    AMD Radeon drivers are always included in OS X. You'll always find the most recent drivers in the latest OS X release, there's no other official place to download them. You might come across some patched or backported Kexts, but we'd advice against using them for stability reasons.
    If you've ever installed on of those kexts, restore the original OS X drivers by reinstalling the latest Combo Update.

    To get started, boot up without any graphics related settings in your config file:
    Clover: InjectAti=False (FBName/VideoPorts unnecessary)
    Chimera/Chameleon: GraphicsEnabler=No (AtiConfig/AtiPorts unnecessary)

    If you have a OOB supported graphics card, OS X will boot with full acceleration. Done!

    Note: You might notice that the system profiler shows a generic string instead of the name of your graphics card (e.g. „HD 7xxx“ instead of „R9 280X“ or "R9 xxx" instead of "R9 380X"). This is purely cosmetic, no need to worry.

    Common Issues

    System doesn't wake from sleep

    This is a common issue with most AMD GPUs starting with El Capitan. There's no solution yet, all workarounds involve preventing the Radeon GPU from getting initialized during boot phase, e.g. by configuring iGPU=Primary.

    No Graphics Acceleration
    If you don't have graphics acceleration (sluggish animations, no QE/CI) after booting, then your GPUs device ID is missing. Verify this by checking out the GPU table in the Radeon Compatibility Guide.
    If OS X supports a similar card (same GPU family), simply spoof your device ID using Clover by following the instructions in this guide. You should have full acceleration after restarting!

    Gibberish Text at Startup
    If you see gibberish text at startup, you're most likely trying to use a modern Radeon HD 7xxx / R9 graphics card with Chimera/Chameleon. Personally I'd recommend switching to Clover, but if you don't want to change your bootloader follow one of these threads:
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-help/115818-install-bootloader-extra-efi-partition.html
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/93318-amd-radeon-hd-7xxx-graphics-support-os-x-10-8-3-a.html

    Boot to Black Screen
    In most cases this means that you didn't disable all graphics related bootloader settings and this injection is causing trouble.
    If you're sure you did, you're most certainly using a GPU which is known to boot to a black screen, e.g. Cape Verde or Tonga. Look here for GPU-specific workarounds: http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...guide-ati-amd-graphics-cards.html#post1090801
    With Sierra this issue has spreaded to most modern AMD GPUs. All known workarounds involve preventing the Radeon GPU from getting initialized during boot phase, e.g. by configuring iGPU=Primary.

    Multi-Screen setup doesn't work properly
    Make sure you understood the hardware requirements of Eyefinity setups (active DP adapters or native DP devices).
    If you're sure that your hardware is set up properly (e.g. by verifying in Windows that all screens work fine), you should try to inject a matching framebuffer (follow this guide: http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/171291-radeon-compatibility-guide-ati-amd-graphics-cards.html). If OS X has no matching framebuffer, you'll have to patch a existing one by following the instructions in this guide.
    If it still doesn't work, you could try altering some BIOS settings (e.g. Initial output: iGPU instead of PCIE or vice versa). Changing from UEFI to vBIOS (or vice versa) is also worth a try.

    No HDMI/DP Audio
    HDMI/DP audio won't work OOB, follow toleda's HDMI Audio AppleHDA Guide.

    Display can't be driven at native resolution (> 1080p)
    In case you've already achieved full graphics acceleration, this can usually be solved by applying the Pixel Clock Patch, which removes artificial software limitations. Your SMBIOS can also affect the maximum resolution in OS X.

    3. Intel HD

    Basic Setup
    Intel HD drivers are always included in OS X. You'll always find the most recent drivers in the latest OS X release, there's no other official place to download them.
    To load the drivers, you have to tell your bootloader to inject the necessary IOReg entries for your graphics card. To do this, configure your bootloader as follows:

    Clover: InjectIntel=True
    Chimera/Chameleon: IGPEnabler=Yes

    This will inject a matching "ig-platform-id" into the IORegistry, so the driver should load giving you full acceleration. On brand-new systems (e.g. Skylake, as of today) this automatism might fail, so you'll have to supply a correct value manually.
    HD 3000 systems need a special configuration, which is available in Multibeast.

    Common Issues

    No Graphics Acceleration
    Most likely you didn't inject Intel as explained above.

    Some ports on your motherboard don't work properly
    You'll need to apply a framebuffer patch. Read up here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...0-hd4600-hd4000-hd3000-framebuffer-edits.html

    No HDMI/DP Audio
    HDMI/DP audio won't work OOB, follow toleda's HDMI Audio AppleHDA Guide.

    Display can't be driven at native resolution (> 1080p)
    In case you've already achieved full graphics acceleration, this can usually be solved by applying the Pixel Clock Patch, which removes artificial software limitations. Your SMBIOS can also affect the maximum resolution in OS X.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2017
  2. hamzaom675

    hamzaom675

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Mobo:
    Acer-aspire v5-571p
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3667U/HM77
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000 mobile 1366x768
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 18, 2016 at 8:12 PM #2
    hamzaom675

    hamzaom675

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Mobo:
    Acer-aspire v5-571p
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3667U/HM77
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000 mobile 1366x768
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks, for this :)
     
  3. Eki_13

    Eki_13

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    ml
    CPU:
    q6600
    Graphics:
    3870
    Jan 19, 2016 at 1:35 PM #3
    Eki_13

    Eki_13

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    ml
    CPU:
    q6600
    Graphics:
    3870
    I have an msi gt730. I have to set injectNvidia to true in order to work correctly but the info shows 1gb of ram rather than 2gb that my card has. How can i fix it?
     
  4. poshook

    poshook

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    MSI X99S SLI PLUS
    CPU:
    Xeon E5-2658V3
    Graphics:
    Gainward Phoenix GTX 970 4GB DDR5
    Jan 19, 2016 at 4:19 PM #4
    poshook

    poshook

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    MSI X99S SLI PLUS
    CPU:
    Xeon E5-2658V3
    Graphics:
    Gainward Phoenix GTX 970 4GB DDR5
    got reboot loop (kernel panic casued by graphic card) with GTX970 on 10.11.2 becasue I used two monitors, one with VGA input. MiniDP to VGA converter resolve the reboot problem and now it works as it should. thnx
     
  5. mutassem

    mutassem

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    95
    Mobo:
    Asus z170-A
    CPU:
    6700k
    Graphics:
    GT 610
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Jan 19, 2016 at 5:16 PM #5
    mutassem

    mutassem

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    95
    Mobo:
    Asus z170-A
    CPU:
    6700k
    Graphics:
    GT 610
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    I'm facing a problem but I'm not sure if this has anything to do with it ..

    My GPU seems to run correctly except ( Safari , AppStore , Mail ) Some kind of weird glitch that keeps me assuming there is something wrong with the drivers.

    :banghead:

    I'm Using GT610 since integrated skylake is not supported yet .


    SAFE MODE seems to get the problem fixed in mail , App Store and safari ...

    Can someone please help me? :crazy::crazy:
     
  6. Brickpro

    Brickpro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    Z87x-UD5
    CPU:
    I7-4770k
    Graphics:
    GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 20, 2016 at 3:52 AM #6
    Brickpro

    Brickpro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    Z87x-UD5
    CPU:
    I7-4770k
    Graphics:
    GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac
    Hey everyone, I don't know if anyone is having this problem, but I keep on occasionally getting a CPU backtrace kernel panic. This is a big problem, but no one has an answer.
     
  7. Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,715
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 20, 2016 at 8:50 AM #7
    Fl0r!an

    Fl0r!an Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,715
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170M-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon R9 280
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 28, 2016
  8. mutassem

    mutassem

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    95
    Mobo:
    Asus z170-A
    CPU:
    6700k
    Graphics:
    GT 610
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Jan 20, 2016 at 2:34 PM #8
    mutassem

    mutassem

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    95
    Mobo:
    Asus z170-A
    CPU:
    6700k
    Graphics:
    GT 610
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Thanks I got it fixed by changing the bios to only use 1 GPU output with auto selection (turned off multi display ). since the integrated GPU (yet not supported by apple) might have been effecting the card in a weird way to have the same error symptoms as the integrated one. after doing that the new card has worked perfectly.
     
  9. Eki_13

    Eki_13

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    ml
    CPU:
    q6600
    Graphics:
    3870
    Jan 20, 2016 at 4:30 PM #9
    Eki_13

    Eki_13

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    ml
    CPU:
    q6600
    Graphics:
    3870
    thank you.

    is it a problem that i have to set property inject nvidia to true? an nv_disable to 1? I think the second one is wrong
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 28, 2016
  10. Abe Frohman

    Abe Frohman

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Jan 20, 2016 at 5:50 PM #10
    Abe Frohman

    Abe Frohman

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
    images.duckduckgo.com.jpeg
     

Share This Page