Contribute
Register

Razer Blade 2016 Sierra compatibility

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I would really like to know whether the new 2016 Razer Blade is compatible for installing macOS Sierra. I am no professional person and I have zero idea whether it will work on this computer. I am in the middle of the decision if I want to buy this laptop or not.

Here are some specs, but you can see it on the official site.
  • Intel® Core i7-6700HQ Quad-Core Processor (2.6GHz / 3.5GHz)
  • NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1060 (6GB GDDR5 VRAM)
  • 16 GB System Memory (DDR4, 2133 MHz)
  • Windows® 10 64-bit
  • 256GB SSD (PCIe M.2)
  • Killer™ Wireless-AC 1535 (802.11a/b/g/n/ac + Bluetooth® 4.1)
  • Trusted Platform Module (TPM 2.0) security chip embedded

Please help me. This means a lot to me.

Thank you.

-Adrian

Hello,

I would really like to know whether the new 2016 Razer Blade is compatible for installing macOS Sierra. I am no professional person and I have zero idea whether it will work on this computer. I am in the middle of the decision if I want to buy this laptop or not.

• Windows® 10 64-bit
  • 256GB SSD (PCIe M.2)

Thank you.

-Adrian

If as you state above, it has only the Nvidia 1060 and not Intel+Nvidia graphics, then it is not supported.

Hello,

• Windows® 10 64-bit
  • 256GB SSD (PCIe M.2)

Thank you.

-Adrian
The base 2016 15 inch MBP uses the same CPU, so the integrated graphics should be supported. The 1060 is not yet supported on nvidia mac drivers. I don't think the wireless card will work unless there's a kext out there for killer cards. If you've gone for the QHD+ model the touchscreen won't work. Any synaptics touchpad gestures and control over keyboard lighting also won't work.
USB-C may not work depending on the chip. The webcam probably won't work.

I own this model of the blade with a larger SSD and the 1080p matte display. Fabulous computer - but I'm not sure as a hackintosh it would work, I may test it in the future.