Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi guys,

This is my first post on Tonymac! Hello! I normally find enough information from looking through other posts but I'm at a dead end with this one. I've been around Hackintosh's for a few years but I wouldn't say I was an expert so go easy!

I've had my Hackintosh for around four years now. I updated from snow leopard to mountain lion a few months ago as I work in music and needed to upgrade to pro tools 10. Over the past few weeks when I have been using pro tools the hackintosh will randomly turn off, ie black screen and no keyboard functionality but the fans are still going as if the computer is still running?

I bought a new Corsair RM750 80 Plus Gold PSU as my original build was quite a cheap one but the same thing still happens. I've tried different plug sockets in the house and still does the same so I am going to assume it isn't a power issue.

I'm at work at the moment so I can't give specifics of my build but it's the following:

-Gigabyte Motherboard
-6GB Ram
-Intel i7 processor
-Corsair RM750 PSU
-nVidia 460 graphics card
-120GB SSD (operating system)
-Western Green 2TB hard drive
-Western Caviar Black 640GB hard drive
-Wifi card
-Optical drive (not currently plugged in)
-3x Venom 10" fans for airflow (I installed these when I was using the build to play games in windows and had overheating problems.)
-Akasa Venom CPU cooler
-I also have a cooler unit on the graphics card but I can't remember which one off the top of my head.

I realise knowing more about my build will help work this out so I will add more details when I get home. I haven't run any heat tests yet so I will try that next but could this be a kext conflict issue or is it definitely hardware related?
I'm also going to reinstall Pro Tools just as an off chance there was a corrupt preference or something.

Many Thanks In Advance!