Contribute
Register

Possible to wire up power button without front logic panel?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
I bought and early 2008 mac pro case. I am putting in a gigabyte p35-ds4 (yes the dremmel and jb weld has been used :thumbdown: )

Anyway the case I got only has the power button with no front panel logic board. The button does have four wires that go to a very small connector.

Am I going to have to buy the logic board on ebay to make the power button work or is there something else I can do.

I could honestly care less about the front usbs and such. Its going to be in the floor and I have usbs on my monitor but I would love for the power button to work. I am sorry if this is a total noob question but this is my first ever case mod.

Thanks in advance

The ones I've seen had 3 wires - perhaps that's the later version?
Anyway, I guess that two are for power button and other two for LED light.

Hopefully someone else can be precise, but failing that, should be easy to figure out if you can grab a multimeter (ohms) and check all the (6?) combinations of connecting 2 wires to see which results in connection (zero-ohms) when the button is pressed.

Also, check using multimeter if any wires are connected to "ground" (the metal button itself); if so, be sure to use that one of the identified button pair to connect to the "ground" (GND/0V) of the respective power-on pins on the motherboard's front panel connector.

If the "spare" 2 wires are indeed for the light, then you can likely connect those to the power-on LED connections on the MB's front panel header. Polarity will matter. Provided neither of these wires is also connected to "ground", then it's safe to try each way - if no light then swop the wires over (i.e. reverse connection to power-on light pins).