Pinout and circuit for the G4 Sawtooth switch cable

Discussion in 'PowerMac G4' started by minihack, Apr 20, 2012.

  1. DifferentComputers

    DifferentComputers

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170M-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 6600 3.3Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel 530
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    20th Anniv. Mac, iMac, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 18, 2017 at 8:26 PM #11
    DifferentComputers

    DifferentComputers

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z170M-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 6600 3.3Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel 530
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    20th Anniv. Mac, iMac, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Just wanted to say thanks very much for this guide. Power on/off works perfectly and I have a glowing LED. Reset isn't doing anything, but I've probably wired something wrong. Your graphics and explanation were a lifesaver!
     
  2. lab.monkey

    lab.monkey

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    GA-H170M-DS3H
    CPU:
    i5-6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 SSC
    Jan 29, 2017 at 8:12 AM #12
    lab.monkey

    lab.monkey

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Motherboard:
    GA-H170M-DS3H
    CPU:
    i5-6600
    Graphics:
    GTX 970 SSC
    This was a big help! I'm really glad someone took the time to do this. I have a curious question, though. I have a Sawtooth front panel and ribbon cable that I spliced according to the pinout in Post #1, and all the switches work, but oddly the Power LED is on all the time, even when the computer is off. It's a small thing, but I'm wondering why that would be?

    I'm running a Gigabyte GA-H170M-DSH3, and the one change I made (accidentally) was wiring the PLED + to pin 10 instead of 9, giving me the yellow light.

    Anybody have any ideas why the light is on all the time?
     
  3. Bradamante

    Bradamante

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Apr 30, 2018 at 12:00 AM #13
    Bradamante

    Bradamante

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    I don't get it. If you can just use jumper cables and you can get those cheap then why would anybody ever solder anything? Isn't using jumper cables so much more convenient? Would that work with QuickSilver or G3 b&w front boards too?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice