Contribute
Register

Native Brightness working without 'blinkscreen' using patched AppleBacklight.kext

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,950
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah it was just inverted bytes from the BacklightLevel parameter in Clover configuration file... It was set in my config to 0x0501.
This is just the initial value. If you don't want it to revert to that value each boot, don't set that option. I prefer to let it default to the last set value... Like a real Mac.

Because we have no idea why it doesn't work in my computer so I'm trying to raise whatever I believe could be a cause... :(
Question. What, specifically, does not work? Just initial brightness?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
104
Motherboard
Samsung NP530U3B
CPU
i5-2467M
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
The only moment I had full brightness in this laptop so far was when I booted without AppleIntelSNBGraphics.kext, but then you know, everything else is bad... Also if I put the wrong device-id in DSDT, I get full brightness, but then no brightness slider (let's say, 0126 instead of 0116).

Question. What, specifically, does not work? Just initial brightness?
No, the brightness as a whole. When I successfully activate QE/CI, then my full brightness is very low in the laptop screen. In the HDMI output it is ok.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,950
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was here innocently playing with some other things to fix, then I patched my DSDT in order to try to fix the audio.
And now I have full brightness. lol

The only moment I had full brightness in this laptop so far was when I booted without AppleIntelSNBGraphics.kext, but then you know, everything else is bad...

Right now, I have native resolution and full graphics card detection. However:
- the display is not anymore shown as "Built-in display", it moved back to "spdisplays_display" (the same name that appeared when loading without the kext).
- no brightness slider too
- no HDMI output

I'm running now without ACPIBacklight nor AppleBacklightInjector.
Sounds like you broke your graphics. That patch is for desktops, not laptops...
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
104
Motherboard
Samsung NP530U3B
CPU
i5-2467M
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sounds like you broke your graphics. That patch is for desktops, not laptops...
Yes you're right, already edited that post, sorry.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,950
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
No, the brightness as a whole. When I successfully activate QE/CI, then my full brightness is very low in the laptop screen. In the HDMI output it is ok.
That's what I thought. Was just making sure.. The temporary focus on something only affecting initial brightness was why I started to wonder.

My suggestion is to try ACPIBacklight. See if you can figure your hardware out...
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
104
Motherboard
Samsung NP530U3B
CPU
i5-2467M
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
My suggestion is to try ACPIBacklight. See if you can figure your hardware out...
Already tried ACPIBacklight: #98
In the moment I have to choose between QE/CI or backlight and for now I think I'm staying with the backlight :clap:
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,950
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Already tried ACPIBacklight: #98
In the moment I have to choose between QE/CI or backlight and for now I think I'm staying with the backlight :clap:
You need to read more than post #1 in the ACPIBacklight thread to understand what you're supposed to do. And OS X without qe/ci is very painful and not very useful...

I wonder if this isn't just more Samsung weirdness... Many Samsung laptops seem to be a disaster when it comes to Intel graphics with OS X.
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
40
Motherboard
hp 6197
CPU
INTEL I7
Graphics
HD3000 AMD6770
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi, Rehab, i saw new patches update in repo. I use always this "vanilla" method, but now which patch update i must use to update dsdt with new patch?
I see something new but i'm losting..

Thank you
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,950
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Top