Contribute
Register

My MacPro (2013) Hackintosh

Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
14
Motherboard
None
CPU
Core2Duo E8300
Graphics
GTS240
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@Veron thank you :)

It did some testing and got some weird results. My method wasn't very scientific, I just copy a 1.73GB file from and to a USB thumb drive attached to a my Airport Extreme Base Station, which stands about one and a half meters away. I'm using the crappy antenna that came with my motherboard. I ran the "test" Once over ethernet, with wifi disabled and a second time over wifi with detached ethernet.
  • copying the file over ethernet:
    • from Hack to Airport took 5 min and 28 sec
    • from Airport to Hack took 7 min and 18 sec
  • copying the file over wifi:
    • from Hack to Airport took 5 min and 28 sec
    • from Airport to Hack took 3 min and 29 sec

I was expecting that ethernet would be several times faster. Also I don't get why there's such a big difference in copying from the Airport Station between the ethernet connection and the wifi connection.
Furthermore I did two standard internet speed test, again with ethernet and with wifi, the results were as expected:
Bildschirmfoto 2018-06-19 um 19.31.27.png

Bildschirmfoto 2018-06-19 um 19.30.10.png

And here are two screenshots from the app Wifi Signal [https://www.adriangranados.com/apps/wifi-signal] with a good and poor connection, between it fluctuates, (I see drops to 216Mbps, with still a good signal quality):
Bildschirmfoto 2018-06-19 um 19.28.33.png Bildschirmfoto 2018-06-19 um 20.11.35.png

Hope I could answer your question.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
14
Motherboard
None
CPU
Core2Duo E8300
Graphics
GTS240
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@tabarus and everyone else interested. I did some light benchmarks, with Cinebench 15, with the trashcan on. The Hack is audible, but not annoyingly loud, during no load. On load it gets louder, for me personally it is not terrible, because it is way quieter than my MacMini under load. Sadly, I can't objectively measure the noise.
For anyone interested, here are two screenshots of the Intel Power Gadget while running Cinebench:
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
2
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N WIFI
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-8700K
Graphics
NO Graphics Card
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi, I had a GIGABYTE Z370N WIFI which is the same as yours, and I got a Intel® Core™ i7-8700K
without any graphic card (I am going to use the UHD 630, and it's enough for me)
but I cannot load into the system for the first time.

I noticed that, for the bios settings, I did NOT find the SuperIO settings in bios. and I am using High Sierra 10.13.5
  • Disabled SuperIO parallel and serial ports
do you have any suggestions? thank you in advance.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
14
Motherboard
None
CPU
Core2Duo E8300
Graphics
GTS240
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@zhaiyong4118 The only suggestion I can give is, follow the general guide for installing High Sierra on this side. That is what I did. I used an MacBook Air, High Sierra Installer (10.13.4) and the newest version of UniBeast to create the USB Installer. I took a few photos off my BIOS and I will upload them here, hope that will help. For me I it just worked out of the box, all I needed to do, was installing the nVidia GPU driver. All can really suggest you is, try different boot flags in Clover, try booting in verbose and/or safe mode.

P.S. I finally did the ports on the case:
DSC06577.jpg
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
2
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370N WIFI
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-8700K
Graphics
NO Graphics Card
Mobile Phone
Android
@zhaiyong4118 The only suggestion I can give is, follow the general guide for installing High Sierra on this side. That is what I did. I used an MacBook Air, High Sierra Installer (10.13.4) and the newest version of UniBeast to create the USB Installer. I took a few photos off my BIOS and I will upload them here, hope that will help. For me I it just worked out of the box, all I needed to do, was installing the nVidia GPU driver. All can really suggest you is, try different boot flags in Clover, try booting in verbose and/or safe mode.

P.S. I finally did the ports on the case:
View attachment 337151
thank you very much~~I will try again;)
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
32
Motherboard
GA-H61M-S2H
CPU
3.29 GHz Intel Core i5
Graphics
GeForce 9600 GT 512MB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi good people of tonymaxc86,
excellent execution.
what could you have done to get those USB port holes cleaner cut?
thank you for sharing this powerful and inspiring post.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
14
Motherboard
None
CPU
Core2Duo E8300
Graphics
GTS240
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@aarbot thanks :)

When doing the USB port holes, and on that matter all ports, I arranged them loosely and not really proper. I should've been more cautious and maybe do even exact measurements of where the ports go. That way I could have known where to drill the holes on the outside and not do it by guess work.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Xiaomi NB Air 12.5
CPU
m3 7y30
Graphics
HD 615
Hi @klaus19. Nice work you done here, I was about to re-design the top and bottom cover as the other builds do not comply to the original. But yours does match almost. Could you provide the STL files for 3d printing?

Many thanks ! :)
 
Top