Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
ASUSTeK K42JY (Chimera)
CPU
i5 M 480
Graphics
HD6470m/1366x768
Greeting everyone,

This is my very first attempt to install Snow Leopard on an Asus Laptop.
I have tried to read the relevant Installation guides, oh that is way too many things to read and understand..
So I am taking it step by step.

I bought the Snow Leopard DVD from Apple Store.
I have joined the forum and download iBoot, iBoot-legacy and burn into DVD.

I use this link https://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2010/04/iboot-multibeast-install-mac-os-x-on.html to start my learning.

The Asus laptop has a intel i5 480M mobile cpu, I first tried to use the above steps, using iBoot to boot the snow leopard DVD, then, I got stuck at step 8 with all combinations, finally I saw the screen has something like 'kernel panic'...
After some other readings I started to think the Mobile CPU intel 480M might not be compatible...

On second thought, I use iBoot-Legacy to boot the DVD.
Oh yes, I am happy to see that I can proceed to step 8-14, but then I cannot go with step 15.
So I just continue to install until installation complete.

Unpon reboot, I found it could not boot from the SSD I used.
Fortunately I can boot from the iboot-legacy CD by selecting Snow Leopard partition.

After setting up keyboard, user information etc I am now able to see Mac OS X version 10.6.3

Of course at this point there is no internet, no wireless, and screen is on low resolution at 1024x768.
However I am happy to get to this point. :)

I have never use an Mac so it takes a long time for me to slowly navigate myself.

In order to provide more hardware information on this Asus laptop, I use Linux Live DVD and capture the details with inxi -F command , I just take away the mac address on the report , and post here for reference. I am yet to learn how to screen capture , pull out hardware information from a mac and post in the forum.

root@live:/home/live# inxi -F

System: