Contribute
Register

Mavericks: Native CPU/IGPU Power Management

Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390m Gaming
CPU
i9-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello Toleda,

First off thank you for your great work!!

See, Im building this Z97m D3H machine, and Im a little confused if my CPU management is correctly enabled. I have an iMac 14,2 spec with the following components:

CPU 4790K, MB Z97m D3H , GPU GB GTX 760. Attached are the files.

I have run the Piker alpha script, and on the intel app seems that the management is enabled, but I can't see the LPC nor AppeIntelCPUManagment loaded...

Theres this error at console when I search XCPM too..

Also, the cat /var/log/system.log | grep "AICPUPMI:” gives no result...

Thank you for your patience!!
 

Attachments

  • Z97m IOREG 1.zip
    472.1 KB · Views: 52
  • Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 12.46.11 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 12.46.11 PM.jpg
    230.5 KB · Views: 173
  • Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 12.46.38 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 12.46.38 PM.png
    137.7 KB · Views: 144
  • Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 12.48.52 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 12.48.52 PM.png
    147.1 KB · Views: 164
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
CPU
4790K
Graphics
nvidia 770
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Quick question - everything on my setup seems to indicate speedstep is working as expected and am just wondering why the log file generated by the Intel Power Gadget shows only 800, 4000, and 4400 are speeds being used. I've attached the log file, a copy of the file generated by IORegistryExplorer and some screen caps for you to check. The output of "cat /var/log/system.log | grep "AICPUPMI:"" shows the expected number of cpu frequencies, the Power Gadget shows the cpu speeding up/slowing down - am I just worried about nothing?

The file "PwrData_2014-11-03_12-45-49.csv.txt" shows that 800, 4000 and 4400 are being used (4400 was further down the log but the file was too large to upload so had to remove some data...)

crash

Edit - 2 additional screen caps showing results from MSRDumper and AICPUPMI
 

Attachments

  • Archive.zip
    733.2 KB · Views: 39
  • Screen Shot 2014-11-03 at 12.46.24 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2014-11-03 at 12.46.24 PM.jpg
    24.5 KB · Views: 595
  • Screen Shot 2014-11-03 at 12.49.56 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2014-11-03 at 12.49.56 PM.jpg
    79.3 KB · Views: 87
  • Terminal Saved Output.txt
    9.4 KB · Views: 58
  • PwrData_2014-11-03_12-45-49.csv.txt
    3.7 KB · Views: 70
  • Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 1.14.10 AM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 1.14.10 AM.jpg
    191.7 KB · Views: 131
  • Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 1.14.41 AM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 1.14.41 AM.jpg
    86.5 KB · Views: 92
Joined
Apr 26, 2012
Messages
22
Motherboard
P8Z77-M
CPU
i52500k
Graphics
Ati 6870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm not sure what my cpu is doing :)

I'm running yosmite with standard cpu settings in the bios and a patched bios.
In yosmite i booting with clover (settings: dropem, generate p&c states and smbios imac 12.2) and all i get are 16 and 33 as p states. I tried to use the script to make my own ssdt and put it in efi/clover/acpi/patched and rebooted but nothing changed, still 16 and 33.
HWmonitor and the dcpimanager shows 16 and 33 as states(with generate p/c states deactivated).
But my HWmontior and the intel powertool shows frequencys from 1,6-3,3ghz.
I'm asking me how that is possible when the multiplier is fixed to 16 and 33?


Tried it again with drop ssdt table cpu0ist/cpupm and only getting 16,33.
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.03.05.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.03.05.png
    51.8 KB · Views: 105
  • Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.43.28.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.43.28.png
    257.9 KB · Views: 119
  • Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.43.39.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.43.39.png
    122.5 KB · Views: 153
  • Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.43.55.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.43.55.png
    181.7 KB · Views: 133
  • Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.44.09.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 10.44.09.png
    160.8 KB · Views: 133
  • Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 11.05.06.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-04 um 11.05.06.png
    191.3 KB · Views: 98
Joined
Oct 7, 2014
Messages
39
Motherboard
ASUS X99-A/USB 3.1
CPU
i7-5930K
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Toleda, is my PM working?

I'm on Mavericks with 4790K and z97 board (thus dropSSDT=No), turbo boost up to 4,4GHz. I believe that all P states are listed correctly, but the CPU never goes to 0,8GHz, even though in Activity Monitor there's little cpu usage. on greater loads it reaches 4,4GHz easily. this is with sysdef iMac 14,2. when I switch to mac pro 3.1, cpu goes correctly to 0.8GHz on idle but seems to under-utilize turbo boost, rarely reaching that 4,4GHz state.

does anyone have an 'ideal' sysdef for 4790K on Mavericks?
 

Attachments

  • IGp latest.png
    IGp latest.png
    159.7 KB · Views: 109
  • Alex’s Mac Pro.ioreg
    5.7 MB · Views: 92
  • AICPUPMI latest.txt
    43.5 KB · Views: 86
  • SSDT.aml
    2.2 KB · Views: 74
  • xcpm latest.png
    xcpm latest.png
    157.6 KB · Views: 140
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
CPU
4790K
Graphics
nvidia 770
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Morning:

I posted on the forum before but didn't get a response.

In the console I see:
AICPUPMI: CPU P-States [ (8) 9 10 11 12 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 ]

and Intel Power Gadget shows varying speeds, but if you check the log generated by Power Gadget it only shows the processor using the lowest, highest, and turbo speeds:

13:09:36:056,697217234200,1.478202, 800, 9.963, 16.356, 4.543, 3.320, 6.386, 1.774, 31,0,88
13:09:36:072,697281340253,1.494229, 4400, 9.174, 16.503, 4.584, 2.849, 6.432, 1.787, 31,0,88
13:09:36:096,697376838628,1.518103, 4000, 16.459, 16.896, 4.693, 9.022, 6.647, 1.846, 32,0,88

Is this a bug in your procedures to enable this, a bug in Power Gadget or something else?

Running:
OS 10.9.5 using clover v.2999
OS 10.10 using clover v.2999
system def: iMac (27-inch, Late 2013)
cpu: 4 GHz Intel Core i7 4790k
memory: 16 GB 1777 MHz DDR3
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
73
Motherboard
G5 case Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-Gaming 5
CPU
i7 4770 32GB DDR3 RAM 1066
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Toleda,

No Power Management here. Getting 5 or 6 states after following instructions in Post #1. I am on 10.10.1 on an H97 board. Not sure if this setup is capable of proper power management. Please see my attached documents and hopefully point out where I am going wrong! Thanks.
 

Attachments

  • problem reporting.zip
    785.5 KB · Views: 67

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,061
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Toleda,

No Power Management here. Getting 5 or 6 states after following instructions in Post #1. I am on 10.10.1 on an H97 board. Not sure if this setup is capable of proper power management. Please see my attached documents and hopefully point out where I am going wrong! Thanks.

Try with config.plist/ACPI/SSDT/Generate=true.

If it doesn't help, further analysis of OEM SSDTs would be necessary.
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
73
Motherboard
G5 case Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-Gaming 5
CPU
i7 4770 32GB DDR3 RAM 1066
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Adding /ACPI/SSDT/Generate=true did not give me any more PStates. What do you mean by "further analysis of OEM SSDTs?" I wonder if it could be a bios setting that is missing? I left all power management settings default.
 

Attachments

  • MSI_SnapShot.jpg
    MSI_SnapShot.jpg
    508.8 KB · Views: 126
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
73
Motherboard
G5 case Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-Gaming 5
CPU
i7 4770 32GB DDR3 RAM 1066
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Adding /ACPI/SSDT/Generate=true did not give me any more PStates. What do you mean by "further analysis of OEM SSDTs?" I wonder if it could be a bios setting that is missing? I left all power management settings default.

Since my post I've gotten power management working on two other hacks: one with Ivy CPU and one with a Haswell. Really the only difference is the H97 chipset and that I had to fake the device/vendor ID in my DSDT for the AppleLPC.kext for the H97. Are there any special instructions for the H97 chipset?
 
Top