Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
152
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-GAMING 3
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC
Mac
MacBook Pro
This is what your clover settings should look like. I'm not really sure why people edit the kexts rather than just inject the card id. That way after updates you don't need to keep editing kexts etc.

I've been using this method for a while now, at least from 12.3 to 12.5 beta 1.
I don't duel boot into windows so don't have much experience of that side of things. I just needed this card to work perfectly in OSX, which it does even with the latest FCPX releases and other 3rd party plugins that I've used.
I'm not even sure you need Inject ATI, I do everything via Clover also and I don't even have it enabled. It may be Clover version specific too. I remember there might have been some changes with injection. I think at one point injection may have overwritten fakeID, but I'm not sure what the situation is now.

Personally I agree with you, I don't see any reason to edit kexts for any of this. However, I will say that getting fakeID to work might require a bit of fiddling on some systems. On my system the fakeID doesn't work unless I enable some DSDT fixes (AddDTGP, FixDisplay, DROP ATI DSM). So it's probably dependent on what the DSDT on your system looks like and may not work the first time someone tries it.
 
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
92
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm not even sure you need Inject ATI, I do everything via Clover also and I don't even have it enabled. It may be Clover version specific too. I remember there might have been some changes with injection. I think at one point injection may have overwritten fakeID, but I'm not sure what the situation is now.

Personally I agree with you, I don't see any reason to edit kexts for any of this. However, I will say that getting fakeID to work might require a bit of fiddling on some systems. On my system the fakeID doesn't work unless I enable some DSDT fixes (AddDTGP, FixDisplay, DROP ATI DSM). So it's probably dependent on what the DSDT on your system looks like and may not work the first time someone tries it.
I can't remember what clover build I was using, but when I unchecked 'inject ati' acceleration stopped working. So I just keep it checked now.

Also with this method, you get a grey rather than black boot screen. I don't mind it, but it would be good to know how to get it black if anyone knows. But it's not really a big deal, it reminds me of older Mac OS's that had a grey startup.

 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
9
Motherboard
DP55WB
CPU
Core i5
Graphics
9800 GT
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Power Mac, PowerBook, Workgroup Server
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
I can't remember what clover build I was using, but when I unchecked 'inject ati' acceleration stopped working. So I just keep it checked now.

Also with this method, you get a grey rather than black boot screen. I don't mind it, but it would be good to know how to get it black if anyone knows. But it's not really a big deal, it reminds me of older Mac OS's that had a grey startup.

@rhys216 Is it a real macpro? apple chime at startup?
Graphics Card Powercolor RedDevil RX480?
Can you post the complete procedure as guide with Motherboard, processor and graphics specs. Please describe the bios flashing procedure , values changed on vbios , tools used etc
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
7
Motherboard
M3910
CPU
Core i7
Graphics
Sapphire Rx 480 8GB
Mac
iMac
@rhys216 Is it a real macpro? apple chime at startup?
Graphics Card Powercolor RedDevil RX480?
Can you post the complete procedure as guide with Motherboard, processor and graphics specs. Please describe the bios flashing procedure , values changed on vbios , tools used etc
I've flashed the vbios, tried ATI inject on/off on my 1156 system i7 870 with ref sapphire 480 8gb and still black screen. Fans whir up then nothing. Fake ID is in clover and framebuffer listed as @rhys216 has said. I regret getting this card now as it was intended for FCPX. The forum can't really consider non-IGFX users as the problem seems to be in the differences between Apples genuine bootloader and Clovers at it's heart. No helper card=no luck.

Has anyone on an older system H57 or thereabouts gotten the RX 480 to work without IGFX?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
88
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-E
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
UPDATE on Final Cut Pro X 10.3+

Everything works on Clover r4035, but I updated to r4049 and it broke FCPX 10.3.1 on my machine (running public release of 10.12.4). To get it to work, I had to just Inject Intel = FALSE and it worked, but again, very slow boot time and no sleep. I reverted back to Clover r4035 and all is well again.

What's the best way to communicate this to the folks working on Clover? I'm sure FCPX is not something they are paying attention to, so it might be helpful.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2013
Messages
507
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
UPDATE on Final Cut Pro X 10.3+

Everything works on Clover r4035, but I updated to r4049 and it broke FCPX 10.3.1 on my machine (running public release of 10.12.4). To get it to work, I had to just Inject Intel = FALSE and it worked, but again, very slow boot time and no sleep. I reverted back to Clover r4035 and all is well again.

What's the best way to communicate this to the folks working on Clover? I'm sure FCPX is not something they are paying attention to, so it might be helpful.
If FCPX is broken, then there is a chance that iMovie, Safari, and various other apps that use the Apple video playback approach will also have problems. Inject Intel = true has been a problem for HD 4600 and some other Intel graphics IGPUs as far as the Apple video playback has been concerned since 10.12.0. It could be the latest Clover update picked up a regression from the earlier versions (the ones that did not fix it).

You can let the clover developers know about things of this nature, try here:

https://sourceforge.net/p/cloverefiboot/discussion/1726372/
or
https://sourceforge.net/p/cloverefiboot/tickets/


p.s. If you only use sleep for short term (i.e. no hibernate mode) there is a way to get around some of the issues of losing sleep, open the Terminal app and at the prompt type in the command: caffeinate and hit return. It will keep your cpu running but will let the monitor sleep all the way to shutting down and will awaken it properly. You should not lose audio or have any of the other sleep related issues, but the cpu does not go into low power mode, so the fans keep spinning. Again, this is for short term use, not overnight use. Type the usual control-c combination to exit it.
 
Joined
May 13, 2012
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97-D3H
CPU
Intel Core i5 - 4690K
Graphics
HD4600 , RX 480 Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
BTW , I flashed my SAPPHIRE NITRO+ RX 480 4GB , with edited bios by rhys216 method , inject ATI=true, fakeID=0x67EF1002 in clover. OS X work without my HD4600, with PCIe-1 in priority, Luxmark scores same.
Bad is Windows and Motherboard won't recognise GPU... (PC speaker beep 3 times at system start)
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2014
Messages
198
Motherboard
MSI Z370i Pro Gaming Carbon AC
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
RX460
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have the Gigabyte RX460 4GB no 6-pin card. I also have HD530 built-in. The HD530 works natively without glitches, just the wake issue.

I would like to use my RX460. I have enabled CPU Graphics as Primary with 64MB DVMT. I have no ig-platform ID and Inject Intel is set to false. I have Inject ATI set to true instead. Monitor is plugged via HDMI to the RX460. Still the system boots using the HD530 so at half way boot the monitor turns off.

What am I missing?

Note: I am running on Clover 4049. macOS 10.12.4
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top