Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 7, 2013
Messages
55
Motherboard
Mac OS X Mountain Lion
CPU
3,1 GHz Intel Core i5
Graphics
ATI Radeon HD 5770
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'd rather see Tonymac go after them for it...
They could have at least given you credit lol (found by the user Gigamaxx) and linked to the site.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,943
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
Core i7-3770
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,617
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
They could have at least given you credit lol (found by the user Gigamaxx) and linked to the site.
Google Polaris 10xt2 and there is a YouTube video that mentions a chap named Gigamaxx on the tonymac website. My brief brush with fame! Oh, the humanity! I just hope Apple doesn't close my account and AMD doesn't flash my Vbios to permanent black screen.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,117
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Google Polaris 10xt2 and there is a YouTube video that mentions a chap named Gigamaxx on the tonymac website. My brief brush with fame! Oh, the humanity! I just hope Apple doesn't close my account and AMD doesn't flash my Vbios to permanent black screen.
Have you read this discussion yet ? Interesting ideas. They failed to crop your desktop picture though.

https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/tonymacx86-possible-polaris-12-gpu-and-refreshed-polaris-10-spotted-in-macos-sierra-drivers.2493828/
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,617
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
78
Motherboard
GA-H170M-DS3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
AMD RX 480
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Try not injecting intel first and see if you get RX booted. If it works look into this setup.

config (revod 1).plist Look at it and copy changes or add uuid and serial number and try it. You were injecting both intel and ATI which can cause problems, I also changed the 530 injection to SKL CRB because using it does not require injecting intel.
Nope doesn't work, I give up, Hopefully to see fully compatible without problem in the next beta updates, I will stick with the intel hd 530 :/
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2016
Messages
17
Motherboard
z97x-ud3h
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
rx 480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I've run 100s of benchmarks with my RX 480 and never had a problem, the fan idles when its cooled down. There is "AutoWattman" running in the 9500controller kext or 4100kext, I've seen it and there is overheat protection which will shut down the card if temps exceed limits.
View attachment 224128View attachment 224152
~~~
this is so cool,and i will not worry about it any more, thanks
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,617
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Nope doesn't work, I give up, Hopefully to see fully compatible without problem in the next beta updates, I will stick with the intel hd 530 :/
The HD 530 injection might be the problem, SKL CRB is workable without injections it is the same thing. We just went through this with the HD 4600 AML injection issue and RX 480 support. My AMD R7 265 can be recognized as a R9 270X but it requires injections and fixes. If I let it detect natively without any injection its an AMD 7XXX card without any fuss. Performance is the same, its just a name (cosmetic) but they use the same drivers.
SKL CRB valley.png It has metal support 30 bit color. Yes it has flickering in the top left like 530 without the fix, but I only look at clover screen for this connection, the top left is irrelevant to me because my screen is connected to RX during use. If it will run a Valley Extreme HD bench its not all that bad.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
50
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
MSI GAMING X RX 480 4GB
Mobile Phone
Android, Other
So what exactly is this AutoWattMan thing? is it possible to see GPU temp/fan speed? amd related codes in hwmonitor haven't been updated in ages, so rx480 doesn't work with it :( i wish mac had something like msi afterburner....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top