Contribute
Register

Looking to upgrade.. any recommendations?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Intel i5 6500
Graphics
RADEON RX 5700 8G
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This is my current setup:

CPU: 3.19 GHz Intel Core i5 6500 [Link]
Memory: 2 x 8GB Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3000MHz [Link]
Motherboard: Gigabyte - GA-Z170X-UD5 TH ATX LGA1151
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2 GB [Link]
Disks: 256GB SSD (startup disk), 2TB Data Fusion Drive
Monitor: Dell U3415W
Case: Corsair Air 540 [Link]
macOS High Sierra 10.13.3

I am looking to upgrade the CPU because primarily I am a developer working with systems programming languages or working on iOS applications. Xcode is something I use heavily - and if you don't know, the Swift compiler can be a hog on resources. Really not sure on what to do here, my motherboard can support the Kaby lake processors with a bios patch, but willing to replace the motherboard if there's a real compelling reason to do it (hoping I don't have to).

I also game when I get time - which is the reason I would want to upgrade my graphics, been looking at the RX560/70/80 for the better native support and be able to push the games further.

Any Tips or Advise is very much appreciated!

Thanks, your friendly neighbourhood turtleguy.

Last edited:
This is my current setup:

CPU: 3.19 GHz Intel Core i5 6500 [Link]
Memory: 2 x 8GB Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3000MHz [Link]
Motherboard: Gigabyte - GA-Z170X-UD5 TH ATX LGA1151
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2 GB [Link]
Disks: 256GB SSD (startup disk), 2TB Data Fusion Drive
Monitor: Dell U3415W
Case: Corsair Air 540 [Link]
macOS High Sierra 10.13.3