Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Since there isn't really a good cut and dry guide on how to install a GTX 580 in Lion, I'm going to do so now.

First thing I have to recommend though is two things that would have been helpful for me to know when doing this install.

1.) using PCIRoodUID=1 disables high resolutions once you have booted. So when people are telling you to try and boot using this command, you may be confused if it DOES boot and you still do not have high resolutions. Its because it makes your system default back to thinking the card can't do it. Think if it as a SAFE MODE for your GPU. This can be helpful though if you screw up the install process and need to at least boot into 1024x768 mode to fix things. This info may not be 100% accurate since I am not a coder of any stretch, but just something that I took notice after working on getting this system up after 50+ hours of tinkering.

2.) npci=0x2000 boot command that you use in Chimera just like PCIRootUID=1 seemed to disallow high resolutions for me once I did get it booted leaving me confused once again.

3.) Multibeast has a program you can install from it called KextHelper. This is used if you have a kext that needs to be manually placed in you folders somewhere. KextHelper lets you simply drag the kext into it and it automatically knows where to place it so you don't have to worry about finding the location of that file on your hard drive.

4.)This one was one I should have payed attention to but for some reason didn't and very well could have been the reason why I was having so many troubles. EVERY time you install a next, before you restart to check if it worked, open up Multibeast and click the option System Utilities and then Repair Caches. Its a must before you restart, this lets the rest of the OS what changes you made and where.

Ok to start off the guide my setup was as follows.