Contribute
Register

High Sierra APFS Raid 0 Set-Up - Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
26
Motherboard
GA77X UD5H
CPU
i7 3770k 3.5
Graphics
GTX 650
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok I'm desperately trying to get my head around High Sierra and APFS using Raid... everything I've read says it doesn't work and having tried, I can confirm it doesn't work! Currently I have high Sierra booting of a HFS+ raid 0 SSD but this is stopping the update to 10.13.2 supplementary.

I have reviewed the way APFS creates one container and various volumes within and due to this I am unsure as to why this system does not work on an SSD raid as by its design it uses one big space and split this up rather than trying to create individual partitions on a raid volume; which obviously can't be done in HFS+.

I do use a vanilla install of macOS utilising a separate drive for the EFI which shouldn't affect this process, in fact it should only make it easier. I've already run High Sierra on a single SSD in APFS using the vanilla EFI for clover...

What is REALLY bugging me about this problem is that the brand new iMac Pro runs in Raid 0 from all the reviews I've read!!!!!!!!! two x 512gb ssd=1tb ssd, two x 1tb ssd=2tb ssd, two x 2tb ssd=4th ssd... so how does apple get the APFS raid 0 function to boot High Sierra and I can't using my two SSD's in raid 0?

Does anyone have access to a iMac Pro and can provide us with a screenshot of the disk utility screen and terminal diskutil list command? failing this I'm going to have to head into an apple store and take photos of these...

Any help, thoughts, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
344
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
RX6800 XT 16GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Apple still has no solution to this problem, so I have not updated my Macbook Pro 13 '2012 with 1TB (2x500GB SSD RAID 0) to the High Sierra.
They still have no solution to this problem.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
344
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590M GAMING X
CPU
i7-11700K
Graphics
RX6800 XT 16GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Joined
Mar 15, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
Z97-AR
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
GTX970
Finally I installed my High Sierra in RAID 0: 2 SSD TOSHIBA 128GB!
I had to install in just one SSD.
Then I cloned the SSD with Carbon Copy Cloner https://bombich.com/ in another HD.
After that I restarted the computer with the HD which I copied the clone.
Then I created the RAID 0 with Softraid 5.6.5 https://www.softraid.com/pages/support/download_latest_version.html
Then I cloned again with the RAID 0.

It's working perfectly...

The screenshot show almost 1000mb of writing and reading..


Thank you guys
Screen Shot 2018-03-29 at 8.39.48 PM.png
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
1
Finally I installed my High Sierra in RAID 0: 2 SSD TOSHIBA 128GB!
I had to install in just one SSD.
Then I cloned the SSD with Carbon Copy Cloner https://bombich.com/ in another HD.
After that I restarted the computer with the HD which I copied the clone.
Then I created the RAID 0 with Softraid 5.6.5 https://www.softraid.com/pages/support/download_latest_version.html
Then I cloned again with the RAID 0.

It's working perfectly...

The screenshot show almost 1000mb of writing and reading..


Thank you guysView attachment 321673

Are you booting into High Seirra with this setup?
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
Z97-AR
CPU
I7-4790
Graphics
GTX970
Are you booting into High Seirra with this setup?


Finally, after a whole week!

ASUS Z97-AR
I7-4790K
GTX 970
2x SSD Toshiba 128GB

I tried to install from USB and nothing, then I decide to try to clone the partition in just one SSD then I created the RAID and copied the clone for my RAID.

Plus I copied the EFI from USB to my SSD, then I don't need to boot with USB
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 5.10.35 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-03-30 at 5.10.35 PM.png
    352.8 KB · Views: 897
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
ASUS H97M-E
CPU
Intel Core i7 4771 @3.9Ghz
Graphics
R9 270
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Finally, after a whole week!

ASUS Z97-AR
I7-4790K
GTX 970
2x SSD Toshiba 128GB

I tried to install from USB and nothing, then I decide to try to clone the partition in just one SSD then I created the RAID and copied the clone for my RAID.

Plus I copied the EFI from USB to my SSD, then I don't need to boot with USB

The last time I tried this method I cannot do system updates. Is it fixed?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
314
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490
CPU
i9-10900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I found an easy way, and it even uses APFS, this method was using my ASUS X99 A2, so I can't tell if it would work on other mobos.

1- Change in your BIOS from AHCI to RAID, this will enable the RAID configuration and you can create the RAID from the BIOS itself, be aware that all the content in your disks is going to be erased. Since the RAID is created by the BIOS, OSX will think is 1 single drive.
2- Install OSX by erasing the new disk like MacOS Extended, even if you choose APFS in the installer, it will fail and use HFS+
3- When the installation completes and it boots into OSX, the system will automatically change your OSX RAID drive to APFS.

So far, it runs great, I have been able to install anything without issues and the performance seems to be better than with SoftRAID, probably because the hardware chipset that controls the RAID drives.

Screen Shot 2018-10-15 at 1.57.07 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-15 at 1.48.08 PM.png
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
43
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hello this kind of spped is not Raidish... Strange to be able to use mb raid also, it's supposed to be a big no no

here is my current status, not managing to boot the appleraid under Mojave...

Last login: Fri Dec 28 02:44:44 on console

Restored session: Fri Dec 28 02:39:00 CET 2018

xxxxxxxxxxxxx$ diskutil list

/dev/disk0 (internal):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

0: GUID_partition_scheme 2.0 TB disk0

1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1

2: Apple_RAID 2.0 TB disk0s2

3: Apple_Boot Boot OS X 134.2 MB disk0s3


/dev/disk1 (internal):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

0: GUID_partition_scheme 2.0 TB disk1

1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1

2: Apple_RAID 2.0 TB disk1s2

3: Apple_Boot Boot OS X 134.2 MB disk1s3


/dev/disk2 (internal, virtual):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

0: Apple_APFS +4.0 TB disk2


/dev/disk3 (internal, physical):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

0: GUID_partition_scheme *480.1 GB disk3

1: Windows Recovery 471.9 MB disk3s1

2: EFI NO NAME 103.8 MB disk3s2

3: Microsoft Reserved 16.8 MB disk3s3

4: Microsoft Basic Data 479.5 GB disk3s4


/dev/disk4 (internal, physical):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

0: GUID_partition_scheme *480.1 GB disk4

1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk4s1

2: Apple_APFS Container disk5 479.9 GB disk4s2


/dev/disk5 (synthesized):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

0: APFS Container Scheme - +479.9 GB disk5

Physical Store disk4s2

1: APFS Volume OSX 13.7 GB disk5s1

2: APFS Volume Preboot 45.1 MB disk5s2

3: APFS Volume Recovery 517.0 MB disk5s3

4: APFS Volume VM 20.5 KB disk5s4


/dev/disk6 (synthesized):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

0: APFS Container Scheme - +4.0 TB disk6

Physical Store disk2

1: APFS Volume Mojave0 12.6 GB disk6s1

2: APFS Volume Preboot 42.0 MB disk6s2

3: APFS Volume Recovery 522.4 MB disk6s3

4: APFS Volume VM 20.5 KB disk6s4
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
43
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here is raid0 speed:

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_17aa.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top