Contribute
Register

Guide: Multibooting UEFI on Separate Drives

Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
464
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just a note that by default you might not have NTFS or FAT32 (i hope you aren't installing windows 10 in fat) drivers installed. With clover configurator you may want to add the UEFI 64 bit NTFS driver for it to see windows if it's not showing up in clover. This is about only step that may be missing from guide. Great guide!
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
20
Motherboard
ML
CPU
i5
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
There is just one slight annoying problem I have not solved yet in Sierra: OS X complains "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer" "Initialize Ignore Eject" when it boots, complaining about the Linux drive. Previous free 3rd party apps that worked for earlier versions of OS X do not seem to work at all in Sierra yet - maybe the authors will update their apps when the Gold Master is releaased. You can get used to the complaint and just click eject when you boot OS X or find/create another solution.

You can resolve this by creating a tiny HFS partition on the Linux drive and add an entry to your fstab so it doesn't get mounted. I called mine "OSXSHH" :D.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,225
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You can resolve this by creating a tiny HFS partition on the Linux drive and add an entry to your fstab so it doesn't get mounted. I called mine "OSXSHH" :D.
This is not something I normally worry about as I no longer have multiple OS drives installed. Instead I use a trayless hotswap bay mounted in the optical drive space that I swap OS drives in and out as needed to boot an OS.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
5
Well I was trying to do the multi-boot on 2 different drives and have screwed things up now. I had OSX working fine, then installed Win10 and couldn't get the mac to boot. After changing BIOS settings back, I was able to boot to OSX but Win would just flash the cursor. I installed chameleon and then it all went down hill. So I booted from USB and re-installed OSX which allowed me to boot fine. After shutting down, it goes to possibly the verbose boot up and then restarts and keeps looping. It won't recognize the USB now either.
Is anyone willing to spend an hour with me on the phone or skype to help me solve the issues? I'd like to get the system up and running so I can use it.
Thanks!
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,225
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well I was trying to do the multi-boot on 2 different drives and have screwed things up now. I had OSX working fine, then installed Win10 and couldn't get the mac to boot. After changing BIOS settings back, I was able to boot to OSX but Win would just flash the cursor. I installed chameleon and then it all went down hill. So I booted from USB and re-installed OSX which allowed me to boot fine. After shutting down, it goes to possibly the verbose boot up and then restarts and keeps looping. It won't recognize the USB now either.
Is anyone willing to spend an hour with me on the phone or skype to help me solve the issues? I'd like to get the system up and running so I can use it.
Thanks!
Chameleon/Chimera will not work with El Capitan. If Windows is installed Legacy Mode, Clover UEFI will not boot it. If you are installing on the build in your sig, then you must be installing El Capitan and you must use Clover boot loader.
This is not rocket science, but it does require attention to directions.
Go back and read the guide for the steps carefully to make sure you are installing Windows in UEFI mode and try again.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
5
Chameleon/Chimera will not work with El Capitan. If Windows is installed Legacy Mode, Clover UEFI will not boot it. If you are installing on the build in your sig, then you must be installing El Capitan and you must use Clover boot loader.
This is not rocket science, but it does require attention to directions.
Go back and read the guide for the steps carefully to make sure you are installing Windows in UEFI mode and try again.
Yes, I installed Windows in UEFI mode. I followed the directions, I guess I just don't have enough knowledge for some of this. The problem I have is I can't even start up off a USB now. This is what I get before it restarts when trying to boot from the SSD or from a USB. I don't know where to go from here.
mbq1YR
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2850.JPG
    IMG_2850.JPG
    2.4 MB · Views: 332

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,225
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yes, I installed Windows in UEFI mode. I followed the directions, I guess I just don't have enough knowledge for some of this. The problem I have is I can't even start up off a USB now. This is what I get before it restarts when trying to boot from the SSD or from a USB. I don't know where to go from here.
mbq1YR
In UEFI/BIOS disable the serial port.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
1
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H170N-WIFI
CPU
Intel Core i3-6100
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

I followed your guide for installing Windows 10, and everything was looking great until I tried to boot back into El Capitan. Now I'm getting the same (or similar) Kernel Panic screen that m40774 was getting after The Apple logo screen finishes loading. If I disconnect my Windows drive, however, OS X boots normally without doing anything else. My motherboard doesn't have a serial port, so I couldn't disable it.

On a possibly unrelated note, I'm getting what appear to be duplicates of my OS X SSD in the UEFI/BIOS, and BIOS Boot selection menu. It's happening regardless of the Windows drive being connected, so I'm hesitant to think the two issues are related, but I don't want to rule it out. I've never worked with UEFI before (other than apple's implementation), so I don't have any idea what's normal. I've included a screenshot of my boot menu.

Any thoughts on either issue?

Thanks.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 337
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
71
Motherboard
EVGA-Z370 FTW
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
PowerColor 5600 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Good afternoon.

The truth is that more than a problem, it is a minor inconvenience, which fortunately allowed me to work perfect, but I hate to see it. See if you can give me a little hand and we solve.

We will begin.

Installing clover and windows in UEFI mode. From clover botting perfectly windows and osx, but now comes the downside.

I have a hotswap with 4 discs (3 storage and one hd windows), and where SSD is installed osx.

From clover in the GUI I see only two units (both osx recovery units as non-booting disks, have hidden). Can anyone tell me the reason why the unit is the first windows displayed (left) and osx (right) although the boot is the osx by setting clover?

Thank you in advance.
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2016-08-30 a las 21.04.55.png
    Captura de pantalla 2016-08-30 a las 21.04.55.png
    157.3 KB · Views: 352
Top