Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Pavilion 15-AB216TX Catalina using OpenCore

Joined
Jul 8, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
HP-15AB219TX
CPU
Intel 5th Gen i5 - 5200U
Graphics
Intel HD 5500 & NVIDIA GeForce 940M
WhateverGreen supports "enable-hdmi20" property, I'm not sure if it's supported with HD 5500 (never tried myself)
I'll look into that as I haven't really found other working solutions for the issue yet.
The external display I have is a 40" 4K TV (3840*2160). And I mostly use that for watching movies from the laptop. I was able to get the OS to display at 3840*2160 (used hackintool for that, let me know if that's not a good thing :lol:) but usually the TV shows what resolution it's being fed and on Windows it does show 3840*2160 (I use this info as a secondary confirmation). in macOS it did look like it was displaying in 4K (all the stuff was shrunk down as expected at the resolution).
I'm not sure about this one, may be it's the external mouse.
It mostly happened when i was connected to my external display and closed the laptop screen, also the external mouse was working fine rest of the time. Just hppened a few times then I opened the laptop display somewhat. I think something was causing the touchpad to glitch maybe some debris.
If that happens in the future I'll look into it thoroughly.
Any logs? OpenCore supports debugging, enable debugging that might help understanding the cause.
Yeah, so this was an issue with FileVault encryption. After I disabled that, it boots okay now.
I'm okay with not having the encryption. But if you know of some decent solution, let me know.
Also, thanks for al your help brother.

I'm mostly satisfied with the build. These three issues are something I can live with. :D
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asus h270 pro
CPU
i5 7400
Graphics
hd630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. Classic
  3. Lisa
  4. Portable
  5. Power Mac
  6. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
My Battery still does not work applied the patches from #42
attached my EFI Folder
battery is stuck at 1%
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    60.4 MB · Views: 114
Joined
Sep 29, 2019
Messages
22
Motherboard
HP EliteBook Folio 1040 G2
CPU
i5-5300U
Graphics
HD 5500
Sorry for the late reply (everyone), I don't check the forum everyday and sometimes Email notifications work fine and sometimes they don't work at all.

1) place all SSDT*.aml and DSDT.aml in origin folder, then use refs.txt file to disassemble.
2) Battery HP G6 2221ss is the patch that you should try.
3) I don't like Synapthics trackpad myself, it's not great but better than nothing at all. may be your laptop have ELAN or some other trackpad.

No, nothing to worry about.

WhateverGreen supports "enable-hdmi20" property, I'm not sure if it's supported with HD 5500 (never tried myself)

i'm not sure about this one, may be it's the external mouse.

Any logs? OpenCore supports debugging, enable debugging that might help understanding the cause.

You need Battery HP G6 2221ss patch, binary patches in Post#1 are mostly inaccurate for many people (work for me, but not others), check Post#42 it contains updated binary patches that should work (generic).

Thanks for your effort to help me, honestly I still stuck and got bunch of error when compile them. Here are my original references.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    19.2 MB · Views: 47
  • origin.zip
    174.5 KB · Views: 28
  • Terminal Output.rtf.zip
    3.2 KB · Views: 34
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Intel Core i7 5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 + NVIDIA GeForce 840M
@chilledHamza Hello, I'm trying to get opencore fully working and I'm having issues fixing brightness keys and battery indicator, could you help? The process is very different from clover so I don't really know how to get the acpi files and stuff.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 28
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
162
Motherboard
Lenovo Legion Y530
CPU
Core i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 + GTX 1050Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@chilledHamza Hello, I'm trying to get opencore fully working and I'm having issues fixing brightness keys and battery indicator, could you help? The process is very different from clover so I don't really know how to get the acpi files and stuff.
Attached config.plist file have invalid format, can't open with ProperTree.
How are you editing config.plist?

Brightness keys: You need to rename EC Queries in DSDT (that are called with you press the keys) with binary patch, and inject required method with SSDT (for dual-boot config with OpenCore you also have to call original method to make sure brightness control works on Windows/Linux)
BrightnessKeys.kext is new implementation, this doesn't require ACPI patches, I haven't got it to work with Haier-Y11C. Don't have HP-AB216TX anymore to test.

Battery: Try binary patches listed in post #42 along with SSDT-BATT.aml form post #1, if that doesn't work then you might have to patch/modify according to your machine. also read onward post #42 other people had same issue and I explained in detail on how to make it work (OpenCore)
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Intel Core i7 5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 + NVIDIA GeForce 840M
Attached config.plist file have invalid format, can't open with ProperTree.
How are you editing config.plist?

Brightness keys: You need to rename EC Queries in DSDT (that are called with you press the keys) with binary patch, and inject required method with SSDT (for dual-boot config with OpenCore you also have to call original method to make sure brightness control works on Windows/Linux)
BrightnessKeys.kext is new implementation, this doesn't require ACPI patches, I haven't got it to work with Haier-Y11C. Don't have HP-AB216TX anymore to test.

Battery: Try binary patches listed in post #42 along with SSDT-BATT.aml form post #1, if that doesn't work then you might have to patch/modify according to your machine. also read onward post #42 other people had same issue and I explained in detail on how to make it work (OpenCore)
I think brightness keys are working now, as I can adjust it with the keys without pressing fun (I still need to have the decrease and increase brightness shortcuts enabled in keyboard settings) so does that mean it's fixed?

About battery, I couldn't fix it. I tried applying your patches and adding the ssdt-batt.aml

Also, about the config.plist, I just clean installed mac os so I didn't have propertree installed and I edited the serial stuff out with textedit. Guess it wasn't a good idea so I now tried editing it with propertree.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 24
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
162
Motherboard
Lenovo Legion Y530
CPU
Core i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 + GTX 1050Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I think brightness keys are working now, as I can adjust it with the keys without pressing fun (I still need to have the decrease and increase brightness shortcuts enabled in keyboard settings) so does that mean it's fixed?
Which brightness shortcuts? did you add/define those manually?
About battery, I couldn't fix it. I tried applying your patches and adding the ssdt-batt.aml
patches are there, I didn't compare find/replace values though. but you forgot to add SSDT-BATT.aml in config.plist (under ACPI->Add section)

also extract and attach ACPI files, you can extract with Clover or patchmatic
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Intel Core i7 5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 + NVIDIA GeForce 840M
Which brightness shortcuts? did you add/define those manually?

patches are there, I didn't compare find/replace values though. but you forgot to add SSDT-BATT.aml in config.plist (under ACPI->Add section)

also extract and attach ACPI files, you can extract with Clover or patchmatic
@chilledHamza
I added SSDT-BATT.aml to config.plist later, it didn't help.

About brightness, I meant this (see attached screenshot) had to be turned on for it to work.
 

Attachments

  • origin.zip
    119.6 KB · Views: 20
  • IMG_20201106_210858_299.jpg
    IMG_20201106_210858_299.jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 23
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
162
Motherboard
Lenovo Legion Y530
CPU
Core i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 + GTX 1050Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
About brightness, I meant this (see attached screenshot) had to be turned on for it to work.
I don't have Display menu on my end, but I'm not using BrightnessKeys.kext either. What matters is that it's working without ACPI patch. I'm not sure about its implementation yet, or how it works.

Try attached EFI, if battery still doesn't work then attach Problem Reporting Archive.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 59
Top