Contribute
Register

[Guide] HP Pavilion 15-AB216TX Catalina using OpenCore

Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Intel Core i7 5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 + NVIDIA GeForce 840M
I don't have Display menu on my end, but I'm not using BrightnessKeys.kext either. What matters is that it's working without ACPI patch. I'm not sure about its implementation yet, or how it works.

Try attached EFI, if battery still doesn't work then attach Problem Reporting Archive.
Wow, you are amazing! Brightness keys and battery indicator work now :)

Maybe you can help me with my other issues too?

For some reason, when I put computer on sleep, it stays on for a while with the screen turned off, then goes to sleep mode for a second, (the power button blinks) and then it turns on again. Weird thing is sometimes it does actually go to sleep but usually it gets stuck in this situation. Any idea how to fix this?
 
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
162
Motherboard
Lenovo Legion Y530
CPU
Core i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 + GTX 1050Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Wow, you are amazing! Brightness keys and battery indicator work now :)
Cool.
For some reason, when I put computer on sleep, it stays on for a while with the screen turned off, then goes to sleep mode for a second, (the power button blinks) and then it turns on again. Weird thing is sometimes it does actually go to sleep but usually it gets stuck in this situation. Any idea how to fix this?
Delay before sleep is normal (Rehabman used to say so, according to him it's present on real macs too).
The turns on again thing happened when I had AC adapter plugged in (on HP-AB216TX, Clover Bootloader), sleep worked fine on battery. but I didn't experience this when I switched to OpenCore.

Another cause is GPRW patch, and you haven't applied it yet. check wake reason after sleep wake cycle (blinking and turn-on again). it's pretty common and mentioned in Rehabmans Hotpatch guide.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Intel Core i7 5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 + NVIDIA GeForce 840M
Cool.

Delay before sleep is normal (Rehabman used to say so, according to him it's present on real macs too).
The turns on again thing happened when I had AC adapter plugged in (on HP-AB216TX, Clover Bootloader), sleep worked fine on battery. but I didn't experience this when I switched to OpenCore.

Another cause is GPRW patch, and you haven't applied it yet. check wake reason after sleep wake cycle (blinking and turn-on again). it's pretty common and mentioned in Rehabmans Hotpatch guide.
I didn't really understand. What do you want me to do to fix sleep?
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Intel Core i7 5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 + NVIDIA GeForce 840M
If you wanted me to send log of wake reason, here
 

Attachments

  • wakereasonlog.txt
    14.8 KB · Views: 39
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
162
Motherboard
Lenovo Legion Y530
CPU
Core i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 + GTX 1050Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I didn't really understand. What do you want me to do to fix sleep?
I checked the log, you didn't disabled the Nvidia GPU. there is EHC1 and EHC2 (possibly GPRW USB "instant wake" patch will fix it)
@chilledHamza is this what you needed?
yes, that what I meant.

Try attached zip.
- Disabled Dedicated GPU with "disable-external-gpu" device-property
- added GPRW patch (binary + SSDT-GPRW)
- Sleep/Wake patch (SSDT-PTSWAK)
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 49
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Intel Core i7 5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 + NVIDIA GeForce 840M
I checked the log, you didn't disabled the Nvidia GPU. there is EHC1 and EHC2 (possibly GPRW USB "instant wake" patch will fix it)

yes, that what I meant.

Try attached zip.
- Disabled Dedicated GPU with "disable-external-gpu" device-property
- added GPRW patch (binary + SSDT-GPRW)
- Sleep/Wake patch (SSDT-PTSWAK)
Nice, sleep works perfect now.
Say, about ethernet- are you also facing slow speeds? Or am I using a bad kext or something? (I'm using RealtekRTL8100.kext)
Usually in windows I get ~90mbps and here it's ~10mbps
 
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
162
Motherboard
Lenovo Legion Y530
CPU
Core i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 + GTX 1050Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Nice, sleep works perfect now.
Say, about ethernet- are you also facing slow speeds? Or am I using a bad kext or something? (I'm using RealtekRTL8100.kext)
Usually in windows I get ~90mbps and here it's ~10mbps
As I said earlier, I don't have this HP laptop anymore.
Ethernet controller wasn't that great, had issues obtaining IP Address after unplugging and re-plugging Ethernet cable. mostly used Wi-Fi (replaced with Dell DW-1830).
Also don't have 100Mbps connection to compare Bandwidth, LOL
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2020
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Intel Core i7 5500U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500 + NVIDIA GeForce 840M
As I said earlier, I don't have this HP laptop anymore.
Ethernet controller wasn't that great, had issues obtaining IP Address after removing and reconnecting Ethernet cable. mostly used Wi-Fi (replaced with Dell DW-1830).
Also don't have 100Mbps connection to compare speeds, LOL
Yeah I had the same issue after removing ethernet cable. Well, one more thing I had in mind: when I turn on the computer, the first boot stage (the part where if you have verbose enabled you can see log) is very dim, the backlight seems to be off. Then in the second boot stage (where even if you have verbose enabled you would see the apple logo with a loading bar) the screen is bright as usual. Any idea why this happens?
 
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
162
Motherboard
Lenovo Legion Y530
CPU
Core i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630 + GTX 1050Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yeah I had the same issue after removing ethernet cable. Well, one more thing I had in mind: when I turn on the computer, the first boot stage (the part where if you have verbose enabled you can see log) is very dim, the backlight seems to be off. Then in the second boot stage (where even if you have verbose enabled you would see the apple logo with a loading bar) the screen is bright as usual. Any idea why this happens?
I'm not sure about backlight issue, never experienced it. Check if BIOS update is available.
 
Top