Contribute
Register

[Guide] How to Change About This Mac Picture on macOS Mojave

Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Messages
187
Motherboard
Dell 7560 (Clover)
CPU
i7 7500u/100 Series Chipset
Graphics
Intel HD 620 & NVIDIA® GeForce® 940MX (1920x1080)
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
macOS Mojave has made some changes on the way picture is packaged and now it is using a "container" named Assets.car to store some images.
This conteiner can be found navigating with finder to your Applications folder -> Utilities -> System Information application.
You need to Right-click the application and select Show Package Contents.
Make a backup of Assets.car and now we are going to unpack this with cartool. This utility is easily compiled using Xcode, but for those who don't want or don't have time to spend I will put a pre-compiled one here. Unzip it on your desktop, put a copy of Assets.car on your desktop too and make a folder there too where files will be unpacked. I will call this folder Assets.
To unpack just open a terminal windows and navigate to desktop and unpack it with cartool.
Code:
cd ~/desktop
./cartool Assets.car Assets
Now you should have a folder called Assets with 08 png images: AppleCareBox.png, AppleCareBox@2x.png, AppleLogoSmall.png, AppleLogoSmall@2x.png, Completed.png, Completed@2x.png, SystemLogo.png and SystemLogo@2x.png
Now we are going to repack Assets.car with a new System logo image.
Open Xcode and open a new project. Chose macOS and Cocoa App

Cocoa App.png


Click on next, give it a Product Name, Organization Name and Organization Identifier and click on Next and Create.
On the left bar, click on Assets.xcassets. Delete Appicon on the second bar and right-click there creating a new Image Set.
Name it AppleCareBox. Click on it and move the images of AppleCareBox.png to 1X box and AppleCareBox@2x.png to 2X box.
Do the same with AppleLogoSmall, Completed and SystemLogo. Don't forget to change SystemLogo.png and SystemLogo@2x.png with the picture you want to put on About This Mac.

systemlogo.png



Now just click on Product -> Build
On the left Tab click on Product, and Right-Click on you App and on Shown in Finder.
Right Click on you APP, and on Show Package Contents - Contents - Resources
Now you have your new Assets.car that you need do copy over original Assets.cat on System Information app.
That is it!

aboutthismac.png
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 14, 2017
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z270i Gaming
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I did manage to follow Defrag's description, but the original Assets.car file is 3.6MB and the xcode generated is only 1.4MB, so something is missing.
This is what I ended up doing :
Install ThemeEngine from https://github.com/alexzielenski/ThemeEngine/releases
cd /Applications/Utilities/System\ Information.app/Contents/Resources/
cp Assets.car Assets_org.car
cp Assets.car to ~/Downloads
Open ~/Downloads/Assets.car with ThemeEngine
Replace the SystemLogo image by dragging a new image over, and save
su
cp /Users/<your login>/Downloads/Assets.car .

The Assets.car file is the same size as the original and works.
Screen Shot 2018-09-29 at 11.13.14 am.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
24
Motherboard
GA-Z370N
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
The reason for the smaller size in the Assets.car at the 1st post is actually there are 4 files:

SystemLogo-Skyglow.png
SystemLogo-Skyglow@2x.png
SystemLogo.png
SystemLogo@2x.png

The skyglow version is for the dark theme and the original for the light theme.

See the attached screenshots

About_This_Mac_Dark.jpg
About_This_Mac_Light.jpg
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
111
Motherboard
MSI Z170m Mortar
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
RX 560 PULSE 4GB
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I did manage to follow Defrag's description, but the original Assets.car file...
I just followed your steps, it worked.
But, ummmm...
When I try to do it again, can't copy, remove, even change ownership.
Actually all the system apps are locked.
basically nothing I can do, always shows 'Operation not permitted'
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
111
Motherboard
MSI Z170m Mortar
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
RX 560 PULSE 4GB
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Will this issue affected by SIP setting?
YES!
I've just changed from 0x67 to 0x01 few days ago.
So if you guys try to do these procedure, you must change SIP setting first.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
24
Motherboard
GA-Z370N
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Will this issue affected by SIP setting?
YES!
I've just changed from 0x67 to 0x01 few days ago.
So if you guys try to do these procedure, you must change SIP setting first.
Hi, correct you need to have root / super user permissions to make changes to those folders / files.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
111
Motherboard
MSI Z170m Mortar
CPU
i5-7500
Graphics
RX 560 PULSE 4GB
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, correct you need to have root / super user permissions to make changes to those folders / files.
But I used sudo, the result was still the same.
When I changed SIP setting back from 0x01 to 0x67, everything works.

By the way, do you guys know how to edit graphic card model in this section?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2012
Messages
233
Motherboard
Asus RoG Strix Gaming z370e
CPU
i5 8600k 3.6Ghz
Graphics
RX 580 8GB
Thanks

Duly Roggulated!!!

385465
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 13, 2015
Messages
62
Motherboard
ASUS VivoBook S15 S530Fn
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620 + GeForce MX150 [1920x1080]
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I tried to follow the Post's description. Didn't work at all. I always ended up getting stuck in Terminal with this error
Captura de ecrã 2019-05-19, às 10.40.31.png

So, I followed @Fatbike 's work [Post #2]. And it worked like a charm
Captura de ecrã 2019-05-19, às 11.04.18.png

Now I only have to change the Mac Name and the CPU Info :clap:
 
Last edited:
Top