Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
9
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 5060
CPU
I5 8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Ok, I couldn't use hackintool to generate a patch for this issue, so I edit Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Elite and Coffee Lake CPU config from the first post and modify its values with clover configurator.

Thanks to CaseySJ in this post :

Here is the patch for Gigabyte Z390 UD that worked for me:

Index 3, Bus ID=0x04, Type=HDMI
PlatformID = 0x3E9B0007
DeviceID = 0x3E9B
XML:
        <key>Properties</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                PpsABw==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                PpsAAA==
                </data>
                <key>enable-hdmi20</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>
                BAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>
                AwAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>
                /////w==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>
                /////w==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
            </dict>
        </dict>

pls you can provide me your EFI folder? I have the same Motherboard but I can't fix
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
<< need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
i5 << need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Graphics
GT 650M
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys, I've been working past several days on friend's new Hackintosh and still having issues with UHD 630 using Clover on Gigabyte B360N WIFI, as Catalina 15.5 still shows 7MB even though the framebuffer got loaded. I‘ve tried multiple platform IDs.

The motherboard is also mentioned in the first post - I'd tried to use the code but it booted into black screen ("no signal"). Therefore I used the code but changed platform ID and device ID (when deleted, the machine does not boot either) for UHD 630 ones.

Can you please help me?

HW is following:
Motherboard: Gigabyte B360N WIFI
CPU: CPU Intel Core i5-9400 (2,9 GHz, 9MB, LGA 1151), Coffee Lake Refresh
Memory: Kingston 2x8GB DDR4 2666MHz CL13 (HX426C13PB3K2/16) HyperX Predator
SSD Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB, M.2 - 2280
HDMI-connected LCD display

BIOS is all set. Attached is EFI folder, working config.plist (with 7MB issue), and not working config (based on platform and device id in this topic).

Thank you in advance!
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    4.9 MB · Views: 19
  • config not working - based on deviceid on tonymacx.plist
    7.9 KB · Views: 12
  • config.plist
    8 KB · Views: 19
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,276
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
I7-9700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
HW is following:
Motherboard: Gigabyte B360N WIFI
CPU: CPU Intel Core i5-9400 (2,9 GHz, 9MB, LGA 1151), Coffee Lake Refresh
Memory: Kingston 2x8GB DDR4 2666MHz CL13 (HX426C13PB3K2/16) HyperX Predator
SSD Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB, M.2 - 2280
HDMI-connected LCD display

BIOS is all set. Attached is EFI folder, working config.plist (with 7MB issue), and not working config (based on platform and device id in this topic).

Just a couple of observations:
  • Your device-id is wrong in your EFI/config.plist. Do not include 8086 in the device-id. Your CPU device-id is 0x3e98/92, which I think means that you can try both 0x3e92 and 0x3e98 (reverse byte order 0x923e0000 and 0x983e0000)
  • After you fix your device-id, try other ig-platform-ids (see what I experimented with here)
  • Remove NullCPUPowerManagement.kext (unless you can explain why you're using it) and enable PluginType in config.plist
  • Replace IntelMausiEthernet.kext with IntelMausi.kext here
  • You have no ACPI->DSDT fixes enabled in config.plist and no EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched. I suspect your motherboard needs some ACPI patches/fixes
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-F GAMING
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
2080ti
Is it possible to get HDMI working on UHD 630 IGPU on Asus Strix Z390-F,E,I and Catalina? Using OpenCore.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,890
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Next versions of Lilu and WhateverGreen should restore HDMI output capability in Catalina **


HDMI output capability stopped working with recent releases of Lilu/WhateverGreen. The upcoming next versions of these kexts are expected to fix the problem.

Pre-release versions of these kexts were compiled by @RockArtist and are available for download here:

 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2019
Messages
136
Motherboard
Eglobal S200
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Next versions of Lilu and WhateverGreen should restore HDMI output capability in Catalina **


HDMI output capability stopped working with recent releases of macOS Catalina. The upcoming next versions of Lilu and WhateverGreen are expected to fix the problem.
I really don’t get what was broken, since my setup with two monitors mDP and HDMI works on UHD 630 with Catalina 10.15.6
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-F GAMING
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
2080ti
You are an absolute legend! I recently upgraded my mobo / CPU from an MSI Z77 + 3570K to a ASUS ROG Strix-F Z390 + 9700K. I have a 980Ti but it was becoming a pain in the ass to get the web drivers working after switching motherboards, so I upgraded to Mojave and was trying to get dual displays working with the UHD 630 but had the black screen issue through HDMI.

After multiple trial and error attempts, I saw this post later in the thread. The 'Condition 2' solution worked perfectly - I switched index 1 (DP) to 0x05, and then the HDMI port at index 2 to 0x02. The DP was originally set to 0x02 and this is probably why when I plugged in HDMI while the DP was also plugged in, the second monitor wouldn't light up at all. I also used the WhateverGreen boot argument agdpmod=vit9696 as I'd seen this elsewhere to help with multiple monitors.
Does this still work for you on Catalina? Cause for me it doesn't.

EDIT: it works, with some areobatics which don't really make up for a good user experience.
I'm on Catalina 1.15.6 with Asus Strix Z390-F in iGPU only mode (UHD 630), with the beta WhateverGreen and Lilu kexts compiled by @RockArtist and the patches used by @Blue_Ocean posted in my quote.

Using DP+HDMI:
- if I boot the display connected to HDMI is black and after a while the one connected to DP starts glitching. If I reconnect the HDMI cable, its display turns on, the glitching stop and everything seems stable.
- if I boot with HDMI disconnected, display connected to DP starts glitching and if I connect the HDMI cable everything starts working.
- when macOS automatically turns off the display after a while, I lose HDMI completely and I need to reboot.
- it takes forever to go into sleep mode and when it wakes up, the fans starts spinning and the computer actually wakes up but there's no DP signal. (this also happens with stable WG,Lilu kexts and without the iGPU patches to add HDMI)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
448
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

I believe I figured out the Framebuffer patch for the Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X motherboard and Coffee Lake CPU. It has a single HDMI port. The breakthrough was the debug versions of Lilu and WEG that you posted on July 24. Before that I wasn't getting a signal out of the HDMI port.

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>DeviceProperties</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Add</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,31,3</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-2</string>
                <key>layout-id</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Cannon Lake PCH cAVS</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                BwCbPg==
                </data>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                mz4AAA==
                </data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>VGA compatible controller</string>
                <key>enable-hdmi20</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>
                AgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>
                BAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-1</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Mobile)</string>
            </dict>
        </dict>
    </dict>
</dict>
</plist>

Screen Shot 2020-07-28 at 6.45.20 AM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 30, 2020
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X
CPU
i5-9600k
Graphics
MSI RX Vega 64 Air Boost OC | Intel UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Can you help me to patch Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X with Intel UHD 630?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
22,063
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can you help me to patch Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X with Intel UHD 630?
read post 1, also read up on:
 
Top