Contribute
Register

[Guide] Dell XPS 13 9360 on MacOS Sierra 10.12.x - LTS (Long-Term Support) Guide

Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9360
CPU
Intel i7-7500U
Graphics
Intel Graphics HD 620 / QHD Screen
AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext not expected to load for systems using XCPM.
For your hardware, you have the expected result regarding 'kextstat|grep -y appleintelcpu'.
I don't have the -xcpm flag in my clover config, should I enable it?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Messages
21
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9360 (clover)
CPU
Intel i7-8550U
Graphics
Intel® UHD 620 QHD+
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
I am using VoodooHDA v2.8.9.kext, it works well.
Thank you! Now it is working, just need to solve the battery drain issue
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,989
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I managed to run as well on my external HDD (NVMe causes a lot of problems...). Same as you, I cannot get the Graphics to run.

When I use an invalid ig-platform-id, it boots with error like "IGPU driver cannot be run" or something like that.
In "About Mac", it shows "Intel HD Graphics 620 7MB"

When I use a valid ig-platform-id i.e. 0x59160000 and use the patch here https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...lensize-patch-with-32mb-dvmt-prealloc.221506/, the kernel panics.
Correct DVMT-prealloc 32mb patch (for KBL) is available from my guide plists:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,989
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I don't have the -xcpm flag in my clover config, should I enable it?
XCPM is automatically enabled for Haswell and later.
The -xcpm kernel flag (used only for Ivy Bridge) was removed in Sierra and later.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,989
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you guys for your fantastic job.
I just managed to install High Sierra 10.13 on my laptop XPS 13 9360 (BIOS 2.5.0) using Unibeast, everything works fine now except some display issues, screen flicker/blink in login window, slow action in launchpad and blank page in Chrome(works better in Safari).
I have some screenshots for your guys reference, any idea what is the problem? graphic card driver issue?
Thanks a lot.
Your config.plist is using an invalid FakeID (0x12345678).
You should not expect working graphics when using an invalid FakeID.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus Z270-A
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Graphics
Asus GTX 1060 6G
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Your config.plist is using an invalid FakeID (0x12345678).
You should not expect working graphics when using an invalid FakeID.
oops..it looks like I uploaded the wrong config file.
I am using the config file of "config_HD615_620_630_640_650.plist" from your below link as I am running 10.13.
https://github.com/RehabMan/OS-X-Clover-Laptop-Config
however my laptop keep rebooting during loading bar screen, once I revised the FakeID to the invalid one, it boots up.
no idea which FakeID should I use...
could you do me a favor, show me what is wrong? thanks a lot.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
30
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9360 - Clover UEFI
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620 @ 1920*1080
Mobile Phone
Android
Correct DVMT-prealloc 32mb patch (for KBL) is available from my guide plists:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
Update:
Now graphics working, thanks RehabMan!

Audio not working (SysPref -> VoodooHDA -> No VoodooHDA Devices Detected)

Brightness not working (No control in Syspref -> Displays)
- If I install IntelBacklight.kext, kext hault occurs and says PNLF, but I already included SSDT-PNLF.aml inside ACPI/patched

Ethernet not working (I use my USB-C to RJ-45 adapter with 3 USB 3.0 Hub):
- Device can be shown in SysPref -> Network
- Hub is working and fully functional
- DHCP not working, and (or therefore) my router cannot detect it

One more (simple) question: The system is now installed on external HDD, can I clone it to my NVMe drive?

Thanks a lot!
(Clover.zip same as previous post)
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus Z270-A
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Graphics
Asus GTX 1060 6G
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Update:
Now graphics working, thanks RehabMan!

Audio not working (SysPref -> VoodooHDA -> No VoodooHDA Devices Detected)

Brightness not working (No control in Syspref -> Displays)
- If I install IntelBacklight.kext, kext hault occurs and says PNLF, but I already included SSDT-PNLF.aml inside ACPI/patched

Ethernet not working (I use my USB-C to RJ-45 adapter with 3 USB 3.0 Hub):
- Device can be shown in SysPref -> Network
- Hub is working and fully functional
- DHCP not working, and (or therefore) my router cannot detect it

One more (simple) question: The system is now installed on external HDD, can I clone it to my NVMe drive?

Thanks a lot!
(Clover.zip same as previous post)
Good for you, still don’t know how to make my graphic working...
Why external disk, do you have a liteon nvme ssd?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
30
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9360 - Clover UEFI
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620 @ 1920*1080
Mobile Phone
Android
Good for you, still don’t know how to make my graphic working...
Why external disk, do you have a liteon nvme ssd?
I have the original Toshiba one.

The installer gave me error when it tried to create recovery partition (no idea why)
It gave me "Unknown error: -110". Maybe the error occurs when I install HS after Windows partition...

I tried to install on my clean external and it ran just fine.
I plan to clone my existing working HS to my NVMe to see whether it works or not.

For the graphics, I just use the config from RehabMan almost directly (just few minor edits).
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2011
Messages
180
Motherboard
Dell XPS 13 9360/(Clover v.4411)
CPU
Intel Skylake i7-7500U 2.70GHz (Kaby Lake)
Graphics
Intel Iris 620 3200 x 1800
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@the-darkvoid @bozma88 I think we need a new guide created in the HS guides because this one is now getting overrun by HS questions and problems that Sierra doesn’t have. More confusion will happen.
 
Top