Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
894
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You are absolutely right!! The trick is to simply set device-id to F3158680 (or 15F3 8086 in standard byte order). Even though the device ID is already 15F3, apparently this is not sufficient to invoke the correct driver. We need to change the device ID to 15F3 8086, but this has to be specified in reverse byte order: F315 8680.

Then we can disable FakePCIID (screenshot #2).

View attachment 521504View attachment 521505
And voilà:
View attachment 521507
I'll make this change in the OpenCore 0.7.1 release next month. Meanwhile, anyone running Big Sur is welcome to make the change manually (this is optional, however).
What version of Big Sur?
 
  • Like
Reactions: JDL
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
469
Motherboard
Asus Z490 Prime A
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
VEGA VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Casey!

Another little trouble of mine: as you can see from the pic attached, I have one disk on the SATA internal chain (Intel Z490 indeed!) which returns randomly the error of not correctly ejected disk. This disk is NTFS formatted, and I use Tuxera to write onto it. It's not the only one to be NTFS formatted.

It's a very old WDC Green 3TB disk.

I changed the SATA port but nothing changed. I changed all the SATA cables, but nothing changed. All the (4) SATA disks are correctly displayed as internal. All the SATA ports are without any electrical sharing with other devices.

Normally this never occurs during short sleeps, but only when, for example, I copy a large amount of TBs from other disk (this one has been never involved in copying/moving activities) to/from NAS. Then I let the computer go all night long for completion of this huge copying process. When I return in the morning, I got this error.

No other SATA disks on the chain present this error.

Any thought? Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • signal-2021-06-12-103630.jpeg
    signal-2021-06-12-103630.jpeg
    236.9 KB · Views: 12

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,477
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ
Big Sur installed ok, no issues on install.
But I noticed that the:
F_USB1 is still active and feed the Titan Ridge card, so far, so good, but....
F_USB2 internal USB 2.0 port is no longer active, this one was feeding the Front USB 2.0, but not anymore.
Any tips?
Thanks again.
Both of the internal USB headers are managed by a single USB 2 hub at HS02 on the Vision G. So if F_USB1 is active, it means F_USB2 is also active. They are “logically” the same port (HS02).

Please check connections. Also feel free to connect a USB device to the second port (to a port on the front of the computer) and post a screenshot of IORegistryExplorer —> XHC section (do not use the search field in IORegistryExplorer).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,477
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

it's a very old WDC Green 3TB disk.
The moment you said this, my thoughts turned to the possibility of a malfunctioning drive. If this is the only drive that fails during a long file transfer operation, it would be good to replace it (even with a temporary drive) to see if indeed the old drive is faulty.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
469
Motherboard
Asus Z490 Prime A
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
VEGA VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, it's very old... more than 5 years but to be honest I have gotten no errors during copying ... and it's never involved in these intense copy operations of my last days (just because I bought a new 8TB and I'm transferring lots of stuff on it)... the problem is that... this old WDC green doesn't come out of sleep correctly... and I cannot understand why...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,477
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, it's very old... more than 5 years but to be honest I have gotten no errors during copying ... and it's never involved in these intense copy operations of my last days (just because I bought a new 8TB and I'm transferring lots of stuff on it)... the problem is that... this old WDC green doesn't come out of sleep correctly... and I cannot understand why...
Is this a wake-from-sleep issue? In other words, when a large file transfer operation is taking place, the computer should not go to sleep in the middle of it. If it does, try disabling sleep from System Preferences —> Energy Saver and repeat the file transfer operation.

Also, if you have Windows or Linux on this machine, try the same large file-transfer operation there if you suspect it’s a macOS issue.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
469
Motherboard
Asus Z490 Prime A
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
VEGA VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is this a wake-from-sleep issue? In other words, when a large file transfer operation is taking place, the computer should not go to sleep in the middle of it. If it does, try disabling sleep from System Preferences —> Energy Saver and repeat the file transfer operation.

Also, if you have Windows or Linux on this machine, try the same large file-transfer operation there if you suspect it’s a macOS issue.
It takes place afterwards. The computer doesn’t go to sleep during the copy operation… but then after copying it goes to sleep till the morning… and when I wake it up in the morning I got that error.

in System Preferences ->Energy Saver I have everything disabled but the “put the disk to sleep whenever possible” option which is enabled.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Vision G
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
Radeon R9 280X
Both of the internal USB headers are managed by a single USB 2 hub at HS02 on the Vision G. So if F_USB1 is active, it means F_USB2 is also active. They are “logically” the same port (HS02).

Please check connections. Also feel free to connect a USB device to the second port (to a port on the front of the computer) and post a screenshot of IORegistryExplorer —> XHC section (do not use the search field in IORegistryExplorer).
Hi @CaseySJ

I have noticed that Big Sur 11.4 has some USB issues, so what I did was a mapping of them and now everything is back to normal, including the HS02 haha.

Thanks!!!

PS: Do you know if the Gigabyte Titan Ridge Rev1 really need the internal USB 2.0 cable to work with UAD stuff?
 
Top