Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
101
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
AMD RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ - One more question...is there a way within OpenCore to see what physical storage device hosts a particular logical volume. When I did my first OpenCore boot from the USB volume, it's showing me an EFI drive alongside the icons for my macOS, macOS backup, and Windows NVMe deployments and the USB installer itself. I just can't tell where this rogue EFI volume physically lives..
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
173
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
Sapphire RX6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ - One more question...is there a way within OpenCore to see what physical storage device hosts a particular logical volume. When I did my first OpenCore boot from the USB volume, it's showing me an EFI drive alongside the icons for my macOS, macOS backup, and Windows NVMe deployments and the USB installer itself. I just can't tell where this rogue EFI volume physically lives..
If it’s anything like mine, the EFI partition will be from your macOS backup.

The quickest way to tell would be to shut down, unplug a drive and then reboot see what is missing from the picker. Rinse and repeat until you find the culprit!
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,816
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thunderbolt is disabled. Please double-check BIOS settings according to Post #1.

Screen Shot 2020-11-20 at 4.10.41 PM.png
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2014
Messages
73
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7 10900K
Graphics
Vega VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
27
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD4H
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
GeForce GTX 660 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thunderbolt is disabled. Please double-check BIOS settings according to Post #1.

View attachment 497440

Thunderbolt is disabled. Please double-check BIOS settings according to Post #1.

View attachment 497440

OK I thought I went through that before, so I checked and here is what I found. If I load the optimized defaults and same them unchanged as hack-1, everything is fine. If I make the recommended changes on page 1 to the optimized defaults, when it reboot it takes awhile, powers off then on, and it does boot but if I stop the boot process via F12 I get a error message about Boot failure detected, load optimized defaults. I guess that is why thunderboalt is disabled.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,816
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK I thought I went through that before, so I checked and here is what I found. If I load the optimized defaults and same them unchanged as hack-1, everything is fine. If I make the recommended changes on page 1 to the optimized defaults, when it reboot it takes awhile, powers off then on, and it does boot but if I stop the boot process via F12 I get a error message about Boot failure detected, load optimized defaults. I guess that is why thunderboalt is disabled.
We must Load Optimized Defaults and configure the remaining BIOS parameters according to Post 1. The longer boot process is 100% normal. The power off / power on is 100% normal. Pressing F12, however, should not report a boot failure. Let’s download and install the latest BIOS from Gigabyte’s website. A FAT32 formatted USB flash disk is needed for this.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,816
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Oct 1, 2020
Messages
43
Motherboard
Asrock Z490I Phantom Gaming Ac/Tb3
CPU
10600K
Graphics
RX5700 XT
@CaseySJ switched to iMac20,2 and did a clean install. SO far everything is okay and the iGPU is working fine, I can see it being used when I do screen recording for example.
One thing i noticed is on iStats, now it only shows 4 cores. But activity monitor shows 10 cores and 20 threads.

I have a 10900K. But with the iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS, iStats showed 10 cores instead of 4...

Screenshot 2020-11-21 at 12.04.47.png

Screenshot 2020-11-21 at 12.04.59.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
15,816
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ switched to iMac20,2 and did a clean install. SO far everything is okay and the iGPU is working fine, I can see it being used when I do screen recording for example.
One thing i noticed is on iStats, now it only shows 4 cores. But activity monitor shows 10 cores and 20 threads.

I have a 10900K. But with the iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS, iStats showed 10 cores instead of 4...

View attachment 497499
View attachment 497498
Please install Intel Power Gadget for Mac and then check iStat Menus again.
 
Top