Gigabyte GeForce GTX 650
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey people, I'm almost decided to get the EVGA GeForce 640 for my first Hackintosh I'm building.
Would be nice if you could help me with some simple questions. I'm with a Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH

As this is my first time building a hackintosh my priority is to get an ease & very compatible graphic card.

Is it fully compatible with hackintosh?
Is it easy to be configured?
Do you think EVGA is the most compatible in my case?

Thank you!

Hey people, I'm almost decided to get the EVGA GeForce 640 for my first Hackintosh I'm building.
Would be nice if you could help me with some simple questions. I'm with a Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH

As this is my first time building a hackintosh my priority is to get an ease & very compatible graphic card.

Is it fully compatible with hackintosh?
Is it easy to be configured?
Do you think EVGA is the most compatible in my case?

Thank you!

The 640 is natively supported, its plug and play. All you have to do is set graphics enabler to no. Since its a relatively small gpu, they would all fit just fine in any standard case. Personally I would spend like $20 more and get a GTX 650, it has much more power and much faster memory.

Thanks for the reply!

I'm brazilian so prices are very different here.
What I found is a ZOTAC Geforce GTX 650 1gb.
Will that be better and more compatible than EVGA Geforce GT 640 2gb?

Zotac 650 has 1gb of DDR5 so I assume it is much better than 640's 2gb DDR. Right?

Zotac 650 has 1gb of DDR5 so I assume it is much better than 640's 2gb DDR. Right?

It's just faster, DDR3 is slow. DDR5 can transfer data twice as fast as DDR3 with the same memory bus width. You will probably never utilize the 2gb's anyways, I would pick the 650 1GB any day. Not only is the memory faster, the gpu in the 650 is also a huge step up.

Perfect. I'll go with the 650. Thanks for that!