Contribute
Register

[Fix] Resolve boot screen garble

Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
Acer Aspire v15
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
This patch is for the momentary boot glitch during startup. It has nothing to do with graphics once you reach the login screen.

Your config.plist is wrong.

FakeID/IntelGFX=0x04168086 makes no sense. 0x04168086 is not supported.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-laptop-support/145427-fix-intel-hd4200-hd4400-hd4600-mobile-yosemite.html
what a nightmare...

I was following these directions... what is the correct way to do this? i am booted into OSX now, I just need audio and Q/E working. I didnt think Q/E would be this difficult. It was hard on my q6600 and huge PCI card on my desktop back when I fist got into doing this...this is what I follwed

http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-laptop-guides/160345-guide-dual-boot-windows-yosemite-clover-efi-boot-loader-acer-aspire-v-nitro-vn7-591g.html

Under Devices, look for a key called FakeID, and then under that IntelGFX. You need to change the string value to 0x04168086. Later on, when you install Clover to your HD, you need to go back in and change this to 0x04128086 (if you notice carefully, the DeviceID is 0416 during installation and then 0412 post-installation).
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
what a nightmare...

I was following these directions... what is the correct way to do this? i am booted into OSX now, I just need audio and Q/E working. I didnt think Q/E would be this difficult.
http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-laptop-support/164990-faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.html

http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-laptop-support/145427-fix-intel-hd4200-hd4400-hd4600-mobile-yosemite.html


Under Devices, look for a key called FakeID, and then under that IntelGFX. You need to change the string value to 0x04168086. Later on, when you install Clover to your HD, you need to go back in and change this to 0x04128086 (if you notice carefully, the DeviceID is 0416 during installation and then 0412 post-installation).
Setting it to 0x04168086 will disable QE/CI (the graphics drivers won't load).
0x04128086 is required for CI. FakePCIID+FakePCIID_Intel_HD_Graphics is required for QE.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
Acer Aspire v15
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
933
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
When I boot, Apple Logo and Progress bar loop itself. Looks Like the picture down below. What do you suggest me?

GA-Z87X-UD5H
Intel HD 4600
El Capitan 10.11.3

I also adding my config plist.

Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>ACPI</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>DSDT</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>Debug</key>
    			<false/>
    			<key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
    			<true/>
    			<key>Name</key>
    			<string>DSDT.aml</string>
    			<key>Patches</key>
    			<array>
    				<dict>
    					<key>Comment</key>
    					<string>change _OSI to XOSI</string>
    					<key>Disabled</key>
    					<false/>
    					<key>Find</key>
    					<data>
    					X09TSQ==
    					</data>
    					<key>Replace</key>
    					<data>
    					WE9TSQ==
    					</data>
    				</dict>
    			</array>
    			<key>ReuseFFFF</key>
    			<false/>
    		</dict>
    		<key>DropTables</key>
    		<array>
    			<dict>
    				<key>Signature</key>
    				<string>SSDT</string>
    				<key>TableId</key>
    				<string>CpuPm</string>
    			</dict>
    			<dict>
    				<key>Signature</key>
    				<string>SSDT</string>
    				<key>TableId</key>
    				<string>Cpu0Ist</string>
    			</dict>
    		</array>
    		<key>SSDT</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>DropOem</key>
    			<false/>
    			<key>Generate</key>
    			<false/>
    		</dict>
    	</dict>
    	<key>Boot</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>Arguments</key>
    		<string>kext-dev-mode=1 rootless=0</string>
    		<key>Debug</key>
    		<false/>
    		<key>DefaultLoader</key>
    		<string>boot.efi</string>
    		<key>DefaultVolume</key>
    		<string>LastBootedVolume</string>
    		<key>Legacy</key>
    		<string>PBR</string>
    		<key>Secure</key>
    		<false/>
    		<key>Timeout</key>
    		<integer>2</integer>
    		<key>XMPDetection</key>
    		<string>Yes</string>
    	</dict>
    	<key>Devices</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>Audio</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>Inject</key>
    			<string>1</string>
    		</dict>
    		<key>USB</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>FixOwnership</key>
    			<false/>
    			<key>Inject</key>
    			<false/>
    		</dict>
    	</dict>
    	<key>GUI</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>Language</key>
    		<string>en:0</string>
    		<key>Mouse</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>DoubleClick</key>
    			<integer>500</integer>
    			<key>Enabled</key>
    			<false/>
    			<key>Mirror</key>
    			<false/>
    			<key>Speed</key>
    			<integer>8</integer>
    		</dict>
    		<key>Scan</key>
    		<true/>
    		<key>Theme</key>
    		<string>YosemiteLogin</string>
    	</dict>
    	<key>Graphics</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>Inject</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>ATI</key>
    			<false/>
    			<key>Intel</key>
    			<false/>
    			<key>NVidia</key>
    			<false/>
    		</dict>
    		<key>NvidiaSingle</key>
    		<false/>
    	</dict>
    	<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>AppleRTC</key>
    		<true/>
    		<key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
    		<false/>
    		<key>Debug</key>
    		<false/>
    		<key>KernelCpu</key>
    		<false/>
    		<key>KernelHaswellE</key>
    		<false/>
    		<key>KernelLapic</key>
    		<false/>
    		<key>KernelPm</key>
    		<false/>
    		<key>KextsToPatch</key>
    		<array>
    			<dict>
    				<key>Comment</key>
    				<string>t1-10.11-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC...</string>
    				<key>Disabled</key>
    				<false/>
    				<key>Find</key>
    				<data>
    				gxnUEQ==
    				</data>
    				<key>Name</key>
    				<string>AppleHDA</string>
    				<key>Replace</key>
    				<data>
    				AAAAAA==
    				</data>
    			</dict>
    			<dict>
    				<key>Comment</key>
    				<string>t1-AppleHDA/Resources/xml&gt;zml</string>
    				<key>Disabled</key>
    				<false/>
    				<key>Find</key>
    				<data>
    				eG1sLnps
    				</data>
    				<key>Name</key>
    				<string>AppleHDA</string>
    				<key>Replace</key>
    				<data>
    				em1sLnps
    				</data>
    			</dict>
    			<dict>
    				<key>Comment</key>
    				<string>t1-10.9-10.11-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC898</string>
    				<key>Disabled</key>
    				<false/>
    				<key>Find</key>
    				<data>
    				ixnUEQ==
    				</data>
    				<key>Name</key>
    				<string>AppleHDA</string>
    				<key>Replace</key>
    				<data>
    				mQjsEA==
    				</data>
    			</dict>
    		</array>
    	</dict>
    	<key>RtVariables</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>BooterConfig</key>
    		<string>0x28</string>
    		<key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
    		<string>0x67</string>
    	</dict>
    	<key>SMBIOS</key>
    	<dict>

    	</dict>
    	<key>SystemParameters</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>InjectKexts</key>
    		<string>Yes</string>
    		<key>InjectSystemID</key>
    		<true/>
    	</dict>
    </dict>
    </plist>
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
When I boot, Apple Logo and Progress bar loop itself.
Off-topic.

Desktop questions should be posted to the appropriate desktop forum.

This thread is not something to address until after you have installed.

Note: Your config.plist does not have the patch as described in post #1.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-H87N-WIFI
CPU
Intel Core i3-4330
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
At first I've tried a second patch to my 10.11.3 but it does not affect at all then I've tried to apply a first one instead. Now I got bootloop on a garble screen with circle.
I've tried to boot in safe mode but I can not mount efi there cause msdos fs is not available.
How can I edit my clover plist now? :(

-----

fixed
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,134
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
7
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Quite a lot of people here have a display garble/scramble when Yosemite boots up.
This happens when the progress bar shows and disappears when the desktop displays.

This can be resolved with a Clover EFI patch:

Note that this should only be applied on OS X 10.10, so if you multi-boot with Mavericks add it to your custom entry instead of to the main kext patches.

Code:
<key>KextsToPatch</key>
<array>
    <dict>
        <key>Comment</key>
        <string>Second Stage Patch 1</string>
        <key>Find</key>
        <data>hcB0XUg=</data>
        <key>Name</key>
        <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
        <key>Replace</key>
        <data>McB0W0g=</data>
    </dict>
    <dict>
        <key>Comment</key>
        <string>Second Stage Patch 2</string>
        <key>Find</key>
        <data>QYjE6wM=</data>
        <key>Name</key>
        <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
        <key>Replace</key>
        <data>QYjE6yM=</data>
    </dict>
</array>

sorry but how to use this ??
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
1
Motherboard
osx
CPU
i7
Graphics
gtx
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Quite a lot of people here have a display garble/scramble when Yosemite boots up.
This happens when the progress bar shows and disappears when the desktop displays.

This can be resolved with a Clover EFI patch:

Note that this should only be applied on OS X 10.10, so if you multi-boot with Mavericks add it to your custom entry instead of to the main kext patches.

Code:
<key>KextsToPatch</key>
<array>
    <dict>
        <key>Comment</key>
        <string>Second Stage Patch 1</string>
        <key>Find</key>
        <data>hcB0XUg=</data>
        <key>Name</key>
        <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
        <key>Replace</key>
        <data>McB0W0g=</data>
    </dict>
    <dict>
        <key>Comment</key>
        <string>Second Stage Patch 2</string>
        <key>Find</key>
        <data>QYjE6wM=</data>
        <key>Name</key>
        <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
        <key>Replace</key>
        <data>QYjE6yM=</data>
    </dict>
</array>
For OS X 10.10.2/10.10.3/10.10.4, apply the following patch:
Code:
<dict>
    <key>Comment</key>
    <string>Bootloader Graphics - Second Stage Patch</string>
    <key>Find</key>
    <data>QYjE6xE=</data>
    <key>Name</key>
    <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
    <key>Replace</key>
    <data>QYjE6zE=</data>
</dict>
I found these patches over in the Clover EFI bootloader thread in an attachment, so credit goes to the original author.

For those not using Clover, the patches can be applied to the binary kexts directly like so:

Code:
# Run the following commands in order to patch IOGraphicsFamily to resolve bootup graphics glitches
sudo perl -i.bak -pe 's|\x85\xc0\x74\x5d\x48|\x31\xc0\x74\x5b\x48|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOGraphicsFamily.kext/IOGraphicsFamily
sudo [COLOR=#000000]perl -i -pe[/COLOR] 's|\x41\x88\xc4\xeb\x03|\x41\x88\xc4\xeb\x23|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOGraphicsFamily.kext/IOGraphicsFamily
[COLOR=#000000]sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions[/COLOR]
For OS X 10.10.2/10.10.3/10.10.4:
Code:
# Run the following commands in order to patch IOGraphicsFamily to resolve bootup graphics glitches
sudo perl -i.bak -pe 's|\x41\x88\xC4\xEB\x11|\x41\x88\xC4\xEB\x31|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOGraphicsFamily.kext/IOGraphicsFamily
[COLOR=#000000]sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions[/COLOR]
Wait So how do you install this exactly? sorry I'm a noob to this stuff... :)
 

Top