Contribute
Register

[Fix] Resolve boot screen garble

Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you . I followed your guides. I'm using Yosemite because I don't want to upgrade to El Capitan

This is my problem

fVO8S6A.png

I would like to know what's the specific cause of this?

The only thing I don't have from your guide is my config.plist, it was highly unstable and I removed it (os x became really, really slow when I rebooted)

So I'm using this (it's kind of a mix from your first lenovo y50 guide and your latest one)
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you . I followed your guides. I'm using Yosemite because I don't want to upgrade to El Capitan

This is my problem

fVO8S6A.png

I would like to know what's the specific cause of this?

The only thing I don't have from your guide is my config.plist, it was highly unstable and I removed it (os x became really, really slow when I rebooted)

So I'm using this (it's kind of a mix from your first lenovo y50 guide and your latest one)
The config.plist is wrong. Follow the guide as written.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2013
Messages
25
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
Intel Core i3-3225
Graphics
Intel Onboard Graphics
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Cool. I need to try that!

Would the trick for El Capitan work for a desktop?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Cool. I need to try that!

Would the trick for El Capitan work for a desktop?
The patch here applies to desktops as well as laptops.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
Acer Aspire v15
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Quite a lot of people here have a display garble/scramble when Yosemite boots up.
This happens when the progress bar shows and disappears when the desktop displays.

This can be resolved with a Clover EFI patch:

Note that this should only be applied on OS X 10.10, so if you multi-boot with Mavericks add it to your custom entry instead of to the main kext patches.

Code:
<key>KextsToPatch</key>
<array>
    <dict>
        <key>Comment</key>
        <string>Second Stage Patch 1</string>
        <key>Find</key>
        <data>hcB0XUg=</data>
        <key>Name</key>
        <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
        <key>Replace</key>
        <data>McB0W0g=</data>
    </dict>
    <dict>
        <key>Comment</key>
        <string>Second Stage Patch 2</string>
        <key>Find</key>
        <data>QYjE6wM=</data>
        <key>Name</key>
        <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
        <key>Replace</key>
        <data>QYjE6yM=</data>
    </dict>
</array>
For OS X 10.10.2/10.10.3/10.10.4, apply the following patch:
Code:
<dict>
    <key>Comment</key>
    <string>Bootloader Graphics - Second Stage Patch</string>
    <key>Find</key>
    <data>QYjE6xE=</data>
    <key>Name</key>
    <string>IOGraphicsFamily</string>
    <key>Replace</key>
    <data>QYjE6zE=</data>
</dict>
I found these patches over in the Clover EFI bootloader thread in an attachment, so credit goes to the original author.

For those not using Clover, the patches can be applied to the binary kexts directly like so:

Code:
# Run the following commands in order to patch IOGraphicsFamily to resolve bootup graphics glitches
sudo perl -i.bak -pe 's|\x85\xc0\x74\x5d\x48|\x31\xc0\x74\x5b\x48|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOGraphicsFamily.kext/IOGraphicsFamily
sudo [COLOR=#000000]perl -i -pe[/COLOR] 's|\x41\x88\xc4\xeb\x03|\x41\x88\xc4\xeb\x23|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOGraphicsFamily.kext/IOGraphicsFamily
[COLOR=#000000]sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions[/COLOR]
For OS X 10.10.2/10.10.3/10.10.4:
Code:
# Run the following commands in order to patch IOGraphicsFamily to resolve bootup graphics glitches
sudo perl -i.bak -pe 's|\x41\x88\xC4\xEB\x11|\x41\x88\xC4\xEB\x31|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOGraphicsFamily.kext/IOGraphicsFamily
[COLOR=#000000]sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions[/COLOR]
please excuse me for my ignorance but just HOW do we do this clover edit?

do we edit the config file in the hidden EFI partition that pops up when I run the clover installer?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
Acer Aspire v15
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The patches are already present in the plists used in my guide: http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capitan-laptop-support/148093-guide-booting-os-x-installer-laptops-clover.html

You just have to enable it.
I checked my platform id in my config.plist EFI partition.... its 0x0a260006.

I followed this guide which told me to make sure it was that

http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-laptop-guides/160345-guide-dual-boot-windows-yosemite-clover-efi-boot-loader-acer-aspire-v-nitro-vn7-591g.html

screen is still garbled at start up
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
Acer Aspire v15
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
well its not totally garbled, it flickers for like 2 seconds during the boot and where you log in.

here is my clover folder

http://www.filedropper.com/clover
This patch is for the momentary boot glitch during startup. It has nothing to do with graphics once you reach the login screen.

Your config.plist is wrong.

FakeID/IntelGFX=0x04168086 makes no sense. 0x04168086 is not supported.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-laptop-support/145427-fix-intel-hd4200-hd4400-hd4600-mobile-yosemite.html
 
Top