FAQ for Lion on HP Probook

Discussion in 'HP ProBook 4530s' started by RehabMan, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 16, 2013 at 8:03 PM #11
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    At this point the laptop you are talking about (4530s with Ivy) is a Unicorn. Nobody but you has seen one...
     
  2. sean2e

    sean2e

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Motherboard:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    I5 2300
    Graphics:
    GTX 460 MSI 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Feb 22, 2013 at 12:33 PM #12
    sean2e

    sean2e

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Motherboard:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    I5 2300
    Graphics:
    GTX 460 MSI 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Well this has been handy and thanks for putting up the FAQ, Had i have read it I wouldnt of done so many annoying posts...Is 1333mhz RAM the fastest it can take, no way to get 1600mhz? also I see that 8gb is the max ram.. has anyone had success with getting more to work? I've attached a pic of Wifi card in the one I hope to purchase, I'm almost certain its not compatible but any input would be great.
     

    Attached Files:

    • photo.jpg  (837.2 KB, 166 views)
  3. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 22, 2013 at 2:44 PM #13
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I think some people have installed more than 8GB of 1600Mhz RAM and have gotten it to "work." You should search and see what you find.

    Ralink Wifi is not supported by OS X.
     
  4. sean2e

    sean2e

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Motherboard:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    I5 2300
    Graphics:
    GTX 460 MSI 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Feb 22, 2013 at 11:06 PM #14
    sean2e

    sean2e

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Motherboard:
    Hackintosh
    CPU:
    I5 2300
    Graphics:
    GTX 460 MSI 1GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    512K
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Thanks for getting back to me and I will read through the threads better next time.
     
  5. jahamilton33

    jahamilton33

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    HP Pavilion 3099-se
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    Intel 3000
    Jun 13, 2013 at 9:31 PM #15
    jahamilton33

    jahamilton33

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    HP Pavilion 3099-se
    CPU:
    i5
    Graphics:
    Intel 3000
    Hello, I do understand that if my 4530 has a Realtek wireless card, then I have to replace it. However, can I just buy a USB WIFI Dongle to get WiFi functionality back?

    And if so, then what dongles are compatible with Mac OS Lion/Hackintoshes. As in, which ones are plug and play?
     
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 13, 2013 at 9:55 PM #16
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You can but you must make sure it has OS X Lion/ML drivers. Generally, you'll find that information on the manufacturer site or on the site you're shopping from.

    Note: It is probably just as cheap and as easy to replace the half-mini PCIe WiFi card (you just have to find an AR5B195 w/ HP branding). And I would think there is some benefit to using the WiFi antenna built in to the screen bezel.
     
  7. ramsbod

    ramsbod

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Ideapad Y570 laptop
    CPU:
    i7-2670QM CPU @ 2.2GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 3000 or NVIDIA® GeForce® 555M 1GB graphics
    Aug 9, 2013 at 11:47 AM #17
    ramsbod

    ramsbod

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo Ideapad Y570 laptop
    CPU:
    i7-2670QM CPU @ 2.2GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel® HD Graphics 3000 or NVIDIA® GeForce® 555M 1GB graphics
    I bought a USB wifi card but when I go to the Apple App store to buy ML it says an unknown error has occurred. Has anyone found a way around this? If not how do I upgrade to ML?
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 9, 2013 at 2:37 PM #18
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    With a Probook?
     
  9. bujuman

    bujuman

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Oct 4, 2013 at 8:49 AM #19
    bujuman

    bujuman

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Hello all,

    I consider myself a lucky man discovering this Tony Forum.
    Year ago , i've already run a dual boot Macbook(ubuntu/osx) and was happy for the result.
    But this guys, this, is a great work . Thanks.
    I thing i'm in the right place of the forum, could you please tell me if HP ProBook 4540s Notebook will be supported.
    Any advices will be apreciated.....

    Regards
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2013 at 2:55 PM #20
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,423
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Not on Lion. The 4540s is completely supported with Mountain Lion. See the ML probook forum: http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook/
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice