FAQ for Lion on HP Probook

Discussion in 'HP ProBook 4530s' started by RehabMan, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,561
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 26, 2012 at 4:23 AM #1
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,561
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Note: If you have additional questions with answers you'd like to see placed here, respond to this thread and I will add it to the FAQ and delete your post.


    What laptops are supported?

    Any Sandy Bridge HP Probook 4230s, or 4330s, 4430s, 4530s, or 4730s. For WiFi functionality you should have an Atheros 9285. The other two WiFi setups that can come with the Probook (Ralink, Realtek) are not supported. Some people have had some luck getting 4x40 series working, although it is going to require some hunting around the forums for appropriate DSDT patches.


    Can I use one of the above laptops with a different wifi card than the Atheros 9285?

    Yes. However, it is not supported (your WiFi will not work). It is recommended that you replace your card with an Atheros 9285 card compatible with the Probook. Note that the HP BIOS implements a "whitelist" so you must purchase one that passes this whitelist. Getting a card from a source other than HP (ebay, etc) is tricky, so be prepared to do your research about returns, or order directly from HP.

    BigDonkey provides the following additional information:

    Part number for
    Atheros AR9002WB-1NGB 802.11b/g/n 1x1 WiFi and Bluetooth 2.1+EDR Combo Adapter 593127-001

    If someone wants to use 300Mbps WiFi only card BCM94322HM8Lwhich is supported natively by OSX and don't mind "702 error" and extra steps, part number is 504664-001 more details here:
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-proboo...eneral-our-wifi-whitelisting-days-0v3r-6.html


    Can I use one of the above laptops with a Radeon 6470m or 6490m?

    Yes, but it will have to be disabled in BIOS before the install as OS X will not support it. After you install one of the DSDT's, you can reenable it for use in Windows.


    Can I use one of the above laptops with a different CPU than Sandy Bridge?

    No. We use the HD 3000 for graphics, which is only in the Sandy Bridge CPU's. However, the model that contains the other CPU supports upgrading, so you can just upgrade your CPU to a Sandy Bridge one and it should work.


    What exactly works, and what doesn't?

    Everything works except for a few things:
    - Bluetooth works, but is a little sketchy with specific devices. If you absolutely need BT, consider getting a USB unit from a third party.

    - The trackpad doesn't have full gestures, just two finger scrolling, and two finger tap. However, no hackintosh laptops have full gestures. This area is being developed by RehabMan, so there may be improvements in the future.

    - VGA is finicky. It works with some devices and not with others. In addition, Mountain Lion has hidden the "Detect Displays" button in Display Preferences. To use VGA and enable it, hold down the Alt(command) key in Display Preferences and the button will appear.

    - The Camera is finicky and doesn't work well with certain applications.

    - External mic does not work.

    - Brightness for built-in screen has a few problems. Upon cold boot, only a few brightness levels can be selected. After a display sleep, more levels can be selected but not the full range available under Windows. Some people claim that even the lowest level is too bright for working in the dark.

    - USB3 is very unreliable.


    What versions of OS X are supported?

    10.6.8, 10.7.0 thru 10.7.5. Also 10.8.0 thru 10.8.2. Please note that the ProBook Installer package has not been updated for 10.7.5 or 10.8.2, so there are additional installation steps to take after using the Installer for these versions.


    How do I install Lion?

    Follow guide here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook-4530s/77494-guide-installing-lion-hp-probook.html


    My screen is black when I boot on battery, how do I fix that?

    I don't think this happens on Mountain Lion, so if this really bugs you I would recommend a Mountain Lion upgrade.

    You can turn it up by hitting Fn+F3. Or just F3 if you have the latest VoodooPS2Controller.

    On boot, if you hit Esc, it will enter BIOS. Here, turn it up with Fn+F3, and then save the settings with F10 (I believe), and it will permanently eliminate this problem.


    Only the first four levels of my brightness work. How can I enable the rest?

    After your computer sleeps, you may notice it begins working. The best way to fix this is to set a hot corner to sleep your display. On boot, just knock your mouse up there, and you're good to go!


    I have wifi drops or wifi doesn't work, what should I do?

    You HAVE to have the Atheros 9285 for support from us. If you have it and it doesn't work, there are a few things that may need done.

    Another thing which commonly fixes it is to go into system preferences and delete all the network items from the network area. Then add back ethernet and wifi and try again.

    Also, you can try hitting the wifi button. Be patient as you turn it on and off. Give it time to respond. Also make sure it works in Windows or Linux. It is possible you may have turned it off accidentally in BIOS.


    When I turn on the laptop, it gives me a message that I need to connect my keyboard and mouse. How do I get that to stop?

    Hit Alt+Windows logo+Esc and then force quit It. Then go to System Preferences/Bluetooth/Advanced and uncheck the top two options.


    What is the boot:0 error I am receiving?

    It means you have a 4K/AF (advanced format) sector drive. You need to follow this guide to fix that: http://www.tonymacx86.com/25-boot0-error-official-guide.html


    How can I update from a previous version of the installer?

    Simply download the latest one, and reselect the options which apply to you.


    I just screwed up something... how can I try to get back in since it won't boot?

    First of all, you should always keep your Unibeast USB stick you used to install Mountain Lion. This USB can be used to do a variety of recovery tasks, and you can sometimes use it to boot a broken install.


    What BIOS settings do I need to have?

    - Basically, set everything to default.
    - If you have the other card other than the HD3000, disable it in BIOS.
    - Make sure you have the Hard Drive in AHCI mode.


    I have graphics glitches. What can I do for those?

    Install "Graphics Glitch Fix"/SMCpingDaemon from the HP ProBook Installer. That should reduce, if not eliminate, most of the graphic glitches you see.


    My laptop has the problem if I restart Mountain Lion, it always boots into PXE Network Boot. How do I get into ML?

    Enter BIOS
    System Configuration/Built-In Device Options

    Make sure "Wake on LAN" is set to Disabled or at least Follow Boot Order

    (Answered by BigDonkey)


    What is the battery life on OS X?

    The battery life comes in at around 3 hours or so. Of course, this depends dramatically on what you are doing with your laptop, and the specific hardware configuration you have.


    My Probook appears to be booting slow. Is there anything I can do?

    This may related to using a DSDT which is not based on your own. You should try patching your own DSDT. See this guide written by RehabMan: http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook/70490-hp-probook-4x30s-4330-4430-4530-4730-patches-updated.html


    Is it possible to dual-boot Windows and OS X?

    See this multi-boot guide written by RehabMan: http://racerrehabman.wordpress.com/...indows-8-mac-os-x-lion-and-ubuntu-multi-boot/


    I've messed around with my partitions and now Chimera doesn't "see" OS X and/or Windows partition. What can I do?

    You have probably damaged your hybrid MBR partition table and now need to rebuild it. To do this follow the instructions for using 'gptsync' under Linux available in RehabMan's multi-boot guide: http://racerrehabman.wordpress.com/...indows-8-mac-os-x-lion-and-ubuntu-multi-boot/


    My DVD is not recognized. What can I do?

    See if this thread helps you: http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook-4530s/71939-4530s-xou15t-dvd-not-recognized.html#post448469


    My CPU shows as 800 Mhz in About This Mac. Is there a fix?

    First of all this is purely cosmetic. But here is the fix: http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-proboo...0s-i5-cpu-only-running-800mhz.html#post433524


    My battery status sometimes shows "Not Charging" even with power adapter plugged in. Why?

    You must allow the battery to discharge to approximately under 90% before the system will start charging the battery again. This is done to reduce cycles and lengthen the overall life of your battery.


    I have a non-US keyboard and certain keys are not mapped correctly. How to fix?

    You can use a program called Ukelele to create a custom keymap. It is available here: http://scripts.sil.org/cms/scripts/page.php?site_id=nrsi&id=ukelele

    philip_petev provides this nice guide for swapping a couple of keys on the Italian keyboard:

    *** Credit to blueking for authoring the original version of the Probook FAQ, which I have borrowed from.
     
  2. lunar7

    lunar7

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Motherboard:
    ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310
    Graphics:
    Integrated
    Oct 30, 2012 at 4:16 AM #2
    lunar7

    lunar7

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Motherboard:
    ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310
    Graphics:
    Integrated
    I've just realized a major point of confusion regarding the correct Wi-Fi card for the 4530s that myself and many others have seemingly fell victim to.

    The part number listed in this FAQ is actually for a
    Atheros AR9002WB-1NGB 802.11b/g/n 1x1 WiFi and Bluetooth 2.1+EDR Combo Adapter

    See: http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Hardwa...eros-WLAN-card-for-Probook-4530s/td-p/1977231
    and http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c03054480/c03054480.pdf
    on page 22.

    Many people including myself incorrectly believed that the correct card to get is actually
    HP Atheros AR5B195 Probook 4530s Wireless Wifi N BT bluetooth Card 592775-001

    This seems to be the card that is accepted by the 4530s but has a wide variety of potential problems. Sure enough it is not listed in the manual above as a compatible card.

    Hopefully this post helps prevent others from falling into the same trap.
     
  3. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,561
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 30, 2012 at 5:01 AM #3
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,561
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for posting that! I have updated the FAQ. Part number was correct, but as you state, part name was wrong.
     
  4. BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Oct 30, 2012 at 7:31 AM #4
    BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    They are pretty much the same, just numbers are used for different reasons.

    AR9002WB-1NGB is used to indicate two chips AR9285(radio)+AR3011(bluetooth)
    WB195 is the reference design for the OEM's
    http://www.qca.qualcomm.com/media/product/product_75_file1.pdf

    PPD-AR5B195 is used as FCC ID
    HP PN is 592775-001
    Spares HP PN: 593127-001

    Correct card should have following Vendor Product IDs /Subsystem Vendor Product IDs in order to pass the whitelist:
    168C:002B 103C:1461

    which can be verified in Windows(DeviceManager) or linux (lspci)
     
  5. lunar7

    lunar7

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Motherboard:
    ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310
    Graphics:
    Integrated
    Nov 13, 2012 at 5:08 AM #5
    lunar7

    lunar7

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Motherboard:
    ProBook 4530s
    CPU:
    i3 2310
    Graphics:
    Integrated
    Ok then maybe my words of warning should be about buying used WiFi chips off vendors in US or China! Many of us have had problems with intermittent disconnections etc. Better to buy the new part from HP (in which case, use the part number as specified above!)
     
  6. pressure

    pressure

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire v15
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
    Jan 4, 2013 at 5:16 AM #6
    pressure

    pressure

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire v15
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M

    ok, I have this issue running lion. I dont understand your instructions. Yes, hitting f3 solves this problem, WHEN I AM BOOTED INTO OS X... but when do you mean on boot, if I hit esc, it will enter bios. Hitting fn+f3 doesnt do anything in BIOS or at the screne where you can choose f9, f10, ect
     
  7. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,561
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 4, 2013 at 7:19 AM #7
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,561
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It does on mine. BIOS F.30. Hit Esc (and Fn+F3/Fn+F2 work there), then hit F10 to enter BIOS setup and it works there too.
     
  8. pressure

    pressure

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire v15
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
    Jan 4, 2013 at 7:37 AM #8
    pressure

    pressure

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    157
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire v15
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4720HQ Processor (2.6 GHz)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
    i look under system information in bios and it says

    BIOS revision 68srr ver f.0a

    anyways, strange the problem is gone now
     
  9. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,561
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 4, 2013 at 7:39 AM #9
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179,561
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Maybe update your BIOS. F.0A is pretty old...
     
  10. vineethm

    vineethm

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4430s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i3-2350M
    Graphics:
    intel HD 3000
    Jan 16, 2013 at 7:43 PM #10
    vineethm

    vineethm

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4430s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i3-2350M
    Graphics:
    intel HD 3000
    What about an ivy bridge one? If it will not work perfectly, then what all will work, and what will not work ? Is there any way to make it work perfectly ?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice