EBIOS read error: Error 0x0c Block 0x18a96a Sectors 0

Discussion in 'Hardware Troubleshooting' started by Alun, Oct 19, 2013.

  1. Alun

    Alun

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    HP
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    nVidia
    Oct 19, 2013 at 10:37 AM #1
    Alun

    Alun

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    HP
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    nVidia
    Hi Guys, I am sure you can help me with this.

    This is my first attempt at using Virtualbox to run OSX on a PC. Using iBoot (all varieties) I receive thre following error message when reading the Snow Leopard DVD:

    EBIOS read error: Error 0x0c Block 0x18a96a Sectors 0


    And the system does not start.

    My system is:
    Snow Leopard 10.6.3
    HP Envy Core i7-4700MQ, 8Gb RAM, Win8 64 bit, Virtualbox 4.2.18

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. aaronpatty

    aaronpatty

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Nov 8, 2013 at 5:20 AM #2
    aaronpatty

    aaronpatty

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    I'm having the same exact issue. Anyone have any clue what to do? Thanks!
     
  3. cccip

    cccip

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    103
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 980, 4K Dell UP2414Q
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 9, 2013 at 6:08 AM #3
    cccip

    cccip

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    103
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 980, 4K Dell UP2414Q
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Had it on Z87 desktop motherboard and internal card reader.
    Had to go BIOS and change the media type for missing cards to CD-ROM, issue resolved.
     
  4. aaronpatty

    aaronpatty

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Nov 17, 2013 at 3:42 AM #4
    aaronpatty

    aaronpatty

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    After much digging around in various forums I finally figured out the following process to make it work:

    Before launching the iBoot-Ivy-Bridge.iso you need to go to the settings, click on storage, then choose the disk drive and make sure the "Passthrough" option is checked. Then switch it back to the iBoot-Ivy-Bridge.iso and start the VM. Follow the standard directions and immediately after hitting F5, hit F8 to launch the boot chooser. This allows the drive to read properly and launch the installer for the OS.

    Note that I'm using an Apple approved OSx 10.6.3 disk.

    I've done this four or five times now, and it seems to work great.
     
    KevRulez likes this.
  5. chmod

    chmod

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3230M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000 (onboard), AMD Radeon HD 7650M
    Nov 26, 2013 at 9:30 AM #5
    chmod

    chmod

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3230M
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000 (onboard), AMD Radeon HD 7650M
    Thanks.

    I got rid of that annoying problem.
     
  6. gengau

    gengau

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Dec 14, 2013 at 12:41 PM #6
    gengau

    gengau

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Worked perfectly, thank you!
     
  7. JohnnyD.17

    JohnnyD.17

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Samsung NP350V5C-A02UK
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3210M @ 2.5GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Feb 24, 2014 at 10:12 AM #7
    JohnnyD.17

    JohnnyD.17

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Samsung NP350V5C-A02UK
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3210M @ 2.5GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    You legend, worked for me perfectly!

    Thanks!
     
  8. redwood2279

    redwood2279

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Jun 4, 2014 at 11:32 AM #8
    redwood2279

    redwood2279

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    That worked thanks!!!
     
  9. ssuth9

    ssuth9

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Jul 1, 2014 at 5:47 PM #9
    ssuth9

    ssuth9

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Hello, Newb here.. I don't see a "Passthrough" option in Storage.

    Can you help?

    Using:
    VirtualBox 4.3.12
    Mac OS X 10.6

    Thanks
    Steve
     
  10. MC9000

    MC9000

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Aug 31, 2014 at 6:58 PM #10
    MC9000

    MC9000

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    same here - there is only a passthrough if you go to physical drive. 3 days on this project, still no luck. I've tried the original Snow Leopard DVD, about 8 different images to download.
    Ironically, I'm running VirtualBox ON My iMAC (Windows 8.1) - Intel Haswell chipset) which I got in Dec 2013!!! There's simply no way to do this without a hacked MacOSX DVD (which no one seems to have on the Internet anywhere!!!)
    I've made an ISO of the Snow Leopard DVD as well! Same problem "Error 0x0c ..."
    This apparently is not possible to do on iMac hardware (since it's impossible to get to the BIOS on iMacs).
    ARRRGGHHH!!!
    I have a dual boot machine, just would love to get Vbox to run MAC OSX - any version - running. The retail DVDs just won't work!! The images on the Internet are all .toast files, which, when converted to ISO, will not work either. It's maddening to see so many getting this to work on non-Mac hardware and finding it can't be done on Mac hardware!!
     

Share This Page