Contribute
Register

Cloning a hard drive to a new bigger SSD!

Joined
Apr 7, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
CPU
3570k
Graphics
HD4000
Here is how it all worked out: I used the free version of carbon copy cloner to clone my Kingston SSD to my new Samsung Evo SSD. I then kept both drives connected and tried to boot from my Samsung, but it would not let me. I rebooted back into my Kingston drive, installed clover on my new Samsung drive in the EFI. I then copied all of my EFI folder from my Kingston drive onto my EFI folder of my Samsung Drive. Then rebooted with Samsung drive and Kingston drive removed and all smooth sailing. Hope this is understandable and someone gets something out of this post and the good feedback I received.

How did you install Clover on the new Samsung drive if you weren't able to boot from it? I used SuperDuper to copy my original regular Samsung HD to a Micron SSD. When I swapped out the drives, my system would not boot from the SSD.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
ASUS Z370-F Gaming
CPU
i7 8700
Graphics
1060
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
If it helps, what worked flawless for me

1) Use Carbon Copy Cloner Trial version to make a copy of old drive to the new one (My old one was ADATA SSD 128GB SATA and new one is ADATA M2 960GB PCI), I choose option "do not delete any files".
3) Mount then 2 EFI partitions with 'sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/efi' command, replace '/dev/disk0s1' with your EFI partition path. You should mount 2 partitions from old disk and new one.
4) Copy everything from old EFI partition to new one.
5) Restart your mac, optionally disconnect the old drive, you should be able to boot with your new hard drive.

Good luck.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
3
Motherboard
asus z370-f
CPU
i7 8700k
Graphics
RX 580
If it helps, what worked flawless for me

1) Use Carbon Copy Cloner Trial version to make a copy of old drive to the new one (My old one was ADATA SSD 128GB SATA and new one is ADATA M2 960GB PCI), I choose option "do not delete any files".
3) Mount then 2 EFI partitions with 'sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/efi' command, replace '/dev/disk0s1' with your EFI partition path. You should mount 2 partitions from old disk and new one.
4) Copy everything from old EFI partition to new one.
5) Restart your mac, optionally disconnect the old drive, you should be able to boot with your new hard drive.

Good luck.
Thanks worked
Just for 3 /4 ) I opened Clover, mounted EFI partition of original and target ssd, then simply did a copy paste of all the content in the ufi to the target ssd efi. Did not need the use of terminal command this way if that can help someone

Peace
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
31
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GT 740
If it helps, what worked flawless for me

1) Use Carbon Copy Cloner Trial version to make a copy of old drive to the new one (My old one was ADATA SSD 128GB SATA and new one is ADATA M2 960GB PCI), I choose option "do not delete any files".
3) Mount then 2 EFI partitions with 'sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/efi' command, replace '/dev/disk0s1' with your EFI partition path. You should mount 2 partitions from old disk and new one.
4) Copy everything from old EFI partition to new one.
5) Restart your mac, optionally disconnect the old drive, you should be able to boot with your new hard drive.

Good luck.
Thanks worked
Just for 3 /4 ) I opened Clover, mounted EFI partition of original and target ssd, then simply did a copy paste of all the content in the ufi to the target ssd efi. Did not need the use of terminal command this way if that can help someone

Peace
Thank you Romanior and Yann, I was able to follow the same process successfully.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i7 4690K
Graphics
Gigabyte 1080 8GB
Trying to do this now and haven't done anything to my mac in a while so some of this is going over my head...

I have the drive copied and can boot when the old drive is still plugged in.

If someone can clear up how to copy the efi over to the new drive I would deeply appreciate it. I'm not sure where to put the command/find the new path or how to open clover to copy/paste the efi. Any additional info would be deeply appreciated.

Thanks!
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
8,593
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 + UHD 630
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Trying to do this now and haven't done anything to my mac in a while so some of this is going over my head...

I have the drive copied and can boot when the old drive is still plugged in.

If someone can clear up how to copy the efi over to the new drive I would deeply appreciate it. I'm not sure where to put the command/find the new path or how to open clover to copy/paste the efi. Any additional info would be deeply appreciated.

Thanks!
It's easy... Just mount the EFI partition of both drives and drag/drop the EFI folder to the EFI partition of the new drive.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2018
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Taichi BIOS v1.2
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
I have seen finder get confused when there are two EFI partitions opened at the same time. I suggest an intermediate step. Mount and open your EFI partition from the original drive and copy it to the desktop. Unmount the EFI partition from the original drive. Mount and open your EFI partition from the replacement drive drive and copy the EFI folder from the desktop to the EFI partition.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
8,593
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 + UHD 630
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have seen finder get confused when there are two EFI partitions opened at the same time. I suggest an intermediate step. Mount and open your EFI partition from the original drive and copy it to the desktop. Unmount the EFI partition from the original drive. Mount and open your EFI partition from the replacement drive drive and copy the EFI folder from the desktop to the EFI partition.
If Finder gets confused, you will probably have more pressing issues to fix.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i7 4690K
Graphics
Gigabyte 1080 8GB
When trying to mount the new EFI, I get a "AppleEvent handler failed" error window. "Finer got an error."

I can mount the old EFI just fine.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 5
CPU
Intel i7 4690K
Graphics
Gigabyte 1080 8GB
Used CCC on the drive and looks like it's all there, just can't mount the new EFI or access it. I feel like I missed a step or something went weird... please advise and thanks everyone!

Also I'm running sierra but never updated the name, hence the ElCap->Sierra change
400548
 
Top