Capturing Crash Reports

Discussion in 'General Help' started by ammulder, Dec 13, 2015.

  1. ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,353
    Motherboard:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 13, 2015 at 9:38 PM #1
    ammulder

    ammulder Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    3,353
    Motherboard:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790S
    Graphics:
    GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If your machine crashes, OS X often saves a report. This can have useful troubleshooting details, such as which kexts were loaded at the time and which were involved in the activity that caused the crash.

    In order to capture the crash report, you will need to boot into OS X successfully. So if you think it was an Nvidia-related crash, boot with nv_disable=1. If you think it was related to a specific driver, temporarily remove that driver kext (and boot without caches if it was installed to the system drive).

    On the boot after the crash, you may get the notice that your computer restarted because of a problem:

    crash-warning.png

    If so, hit the Report... button, then if it's not already showing details, hit the Show Details button:

    crash-options.png

    Then copy and paste the whole crash report into a post in the appropriate support forum here, and hit the Don't Send button in the crash details window:

    details.png

    If you didn't get the "Your computer restarted because of a problem" notice, you can often find the same crash report if you run /Applications/Utilities/Console. Look under System Diagnostic Reports on the left for an entry at about the right time, and paste the content into a post in the appropriate support forum.

    console.png
     
    atomicamp likes this.
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    180,811
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 22, 2016 at 4:21 PM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    180,811
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Note that crash reports are only available when using native NVRAM.

    If you're using emulated NVRAM (EmuVariableUEFI-64.efi+RC scripts), you will not get crash reports as there is no opportunity for the RC scripts to write NVRAM data to a file.
     
  3. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,233
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Aug 5, 2016 at 8:42 PM #3
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,233
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    And the boot flag debug=0x100 should stop automatic reboot on kernel panic
     
  4. gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Apr 19, 2017 at 8:01 PM #4
    gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    When I boot, about half the time at the apple logo it'll immediately switch to a cross. I then have to reboot and try again. It usually works the second time, but occasionally I have to try a third time (it also occasionally works the first time). I'm trying to find out what's going wrong here via some kind of log, but I can't find anything in System Reports. Any other places I could look?
     
    NikeMocco likes this.
  5. moshin

    moshin

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Motherboard:
    DELL T3600
    CPU:
    Xeon E5-1650
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA QUADRO 2000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 24, 2017 at 2:43 PM #5
    moshin

    moshin

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Motherboard:
    DELL T3600
    CPU:
    Xeon E5-1650
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA QUADRO 2000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have the same problem with my T3600. Either flawless boot, a stop error which I think is your cross. I can see that if I use -v for verbose, or a third thing that just suddenly reboots the machine before I can read the last line.

    I think this is what I need to identify the auto reboot! I will try when I get home, thanks!
     
  6. gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    May 31, 2017 at 9:05 AM #6
    gustebeast

    gustebeast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z270i
    CPU:
    i5-7600k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080
    Can confirm -v and debug=0x100 displays the errors well. Because of it I was able to find my boot problem in this thread
    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...n-couldnt-allocate-runtime-area.194452/page-3

    And fix using seanparkerfilms' recommended solution using OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi
     
  7. BestMan

    BestMan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus H97M-E
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4460
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 7870
    Jun 18, 2017 at 7:32 PM #7
    BestMan

    BestMan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Motherboard:
    Asus H97M-E
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4460
    Graphics:
    Radeon HD 7870
    Please update the information. This field is not found in the Console app
     
    Bob_the_Tomato and siansonu like this.
  8. atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 27, 2018 at 8:43 PM #8
    atomicamp

    atomicamp

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
    CPU:
    intel core i7 6700k 4ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 XTREME Gaming
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @ammulder
    @BestMan
    I agree. I am trying to figure out why my hack is having random reboots from a suspected Nvidia problem, but your console information is a bit dated. I am using High Sierra and here is what my console looks like:
    Screen Shot 2018-05-27 at 2.42.03 PM.png

    What exactly do I look for? This High Sierra console seems different! Please let me know! Thanks!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice