Contribute
Register

Capturing Crash Reports

ammulder

Moderator
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
3,468
Motherboard
GA-H87N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4790S
Graphics
GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
If your machine crashes, OS X often saves a report. This can have useful troubleshooting details, such as which kexts were loaded at the time and which were involved in the activity that caused the crash.

In order to capture the crash report, you will need to boot into OS X successfully. So if you think it was an Nvidia-related crash, boot with nv_disable=1. If you think it was related to a specific driver, temporarily remove that driver kext (and boot without caches if it was installed to the system drive).

On the boot after the crash, you may get the notice that your computer restarted because of a problem:

crash-warning.png

If so, hit the Report... button, then if it's not already showing details, hit the Show Details button:

crash-options.png

Then copy and paste the whole crash report into a post in the appropriate support forum here, and hit the Don't Send button in the crash details window:

details.png

If you didn't get the "Your computer restarted because of a problem" notice, you can often find the same crash report if you run /Applications/Utilities/Console. Look under System Diagnostic Reports on the left for an entry at about the right time, and paste the content into a post in the appropriate support forum.

console.png
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Note that crash reports are only available when using native NVRAM.

If you're using emulated NVRAM (EmuVariableUEFI-64.efi+RC scripts), you will not get crash reports as there is no opportunity for the RC scripts to write NVRAM data to a file.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,332
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
And the boot flag debug=0x100 should stop automatic reboot on kernel panic
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
37
Motherboard
MSI Z270i
CPU
i5-7600k
Graphics
GTX 1080
When I boot, about half the time at the apple logo it'll immediately switch to a cross. I then have to reboot and try again. It usually works the second time, but occasionally I have to try a third time (it also occasionally works the first time). I'm trying to find out what's going wrong here via some kind of log, but I can't find anything in System Reports. Any other places I could look?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
DELL T3600
CPU
Xeon E5-1650
Graphics
NVIDIA QUADRO 2000
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
When I boot, about half the time at the apple logo it'll immediately switch to a cross. I then have to reboot and try again. It usually works the second time, but occasionally I have to try a third time (it also occasionally works the first time). I'm trying to find out what's going wrong here via some kind of log, but I can't find anything in System Reports. Any other places I could look?
I have the same problem with my T3600. Either flawless boot, a stop error which I think is your cross. I can see that if I use -v for verbose, or a third thing that just suddenly reboots the machine before I can read the last line.

And the boot flag debug=0x100 should stop automatic reboot on kernel panic
I think this is what I need to identify the auto reboot! I will try when I get home, thanks!
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
37
Motherboard
MSI Z270i
CPU
i5-7600k
Graphics
GTX 1080
I have the same problem with my T3600. Either flawless boot, a stop error which I think is your cross. I can see that if I use -v for verbose, or a third thing that just suddenly reboots the machine before I can read the last line.



I think this is what I need to identify the auto reboot! I will try when I get home, thanks!
Can confirm -v and debug=0x100 displays the errors well. Because of it I was able to find my boot problem in this thread
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/boot-failure-sometime-prohibited-sign-couldnt-allocate-runtime-area.194452/page-3

And fix using seanparkerfilms' recommended solution using OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2014
Messages
29
Motherboard
Asus H97M-E
CPU
Intel Core i5-4460
Graphics
Radeon HD 7870
If you didn't get the "Your computer restarted because of a problem" notice, you can often find the same crash report if you run /Applications/Utilities/Console. Look under System Diagnostic Reports on the left for an entry at about the right time, and paste the content into a post in the appropriate support forum.
Please update the information. This field is not found in the Console app
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2017
Messages
314
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170mx Gaming 5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
@ammulder
"If you didn't get the "Your computer restarted because of a problem" notice, you can often find the same crash report if you run /Applications/Utilities/Console. Look under System Diagnostic Reports on the left for an entry at about the right time, and paste the content into a post in the appropriate support forum."

View attachment 167231
@BestMan
"Please update the information. This field is not found in the Console app"
I agree. I am trying to figure out why my hack is having random reboots from a suspected Nvidia problem, but your console information is a bit dated. I am using High Sierra and here is what my console looks like:
Screen Shot 2018-05-27 at 2.42.03 PM.png


What exactly do I look for? This High Sierra console seems different! Please let me know! Thanks!
 
Top