Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
I'm looking for some help please. I'm trying to get through my first build and I think I'm very, very close, but can't seem to reach the finish line. I've installed Mountain Lion, and I can boot up in safe mode, but when I try to boot "regulary" I get a panic error. I'm not very good at reading these cryptic screens, but it seems to refer to a voodoo driver.
"Kernal extensions in backtrace:
org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA, etc. etc.
Does this mean that I need to use multibeast to install the Voodoo driver? Or do I have a Voodoo driver that's causing a conflict?
My system build is a Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, Intel I5-3570, 16GB ram, 160 GB OCZ Vertex2 SSD - nothing else. I thought I would add dvd and graphics card later.
Any help would be much appreciated.

OK, I found the Voodoo extension and deleted it, then the next problem I found was appletymcedriver, so I've tried deleting it, and now I can still boot in safe mode, but with a regular boot, all I get now is the grey apple screen with the spinner. Any thoughts?

You shouldn't need voodoo; you have a DSDT free Z77 board. Let me give you my settings in Multibeast. It works for me. I Have a similar system, except a i7-3770,

UserDSDT or DSDT-free installation.
Drivers/Audio/Realtec ALC8xx/without DSDT/ALC898
Disk/ 3rd Party Sata
Disk/Trim Enabler/10.8.3 Trim Patch (Since you have a SSD)
Miscellaneous/NullCPUPowermanagement
Miscellaneous/USB3.0 - Universal
Network/Intel - hnak's AppleintelE1000
Bootloaders/ Chimera v2.0.1
Customization/Boot options/ graphicsenabler=No (I don't use this, but the source I took it from did)
Customization/Boot options/1080p Display (if you have a 1900x1080 monitor)
Customization/Boot options/Power Management Hibernate Mode/ Desktop
System Definitions/ Mac Pro/ 3.1

If this doesn't work, you may have problems in BIOS.