Contribute
Register

ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-I Gaming Motherboard specs

Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
199
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-i Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
When this happens, did you notice if your GPU fans are running at full speed, or did they stay at same speed? Is your IGPU properly configured in BIOS?

People have had similar issues when IGPU and DGPU are improperly configured. Search "RX560 problem" to see a few of the issues people have had and what they did to fix them.
Thanks, as far as I'm aware, it is configured correctly. I initially started off with just the 630 UHD and added the RX560 later. I had issues with viewing thumbnails in preview, so was advised to enable the 630 as well as the RX560, it is configured with PCIE as the primary with the 630 enabled and I think the next setting was set to 1024M and then the one below that was auto, that's off the top of my head. I will post some screen shots of the BIOS settings.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
199
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-i Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
By the way, which one of my EFIs are you using? I changed it a few times and the definitive one is in my TEWB guide linked in my signature. Also be sure to follow my BIOS settings in the same guide.
I'm not sure which one it is, you linked to it a couple of pages back. I will have a look at your guide after I've done the screen shot for the `GPU set up, thanks :)
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
1,414
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390 I-Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
512K, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Go to my guide and use the EFI at the bottom of the page. I'm not sure how old the EFI you got is. I deleted the one in this thread because I must have made 100 changes in the last 2 weeks.

Depending on when you got it, your USB could also be an issue. The current one was reviewed by @pastrychef and I researched everything I could.

By the way, did you update your BIOS? There were some major changes in the short time since it was released, even a full version change.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
1,414
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390 I-Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
512K, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
199
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-i Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
OK thanks, I was on 1003, have updated to the latest, but still the same, added your latest EFI, but still the same. In fact, just gently scrolling down your guide page results in 100%GPU, which if done for more than a few seconds, tends to break my audio, I have the on-board audio disabled as I use an RME Babyface pro interface, which, to be fair is pretty rock solid and not that easy to rattle.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
199
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390-i Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 560
It was definitely enabled like that, I needed to do that or I had no preview for images etc. I have posted in your guide thread, I think we are getting somewhere, I just need to test with Ableton, thanks again :)
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
1,414
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z390 I-Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
512K, iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef and anyone who can help. I am trying to help 2 people using Z390s with MSI Radeon 560s booting to black. I had a similar issue during my first install leading me to believe that the standard 14.2 platform Id is an issue but others say it it is the most common.

I suspect they are having a having a FrameBuffer issue which seems to be confirmed by one person having different information in Hackintool CPU info and Framebuffer info.

I am thinking they need to use a platform Id 18.3 to boot, I am using 18.1. Is that correct? As to the actual platform id do they need to enter it here or is this no longer necessary? Are there any other tips or tricks you can suggest?

They are both trying to use my EFI to boot but I have an RX-580 pulse.

391213


Lastly, they do not have network access when installing, does that need to be enabled?

Thanks!
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,008
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef and anyone who can help. I am trying to help 2 people using Z390s with MSI Radeon 560s booting to black. I had a similar issue during my first install leading me to believe that the standard 14.2 platform Id is an issue but others say it it is the most common.

I suspect they are having a having a FrameBuffer issue which seems to be confirmed by one person having different information in Hackintool CPU info and Framebuffer info.

I am thinking they need to use a platform Id 18.3 to boot, I am using 18.1. Is that correct? As to the actual platform id do they need to enter it here or is this no longer necessary? Are there any other tips or tricks you can suggest?

They are both trying to use my EFI to boot but I have an RX-580 pulse.

View attachment 391213

Lastly, they do not have network access when installing, does that need to be enabled?

Thanks!
You can use iMac14,2 for initial setup and switch after installation is done.

You are using the older method to inject ig-platform-id. Try using the the newer method which is in config.plist > Devices > Properties.
391236

Also, what connection are you using to connect the monitor? DisplayPort? HDMI? Usually, DisplayPort is the least problematic.

I don't know if network is a necessity, I always have my systems connected to network when installing.
 
Top