Contribute
Register

assoricks' GA-H55M-UD2H Hackintosh

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse (SLOT-1), MSI Nvidia GeForce 980 Ti (SLOT-2)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone! :wave:
That's my "beast" :

AlexMedion.jpg

Hardware :
Motherboard : GA-H55M-UD2H rev 1.3 = 89,95€
CPU Cooler : Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 = 25,22€
GPU Cooler : Arctic Cooling Accelero TWIN TURBO Pro = 28,26€
CPU : Intel Core i5 760 (4x2,8Ghz) = 189,95€
GPU : XFX Geforce 9600 GT 512 MB (owned before)
RAM : 2x Corsair XMS3 4GB kit (4*2GB) = 2x 54,95€ = 109,90€
PSU : beQuiet 350W (owned before)
APU : Creative Xmod USB = 60€ (?) ebay
HDD : WDC WD10EALX 1TB 7200RPM = 64,50€
DVD : TSSTcorpCD/DVDW SH-S183A (owned before)

Total ~ 567,78€ without shipping and components I owned before...

Software :
Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard Upgrade Disc
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (present)

My Steps for Mac OS X (As far as I remember) :
- BIOS
- Update to F11
- Enable optimized settings
- Change HPET to 64-bit
- Correct the boot priority
- Some tweaking (quick boot, no logo, etc.)

- Installing Mac OS X
- Boot from iBoot CD
- Then boot Mac OS X Install DVD
- Create Partitions
- Install
- Reboot
- Boot from iBoot
- Install 10.6.6 Combo Update (DO NOT REBOOT!)
- Put DSDT.aml on Desktop
- Run Multibeast :

My Settings :
- UserDSDT Install
- System Utilities
-> Rebuild Caches
-> Repair Permissions

- Drivers & Bootloaders
-> Kexts & Enablers
-> Audio -> Realtek ALC8xx -> ALC8xxHDA & AppleHDA Rollback
-> Disk -> JMicron36x -> JMicron 36x eSATA
-> Graphics -> Enablers -> NVEnabler
-> Miscellaneous -> FakeSMC & FakeSMC Plugins

-> Bootloaders
-> Chameleon 2.0 RC5 - Prerelease

- Customization
-> Boot Options -> 64-bit GraphicsEnabler=No
-> System Definitions -> Mac Pro -> MacPro 3,1

Install Lnx2Mac's Realtek driver.

- Reboot!

- Finish the installation
- Update iTunes, Safari, etc.
- Install Applications
- Start Migration Assistent and copy the user-folder via network to the new hackintosh
- Reboot
- The End

------------------------------
Everything works! Graphic card worked out of the box in 32-bit, but needs NVEnabler for 64-bit (otherwise it will panic). VGA lags a bit (movie stops playing while moving a window), but DVI works like a charm with my 24" Benq G2420HDB. It even works on our Sony Bravia FullHD TV with a DVI->HDMI Adapter. ATM my build is very quite. It's built into the case of a old Medion Titanium 8008 preconfigured PC from ALDI. I really like this case, as it is very stable and beautifull. Sleep, Audio, Network, Graphic, Virtualization (VMWare Fusion & VirtualBox), Rosetta works without big problems. But there are a few issues :
I can't boot from iBoot anymore, as it's giving me kernel panics. Even in safemode. I will post the log later. And since I switched to 64-bit, sometimes the system doesn't load. OS X loads, the fans get quieter and the screen goes black. Will post this log too. But all in all I'm very amazed by my new hackintosh. You can't compare this build to my old 1,6 ghz mac mini. I'm really amazed by the power of the quad-core. And it's even cheaper than a new mac mini (709€). :lol:
------------------------------
Thanks to : tonymacx86, macman, lnx2mac, Burninator, and so on....
And thanks to Daddy for sponsoring my new pc/mac.

:wave: assoricks

Additional Information :
- FireWire works! Tested it with my external iSight camera.
- +30 fps more on GTA IV at medium settings without shadows
- Tripple boot with Mac, Windows 7 and Arch work's wonderfull. But Windows doesn't detect the 5th partition (guess it has something to do with primary partition limit of 4)
- MacDrive mounts the OS X drives without any hassles
- Paragon NTFS 8 and Paragon ExtFS for Mac do their job
- Sound is much better when using the Xmod USB soundcard
- My 12 years old (!) Creative SoundBlaster Live! PCI worked well on 64-bit with drivers from kxproject. But I replaced the live because of the new GPU cooler, which needs more space. But the "new" Xmod works without any drivers and out of the box. Sound quality is equal to the SB Live!

Temperatures and other stuff :
CPU idle ~41°C (CPU A, iStat Menus 2x)
CPU Prime 95 ~72°C
GPU idle ~39°C (GPU-Z, Windows)
GPU GTA ~49°C (afair)
HDD ~39°C (iStat Menus 2x)

Sleep : ~4sec.
Wake up : ~5sec.

Power consumption :
Mac Idle ~80W
Mac Sleep ~3W
Cinebench CPU ~145W
Cinebench GPU ~135W
-------------------------
Windows idle ~65W
Windows Sleep ~3W
Windows GTA IV ~150W

Cinebench 11.5 scores :
CPU : 3,76
GPU : 20.58 BpS

Installed OS X with iBoot 2.5.3 and Multibeast 3.0.3

PS : Sorry for my bad (?) english. I'm from Germany. :oops:

EDIT : After cleaning the /Extra folder, the iBoot disc works again.

EDIT 2 : 10.6.8 works, but you have to replace some new kexts with old ones.
(AppleACPIPlatform.kext), (IOPCIFamily.kext) from 10.6.7 .

(http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2011/06/ ... 6669373371)

Download link : http://www.mediafire.com/?u6sietuh5b0rh6t

Go into /System/Library/Extensions/ and replace the new kexts with the old ones from the package. You must rebuild your kext cache and permissions!

Big thanks to "und3rf0rce"!!! :thumbup:

If you've almost updated and the system hangs on [PCI Configuration Begin] :
Boot with iBoot and then type "-v DSDT=No". Then do the kext thing.

PS : I also updated Chameleon to Chalmira : GPU now works without NVEnabler!
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi there!

Thanks for posting, I also have similar config:

- GA-H55M-UD2H (F11) (AHCI and HPET 64 enabled)
- i5-760
- ATI RADEON HD4870
- 4Gb ram GEIL DDR3 1333MHz (Why does ppl use 1600MHz, if the uP only support 1333? =S)
- DVD-DL RW (IDE)
- Sata 320GB with a 100gb partition with Win7 (trial mode)

I managed to load iBoot 2.7 and load my DVD-Snow Leopard and a HDD restore to install, but always freezes. Even using -x, -x PCIRootUID=1. In verbose mode I can see that with all configs stucks and the last you can read is:

Code:
DSMOS has arrived
ACPI_SMC_PlataformPlugin::start - waitForService(resourceMatching(AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement) timed out
com_lnx2mac_RealtekRTL81xx: Ethernet address (xx:xx:xx:...)<--My MAC

What im doing wrong???

Thanks in advance

EDIT: My PC has a very very low WAF (wife acceptance factor) and without a good old fashioned MAC OS X running on it, its days below the 50" plasma, are running out.

Please be charitable
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse (SLOT-1), MSI Nvidia GeForce 980 Ti (SLOT-2)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately I can't help you.

I'm not a pro in hackintoshing, but I guess that the GPU is the problem.
ATI cards often cause problems at install.
My tip (may be wrong) : Install with a cheap Geforce 8800, install Multibreast ^^with ATI chameleon, switch the cards and reboot. I "learned" this from lurking.
Or install osx from an working (hack/)macintosh to the harddisk via the hidden installer on the install dvd (can't remember the exact path) and then install multibreast on it.

I'm very sorry for that :oops:

Have a nice day!

assoricks :wave:
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hmmm, great advice!

Im going to try with my old 7600gs. Crossing fingers!.....

Yessssss!!! easy and directly. Works like a charm

EDIT: Everything goes right with Nvidia but in 720p. I can only boot my ati with iBoot cd, or with -x. Its a little bit frustrant, ill have to search more...

However, thanks
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse (SLOT-1), MSI Nvidia GeForce 980 Ti (SLOT-2)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you try the Chameleon ATI Experimental with 64-bit Apple Boot Screen (means GraphicsEnabler=Yes) ?

assoricks :wave:
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yup, it works. Finally i can run osx directly with ATI. I checked many options, one of it, was ATI experimental Chamaleon

Do you know something about the "xbox hid controller" for using the xbox1 usb IR receiver in mac?

I think i shuold have to debug and recompile, ive never done it before on osx....

Thank you very much for your support!
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse (SLOT-1), MSI Nvidia GeForce 980 Ti (SLOT-2)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just installed Windows 2000 and XP. They work like a charme.
I will write a HowTo, if someone likes me to do that.

Greetings : assoricks :wave:
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi again!

Finally I found the simplest way to load with iboot (CD). With my ATI Sapphire HD 4870 (512mb) installed. Not longer need to install and config with my old nVidia 7800

JUST USE "PCIRootUID=1" option

-x causes panic <<--- ARRRRRGGGG
AtiConfig=Uakari is not needed for me

For debug and seen what is happening (may be too obvious) use "-v", and PATIENCE+Google

Hope helps somebody.

Cheers
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z490
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse (SLOT-1), MSI Nvidia GeForce 980 Ti (SLOT-2)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OS X 10.6.8 works!
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 760
assoricks said:
OS X 10.6.8 works!

Hi assoricks I have used more or less your configuration of multibeast since we have the same motherboard (my version of bios is 10) and it works, thanks for that.
But i have got one problem, with freezing my screen from time to time, see below;
Do you know anything about this?

After some time using tonysmacx86 method with iboot&multibeast I have managed to instal sucesfully Snow Leopard retail 10.6.3 and upraged it to 10.6.8. It took me lots of time to get all graphic card, ethernet card, and sound to work but it works now, which is great felling.

But i got small problem i.e. sometimes system got freeze and info appears that this computer needs to be restarted. Sometimes i can work with the system for a long time and somtimes i can be 10 or 15 min before it got to freeze mode and restart.

Can anyone advice why this might happend, has anyone have the same problem and if anything can be done about it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top