Contribute
Register

Apple branded bluetooth module in USB hub - Solved Sleep

Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte x58 UDR3
CPU
Intel i7
Graphics
AMD HD5770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. Classic
  3. Lisa
  4. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
EDIT: I'd suggest to anyone using an Apple BT Module with Lion to look into using the AppleRTC.kext from their SL install if they are having issues with sleep causing a CMOS Reset. it fixed my issue without having to run that Terminal command that is circulating the forum. I'm not saying the terminal command won't work some. Just that I didn't need to use it for my particular build. Good luck!

I found a solution for my bluetooth sleep issues. I put an Apple branded bluetooth module into a small USB hub and it gives me all of my sleep functions without any issues. Only issue was plugging the hub into a port on the MoBo that it liked.


This is what it looks like all apart:
IMG_0373.JPG

All tucked into place:
IMG_0369.JPG

And all buttoned up:
IMG_0375.JPG
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0373.JPG
    IMG_0373.JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 11,526
  • IMG_0375.JPG
    IMG_0375.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 10,679
  • IMG_0369.JPG
    IMG_0369.JPG
    72.5 KB · Views: 8,823
Last edited by a moderator:

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,555
Motherboard
PRIME Z490-A
CPU
i5 10600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Re: Sleep - General Troubleshooting Tips

macaddictcr said:
I found a solution for my bluetooth sleep issues. I put an Apple branded bluetooth module into a small USB hub and it gives me all of my sleep functions without any issues. Only issue was plugging the hub into a port on the MoBo that it liked.

:headbang: Great post- this should be moved to Customization as it's own topic. Ok- done.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,635
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Macaddictcr,

It looks like you soldiered the BT connections to the leads of one of the USB ports in the hub. Can you still use that port?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte x58 UDR3
CPU
Intel i7
Graphics
AMD HD5770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. Classic
  3. Lisa
  4. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Stork said:
Macaddictcr,

It looks like you soldiered the BT connections to the leads of one of the USB ports in the hub. Can you still use that port?

No, the port will only pass power but no data. Not huge loss when you have a fully supported bluetooth option though :)
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
2,285
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
CPU
i7-860
Graphics
9800 GT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Great post ! LIKE !
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte x58 UDR3
CPU
Intel i7
Graphics
AMD HD5770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. Classic
  3. Lisa
  4. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
abimanyug said:
Where can i get the Bluetooth Module??

I found mine online on eBay. I paid $10 for mine. I'd suggest looking for a module that came from the Macbook Pro or Mac Pro systems. Most listings I found included the cable and antenna. Make sure that you get one that includes those items. My module was from a MBP A1211. The USB hub I used was $16 from Best Buy but any hub should work.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
260
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270N-Wifi
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
GTX 1050
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay. Now we're just awaiting your guide. As I said in the other post, my bt chip is on its way and I'm anxious to get this baby hooked up! :headbang:
 
Top