Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> AMD Radeon RX5700 or 5700XT

Joined
Dec 9, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm going crazy here trying to find a solution to my similar issue. I upgraded to Catalina straight from High Sierra through the traditional route via the App Store. I had an NVIDIA 1070 SC. To my surprise, that card isn't supported. So I buy the AMD Radeon RX 5700, because I read that it was plug and play supported. And now I boot to a black screen when loading macOS via Clover.

Here's what's driving my crazy: all the solutions are to go into the macOS and change out the kexts. But HOW DO YOU CHANGE THE KEXTS IN THE MACOS SYSTEM WHEN I CAN'T GET INTO IT?? Not a single post about this tells you how to inject kexts without getting into the macOS first. If I could get into the macOS first, I wouldn't need to update the kexts that are keeping me from getting into the macOS. What am I missing? It feels like redundant advice.

Boot with integrated GPU?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,799
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm going crazy here trying to find a solution to my similar issue. I upgraded to Catalina straight from High Sierra through the traditional route via the App Store. I had an NVIDIA 1070 SC. To my surprise, that card isn't supported. So I buy the AMD Radeon RX 5700, because I read that it was plug and play supported. And now I boot to a black screen when loading macOS via Clover.

Here's what's driving my crazy: all the solutions are to go into the macOS and change out the kexts. But HOW DO YOU CHANGE THE KEXTS IN THE MACOS SYSTEM WHEN I CAN'T GET INTO IT?? Not a single post about this tells you how to inject kexts without getting into the macOS first. If I could get into the macOS first, I wouldn't need to update the kexts that are keeping me from getting into the macOS. What am I missing? It feels like redundant advice.

As per forum rules, please fill out your profile to include your CPU, motherboard, and GPU.

You can make a USB booter. Put the version of drivers you need in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/. Set Inject to yes and enable SIP.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170x-UD5-CF
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake Quad-Core 4.2 GHz
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 5700/ geforce gtx 1070 SC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As per forum rules, please fill out your profile to include your CPU, motherboard, and GPU.

You can make a USB booter. Put the version of drivers you need in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/. Set Inject to yes and enable SIP.

Okay that's awesome! I just made a USB booter. How do I know what drivers I need?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2019
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170x-UD5-CF
CPU
Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake Quad-Core 4.2 GHz
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 5700/ geforce gtx 1070 SC
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Also, I enabled verbose loading from the install, and this is what I get:
 

Attachments

  • 092A9D8C-B2E3-4E43-AE77-804B37525311.jpeg
    092A9D8C-B2E3-4E43-AE77-804B37525311.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 341
Joined
Dec 18, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170-D3H-F3-Clover
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
GTX 970
Hmmm, I also have a problem with DP. 1 HDMI + 2 DP works great, but 3 DP not... I have a blackscreen from third DP (no matter if I connect only that port). Any suggestions please? Maybe iMac 14,1 not support third DP port?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,799
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay that's awesome! I just made a USB booter. How do I know what drivers I need?

I assume the latest versions of Lilu and WhateverGreen. Remember to set Injcte Kext to yes and disable SIP in your config.plist.



Also, I enabled verbose loading from the install, and this is what I get:

You seem to be stuck at the Aptio fix part of the boot process. This should not be related to graphics. Try searching around "stuck at end ranomdseed" or start a new thread.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z390-A
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I recently built my first Hackintosh, I'm using the Sapphire RX 5770 XT. So far I have managed to get one DP working and the HDMI port. I do however have three screens so I would be ideal to get a second DP working.

I have found that on 10.15.2 there seems to be some stability issues for me where buy it will boot up fine, but after 15 minutes or so the system will lock up and some graphical artifacting will occur and require a forced reboot. I have Lilu 1.3.5 installed. I haven't been using WEG. Any ideas why this is locking up ?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
Asus Z270I
CPU
7700K
Graphics
RX5700XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just wanted to let you know guys that I've managed to get Gigabyte RX 5700 XT (reference) working on my Asus Z270I with 7700k on 10.15.2.
I've initially built the system with iGPU (didn't have 5700 XT yet) with vanilla method and it would fail miserably when tried to boot with the new radeon (doesn't matter if using agdpmod=pikera with or withoug WEG).
I've later came across >THIS< config on github. I've used it's config.plist only, both kexts and efi drivers from there were causing me a lot of errors. Currently using drivers: ApfsDriverLoader, AptioMemoryFix, HFSPlus and kexts: AppleALC, IntelMausi, VirtualSMC, WhateverGreen, USBInjectAll.

I'm using single monitor connected via DP.

In GeekBench 5 compute I'm getting 46933 Metal Score, and 45481 OpenCL Score.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
297
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello. Do you work in the display port connection?
I can boot catalina 10.5.1 with 5700 XT, but only by HDMI, in display port i only get black screen.
Any suggestion please?

@piyuyi did you solve this? I have the same problem. Drives me nuts, and it's tied to a Dell monitor. If I use DP with my Apple Cinema Display it will work.

thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey, I had rebuilt to my hackintosh with ADM 5700XT and Z390 Mobo, I thought success.
BUT! GPU does not shown on system profile like pic. is it correct??
by my mistake, I got Core i5 9600 "F-type"(not include integrated GPU one) . so i did imac pro's SMBIOS.
feel bit dumpy graphic, and can not dual monitor, can not benchmark test (i can only CPU test).
Should I buy again correct CPU core? :(
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2019-12-29 at 20.48.05.png
    Screen Shot 2019-12-29 at 20.48.05.png
    80.9 KB · Views: 327
  • EFI.zip
    18.6 MB · Views: 147
Top