Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 3
CPU
core i7 6700k
Graphics
RX 480
Hi guys, im completely new to case modding, i must have read each of the posts on here 10 times before i got the case off ebay to mod, I dont have all the PC parts yet in fact i only have a gigabyte z170 gaming 3 motherboard and a thermaltake 650w PSU (but i may be swapping that out... im hoping to add some things that i havnt seen on other mods as of yet, but its really hard as there are a lot of brilliant mods of these cases already out there.

I hope to bring to together a few things i've thought of myself and a few i've seen and thought, that would look brilliant, i started the case modding about a month ago and have taken loads of pics, its mostly trial and error as i go along so certain things change a few times over the time period as im thinking, that wont fit i need to change it lol.

My case mod is far from finished so after you have read this thread you will have caught up with me. I bought the G5 off ebay for £29.99 it was a non working dual 1.8GHz CPU machine, i took everything out of the case that i could(i had to come on here and read up to find out how to remove certain things like the heatsinks for the cpu and the shroud that covers them, and the top shelf!)

this was the specs the G5 came with

i started removing all the obvious easy components first

then got onto the guts of the machine(i still have all these bits if anyone wants to make me an offer)

I got an old ibm e machines server case donated to me by a good friend as a donor machine so i could cannibalize it for parts like the MB tray

warning dust hazard!!!

donor pc insides

its an intel socket 775 chip i think

donor case emptied out

this pic was so i could send the measurements off to the custom side panel place, but they came back saying they couldn't do the tab that runs along the bottom so when it arrived it was full thickness