Contribute
Register

Z68AP-D3/N560GTX-Ti twin frozr II/i7-2600K/stucked in my build - no sound - no access to apple store

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Z68AP-D3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
N560GTX-Ti twin frozr II
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello

First, thanks a lot for this very helpful website and forums. This is my first build and it has been very helpful.

BUT....I'm not totally there yet !

Here is my build :

motherboard Z68AP-D3
Processor Intel i7-2600K
Graphic card MSI N560GTX-Ti twin frozr II
ram 8gig during the install and I will had 8gig more after
Power cooler master silent pro 1000w
case cooler master HAF 932

Intended use : video editing / 3D animation

So far, I managed to install SL from the dvd bought at the apple store with iBoot, and then upgraded to 10.6.8 after MANY times trying (I had to actually run multibeast before upgrading, and then re-run it + remove ACPI_SMC_PlatformPluginFamily.kext - without doing so my machine was unexpectedly bugging in the middle of the 10.6.8 update and then impossible to get anything back at the reboot).

I'm now unable to have any sound, and the system is super slow....It also seems that booting without iBoot takes a bit more time than without.
I am strangely able to access the internet though I did not enter my internet password, but opening a page with too many images makes it bug and I have to shut down safari. I was thinking that maybe upgrading to lion would help, but even if I have the icon of the apple store and it loads, when I enter my id and password, it does an error and that's all....

I'm quite lost and I'm new to the mac world with few windows/linux geeks around me but no mac geeks :)

Note : it seems that the graphic card gets reconnized as I got the fancy osx animation when installing....but the fact it can't support web pages is strange...again I'm a baby geek so maybe this is not the problem.

Any help or advice will be super greatly appreciated. Thanks !