Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
I need your help.

I'm completely new to this. I want to build a hackintosh. Currently using a mac book pro at the moment but need a desktop computer now too.

This is my proposed build. Will this all fit in the case and is it compatible?

1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3.5-inch SATA III (6Gbps) Desktop hard drive (7200rpm, 64MB cache)

Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1600C9 Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 Mhz CL9 XMP Performance Desktop Memory Kit Black

Intel Core i5 4690K S1150, Haswell, 4 Core, 3.5GHz, 3.9GHz Turbo, 5 GT/s DMI, 1.2GHz GPU, 34x Ratio, 84W, Retail

250GB Samsung 840 EVO Basic SSD SATA III 6Gb/s 7mm Slim 3-core MEX Controller Read 540MB/s Write 520MB/s 512MB 97K IOPS

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC, Intel Z87, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III - 6Gb/s, SATA RAID, PCIe 3.0 (x16), DisplayPort HDMI, ATX
1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3.5-inch SATA III (6Gbps) Desktop hard drive (7200rpm, 64MB cache)

Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1600C9 Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 Mhz CL9 XMP Performance Desktop Memory Kit Black

Intel Core i5 4690K S1150, Haswell, 4 Core, 3.5GHz, 3.9GHz Turbo, 5 GT/s DMI, 1.2GHz GPU, 34x Ratio, 84W, Retail

250GB Samsung 840 EVO Basic SSD SATA III 6Gb/s 7mm Slim 3-core MEX Controller Read 540MB/s Write 520MB/s 512MB 97K IOPS

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC, Intel Z87, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III - 6Gb/s, SATA RAID, PCIe 3.0 (x16), DisplayPort HDMI, ATX

I plan to use the same power supply that the case came with and the dvd drive too.

Also any advice on how to cool the system down so that it all fits nice and neat.

Thank you for your time.

This plan has a potential problem. That is the CPU is one level newer then the motherboard chip set. You will need to confirm that the BIOS on the motherboard has been upgraded to support the CPU.

One solution would be to use a Z97 version instead of the Z87.

Good modding,
neil