Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
I am planning a new hackintosh with a Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 mobo. I have no apple experience yet. I see here on this forum that everyone appears to use separate video cards with this mobo. Maybe someone could enlighten me why, when this mobo has a display port capable of 2560 x 1600 resolution? I don't do any gaming.

Would a cinema display (display port) work with the mobo video, both in OsX and win 7?

Will there be anyway to get thunder bolt into a hackintosh, now that the Apple exclusive on the chips has run out? Or would that have to wait until new mobos and win8? And even then maybe not work in OsX?

Any answers, clarification, suggestions or advice is welcome.

gredhead said:
I am planning a new hackintosh with a Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 mobo. I have no apple experience yet. I see here on this forum that everyone appears to use separate video cards with this mobo. Maybe someone could enlighten me why, when this mobo has a display port capable of 2560 x 1600 resolution? I don't do any gaming.

Would a cinema display (display port) work with the mobo video, both in OsX and win 7?

Will there be anyway to get thunder bolt into a hackintosh, now that the Apple exclusive on the chips has run out? Or would that have to wait until new mobos and win8? And even then maybe not work in OsX?

Why? Because others playing games, rendering videos, 3D works at these things need massive GPU performance.
DP is working, sure.
And no, if you want Thunderbolt, you have to buy a new mobo. And yes, it's not certain that the TB will work OOB.

gredhead said: