Updating to Yosemite 10.10.5

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by DanOren, Aug 4, 2017.

  1. DanOren

    DanOren

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    4790K
    Graphics:
    Titan-X
    Aug 4, 2017 at 8:02 PM #1
    DanOren

    DanOren

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    4790K
    Graphics:
    Titan-X
    Hello,

    I know I am a few operating systems behind, but I had some concerns updating my OS on my hackintosh (fear of losing data, not booting again, etc.) and just wanted to ask the process and if it is safe to update my OS.

    I am currently on Yosemite 10.10.3 - and an update to a work software that I use is requiring 10.10.5 or a newer OS. Am I able to make the update through the App store without problems? I believe I am using Chimera/Multibeast (since I have the Extras folder and my messenger doesn't work).

    Is there a process that I need to do to ensure that my data remains safe through the update? The main concern I have is taking my system be offline for a long period of time, since it is my only way to work. I know eventually I will need to update to Sierra but that is a battle for another day.

    Thank you so much, any help or suggestions are appreciated.
     
  2. feartech

    feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,002
    Mobo:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 4, 2017 at 8:08 PM #2
    feartech

    feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,002
    Mobo:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    clover is the way at the moment

    Myself, i would create a USB Sierra installer. Then use a different hard drive to install a clean version of Sierra on (remove current yosemite hard drive first)

    Then transfer any software etc after i have a working system
     
  3. DanOren

    DanOren

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    4790K
    Graphics:
    Titan-X
    Aug 4, 2017 at 8:14 PM #3
    DanOren

    DanOren

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    4790K
    Graphics:
    Titan-X
    Thanks for the quick reply. So there is no way to do an update to 10.10.5 without having to use Clover or create a new hard drive with a more recent OS?
     
  4. feartech

    feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,002
    Mobo:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 4, 2017 at 8:16 PM #4
    feartech

    feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,002
    Mobo:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    not really, you do need clover for Sierra
    my way above will save your data in case something goes wrong and you end up loosing your files and apps
     
  5. DanOren

    DanOren

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    4790K
    Graphics:
    Titan-X
    Aug 4, 2017 at 8:23 PM #5
    DanOren

    DanOren

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
    CPU:
    4790K
    Graphics:
    Titan-X
    Alright. Thanks again. One last question:
    Am I able to update to the most recent Yosemite without moving to Sierra via a Software update? Or does that require Clover as well?
     
  6. feartech

    feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,002
    Mobo:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 4, 2017 at 8:26 PM #6
    feartech

    feartech Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,002
    Mobo:
    Asus N752V Clover UEFI
    CPU:
    i7-6700HQ / HM170
    Graphics:
    Intel HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    you should be ok, but i haven't used yosemite for awhile

    make sure to have your backups in case of any issue :)
     
    DanOren likes this.

Share This Page