Update from 10.8.2 to 10.8.5

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Support' started by soul, Dec 20, 2016.

  1. soul

    soul

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    JetWay JNAF92-Q67
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Dec 20, 2016 at 6:03 PM #1
    soul

    soul

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    JetWay JNAF92-Q67
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Hi,
    I am considering updating my 10.8.2 Hackintosh to 10.8.5 so I can run one application in particular. I am reluctant to do the upgrade because my system has run near flawlessly for a few years. I dont want to hose it, becuase I need it for production. Any advice on how to update or whether I should not risk it?
     
  2. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9,811
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 20, 2016 at 6:06 PM #2
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9,811
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Clone the drive.
    Test the clone.
    Upgrade the clone.
    Test the clone.
     
    soul likes this.
  3. soul

    soul

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    JetWay JNAF92-Q67
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Dec 23, 2016 at 1:50 AM #3
    soul

    soul

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    JetWay JNAF92-Q67
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Thanks, solid plan. Could you expand on process I haven't done an install or any hack work in almost 4 years. So I need to be cautious. I only have one SSD drive in my system, but I do have a USB drive I can clone to. Does that sound like it will work? I figure I should probably also get another SSD to clone to, before I go too far.

    On an un-related note, I just did something that is causing kernal panic on boot. I was trying to extend desktop to a tv connected to Decklink HDMI card. When all the screens went blue, I powered off. Probably a bad idea cause now it wont come back on.
     
  4. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9,811
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 23, 2016 at 1:53 AM #4
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9,811
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    There's no real point in cloning something that doesn't work unless it's a last ditch attempt to salvage any data.
     
    soul likes this.
  5. soul

    soul

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    JetWay JNAF92-Q67
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Dec 23, 2016 at 5:19 AM #5
    soul

    soul

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    JetWay JNAF92-Q67
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Bit of good news! I was able to boot to my backup from 2 years ago. Then was able to boot to my current drive. Backed it up using CCC. Beautiful software.

    Then I tried to extend my desktop to my tv again using the component RYB cables to the tv. Same issue, and crash. I waited a few minutes before restarting. But this time it restarted normal to the current drive. No probs.

    Giving up on the TV out for now. I'll buy another SSD drive to clone and try the 10.2 to 10.5 update. MIght fix this problem too.

    Thanks for your advice! What is the proper sequence of clone and update? I'll go from my current drive to a USB flash then to a new SSD drive (because I can only use one SSD drive at a time).
     
  6. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9,811
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 23, 2016 at 10:00 AM #6
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9,811
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 740 2047 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Backup.
    Turn off backups.
    Clone the SSD.
    Install the boot loader to the clone.
    Test the clone - Confirm that it is exactly the same as the original.
    Upgrade the clone.
    Test the clone.
    Turn on backups.
    Backup.

    Original SSD remains intact to enable you to revert if required.
     
    soul likes this.
  7. soul

    soul

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    JetWay JNAF92-Q67
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Dec 30, 2016 at 6:53 PM #7
    soul

    soul

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    JetWay JNAF92-Q67
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    I cloned the drive and was able to boot to it, until I run the update then it crashed on boot. Does the update overwrite the boot loader? I thought cloning the drive would include the boot loader. I havent done this stuff in almost 4 years.
     

Share This Page