Contribute
Register

Thinkpad p50 Sierra 10.12.6

Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
34
Motherboard
thinkpad P50
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
intel hd 530 /NVidia Quadro M1000M, 1920x1080
Mac
Mac Pro
I confirm this laptop is faster than macbook pro 2016 touchbar

Thinkpad p50 is one of the most amazing laptop. With this topic I want to guide the installation of macOS on this machine and spark a little discussion about fixing the problems.

!!! PLEASE NOTE !!!
I am only documenting my way of getting macOS to work on this machine since there is no other guide yet. I am beginner who read few guides here on forums and not saying that my way is the best one . special thanx to RehabMan
!!! PLEASE NOTE !!!

You can find my updated collection of all necessary kexts and patches on my dedicated GitHub repo here:
push requests are welcomed

https://github.com/mohamedsharaf/lenovo-thinkpad-P50-osx

also clover is attached below in this post

My config:
  • Lenovo Thinkpad P50
  • Core i7-6700HQ
  • 16GB 2133MHz DDR4(2 pieces under keyboard also tested with 64 giga works fine)
  • Intel HD Graphics 530 , Nvidia quadro m1000m
  • 500GB NVMe Samsung SSD 960 evo
  • 500GB Western Digital Black sata
  • 1×Thunderbolt 3, 4 USB 3.0, headset jack
  • 1xHdmi , 1 DP(for monitor)
  • Primary Windows 10 Pro / Secondary Sierra 10.12.6 latest

Working:
- Power Management (macbook pro 13.3 sppedshift cpu read Rehabman guide last method xcmp patch in clover below done)
- Full Graphics Acceleration
- NVMe SSD Storage
- Shutdown, Reboot
- Touchpad (works perfectly with different gestures)
- USB WIFI(I use USB Edimax EW-7811un)
- TrackPoint (I feel it makes jump) I will not work on it I use external mouse
- NME SSD with trim support (main boot)
- Brightness (work u need to add AppleBacklightInjector.kext to /Library/Extensions look at post install section )
- Sound AppleHDA Patched Realtech ac289sp4 through appleHDA Patcher (or through VoodoHDA manual switching bettwen headphone and speaker)
- Battery
- I message work
- sleep resume (around 1% for every 3 or 4 hours think its better than windows in that)
- external monitor through usb3 to dual display adapter (displaylink.com product)

Doesn't work:

- USB (rehab man said its not fine even I can attach and detach to USB ports Flash disks)
- External Monitor (HDMI , DisplayPort) will not work as it is dedicated to Nvidia
- Nvidia quadro m1000m(config_nv.plist card seen as 8 mega ram but works fine I will stick with intel in that)

- Webcam
- WiFi (I use USB Edimax EW-7811un)
- Bluetooth

- Card Reader
- Thunder USBc port

- Facetime no camera yet

Not Tested :


Preparation:
  • Update your machine BIOS to latest version (1.43 Mine)
  • Turn off Secure Boot in BIOS !
What you will need:

Don't forget to replace clover folder with below
or copy Kext and config.plist

install nothing more you need to do as every thing working through clover till now





I will try to update this post with fixes

Updated : always download this clover in post#1 other is just for fixing
- brightness now works thx to Rehabman post like charm



power.png

disk.png

display battery.png
 

Attachments

Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thinkpad p50 is one of the most amazing laptop. With this topic I want to guide the installation of macOS on this machine and spark a little discussion about fixing the problems.

!!! PLEASE NOTE !!!
I am only documenting my way of getting macOS to work on this machine since there is no other guide yet. I am beginner who read few guides here on forums and not saying that my way is the best one . special thanx to RehabMan
!!! PLEASE NOTE !!!

You can find my updated collection of all necessary kexts and patches on my dedicated GitHub repo here:
push requests are welcomed

https://github.com/mohamedsharaf/lenovo-thinkpad-P50-osx

also clover is attached below in this post

My config:
  • Lenovo Thinkpad P50
  • Core i7-6700HQ
  • 16GB 2133MHz DDR4(2 pieces under keyboard)
  • Intel HD Graphics 530 , Nvidia quadro m1000m
  • 500GB NVMe Samsung SSD 960 evo
  • 500GB Western Digital Black sata
  • 1×Thunderbolt 3, 4 USB 3.0, headset jack
  • 1xHdmi , 1 DP(for monitor)
  • Primary Windows 10 Pro / Secondary Sierra 10.12.6 latest

Working:
- Power Management (macbook pro 13.3 sppedshift cpu read Rehabman guide last method xcml patch in clover)
- Full Graphics Acceleration
- NVMe SSD Storage
- Shutdown, Reboot
- Touchpad (works perfectly with different gestures)
- USB WIFI(I use USB Edimax EW-7811un)
- TrackPoint (I feel it makes jump) I will not work on it I use external mouse
- NME SSD with trim support (main boot)

- Sound (only through VoodoHDA manual switching bettwen headphone and speaker)

Doesn't work:
- External Monitor (HDMI , DisplayPort)
- Battery
- Brightness
- Webcam (Without IR)
- WiFi, Bluetooth (I use USB Edimax EW-7811un)
- Card Reader
- Nvidia quadro m1000m(this card can appear as discreet card from bios and intel disappear but I have no luck Nvidia driver can't see it (not sure if I can get Nvidia work if there is no driver for it ))
- Thunderbold 3 ports not working (I just have usbC to usb reader )

Not Tested :
imessage


Preparation:
  • Update your machine BIOS to latest version (1.43 Mine)
  • Turn off Secure Boot in BIOS !
What you will need:

Don't forget to replace clover folder with below
or copy Kext and config.plist

install nothing more you need to do as every thing working through clover till now

I will try to update this post with fixes


View attachment 271282

View attachment 271283
I don't know why you have HackrNVMeFamily in EFI/Clover/kexts.
The HackrNVMeFamily you're injecting will never load as it matches only on spoofed class-code, which you haven't done.

You're actually loading IONVMeFamily by hotpatching with Clover KextsToPatch. I didn't verify that the patches you have in your config.plist are valid for 10.12.6. That is something you might want to double check.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
34
Motherboard
thinkpad P50
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
intel hd 530 /NVidia Quadro M1000M, 1920x1080
Mac
Mac Pro
I don't know why you have HackrNVMeFamily in EFI/Clover/kexts.
The HackrNVMeFamily you're injecting will never load as it matches only on spoofed class-code, which you haven't done.

You're actually loading IONVMeFamily by hotpatching with Clover KextsToPatch. I didn't verify that the patches you have in your config.plist are valid for 10.12.6. That is something you might want to double check.
this patch was working for me in 10.12.5 and it still works fine can this cause any problem or data loss?
Is there is any advantage for using patched HackerNVME over hotpatching with Clover in config.plist as I did ?

I have one main problem external display not appear at all
I hope to get
External Monitor through Hdmi or DP port please can you guide me where to start
I attached two IOreg one only laptop display and second after I attached the Hdmi display but display not appear at all
 

Attachments

Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
this patch was working for me in 10.12.5 and it still works fine can this cause any problem or data loss?
Is there is any advantage for using patched HackerNVME over hotpatching with Clover in config.plist as I did ?
The advantages of HackrNVMeFamily over IONVMeFamily KextsToPatch are discussed in my patch-nvme README:
https://github.com/RehabMan/patch-nvme

I have one main problem external display not appear at all
I hope to get
External Monitor through Hdmi or DP port please can you guide me where to start
I attached two IOreg one only laptop display and second after I attached the Hdmi display but display not appear at all
MacBookPro13,3 is a poor choice.
Try MacBookPro13,1 or MacBookPro11,1.

You may need to activate the missing 0306 port. (patch framebuffer kext connectors).

Other problems:
- CPU PM not implemented
- Nvidia not disabled (will consume battery power)
- USB is not configured correctly
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
34
Motherboard
thinkpad P50
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
intel hd 530 /NVidia Quadro M1000M, 1920x1080
Mac
Mac Pro
The advantages of HackrNVMeFamily over IONVMeFamily KextsToPatch are discussed in my patch-nvme README:
https://github.com/RehabMan/patch-nvme



MacBookPro13,3 is a poor choice.
Try MacBookPro13,1 or MacBookPro11,1.

You may need to activate the missing 0306 port. (patch framebuffer kext connectors).

Other problems:
- CPU PM not implemented
- Nvidia not disabled (will consume battery power)
- USB is not configured correctly
thx for your valued work and your time


I hope to get second display work this is my number one priority but I totally lost

I changed to MacBookPro11,1
and applied 4 port patch (config.plist) not sure if this is what you mean by
You may need to activate the missing 0306 port. (patch framebuffer kext connectors).
Still No display connected (no signal at all either cdmi or DP)

I don't need to waste a lot of your times but really can't find any guide for that below is changes I made and new problem files
as this changed since lat report
i added patched spoof Hackernvme and I am able to boot
I added cpu power management pike ssdtpatch
I have error in the DSTD even with refs.txt so I am not able to apply battery patch
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
and applied 4 port patch (config.plist) not sure if this is what you mean by
You may need to activate the missing 0306 port. (patch framebuffer kext connectors).
Still No display connected (no signal at all either cdmi or DP)
Problem is you enabled the 4th connector, but the data already there is not for 0306 HDMI (likely VGA or something else we don't quite understand).

You need to patch the connector data:
Find: FF 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 20 00 00 00
Replace: 03 06 09 00 00 08 00 00 87 01 00 00

It is also possible your HDMI is dedicated to Nvidia. You should have checked in Windows before even going down this path. Because no amount of Intel framebuffer patching will help if the port is connected to Nvidia.

I have error in the DSTD even with refs.txt so I am not able to apply battery patch
There are no errors in the DSDT.dsl you attached when using the latest iasl.
You will need to be more specific about the error.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
34
Motherboard
thinkpad P50
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
intel hd 530 /NVidia Quadro M1000M, 1920x1080
Mac
Mac Pro
Problem is you enabled the 4th connector, but the data already there is not for 0306 HDMI (likely VGA or something else we don't quite understand).

You need to patch the connector data:
Find: FF 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 20 00 00 00
Replace: 03 06 09 00 00 08 00 00 87 01 00 00

It is also possible your HDMI is dedicated to Nvidia. You should have checked in Windows before even going down this path. Because no amount of Intel framebuffer patching will help if the port is connected to Nvidia.



There are no errors in the DSDT.dsl you attached when using the latest iasl.
You will need to be more specific about the error.


I added the patch to clover config.plist attached and also IoReg bust still no display detected did I mad it right or there is thing wrong ?

how can I check that HDMI is dedicated to Nvidia?

second thing Nvidia quadro m1000m has option to look as dedicated card from bios and tottally hd530 disappear
is this card compatible with hackintosh as Nvidia web driver can't see it or there is any thing I miss?
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,731
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I added the patch to clover config.plist attached and also IoReg bust still no display detected did I mad it right or there is thing wrong ?
Looks correct.

how can I check that HDMI is dedicated to Nvidia?
Run Windows.
Plug external monitor.
Check display properties for that monitor. It will tell you which graphics device is being used.

second thing Nvidia quadro m1000m has option to look as dedicated card from bios and tottally hd530 disappear
is this card compatible with hackintosh as Nvidia web driver can't see it or there is any thing I miss?
No experience with that Nvidia device.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
34
Motherboard
thinkpad P50
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
intel hd 530 /NVidia Quadro M1000M, 1920x1080
Mac
Mac Pro
Looks correct.



Run Windows.
Plug external monitor.
Check display properties for that monitor. It will tell you which graphics device is being used.



No experience with that Nvidia device.

in windows if i choose duplicate then intel hd 530 this mean duplicate or mirror can work am i right ?

duplicate.png


if i choose second screen or extended only its Nvidia for both HDMI and DP
second screen.png
 
Top