Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero II Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X - i7-8700K - AMD RX 580 - Thunderbolt 3

Joined
Jun 6, 2018
Messages
34
Motherboard
ASUS ROG LGA1151 DDR4
CPU
Intel Core i5-8600K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC
@Stork or @pastrychef could one of you help with a problem? I have the iogear bluetooth dongle connected, my system is picking up the apple keyboard and trackpad however, when I disconnect the cables to run them on bluetooth, they are not being picked up. The system shows them, they just won't connect.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,801
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Stork or @pastrychef could one of you help with a problem? I have the iogear bluetooth dongle connected, my system is picking up the apple keyboard and trackpad however, when I disconnect the cables to run them on bluetooth, they are not being picked up. The system shows them, they just won't connect.

I have no idea of how reception is in the area where you are using this Bluetooth adaptor. You can try to minimize interference by (1) plugging the Bluetooth adaptor in to a USB 2 port, (2) avoid using 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, and (3) situating the adaptor as close to your keyboard and trackpad as possible.

Also, did Lilu.kext and AppleALC.kext fix your audio issues?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero Z370
CPU
Intel i7 8700k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi guys,
I recently purchased the same base for this build (Asus maximus x hero + 8700k) but after installing the drivers and the kexts I'm stuck in a boot loop: I see the bios screen, I see the clover menu, I boot from my high sierra installation disk but when the apple logo pops up it doesn't finish loading the bar :( at about 90% the system reboots itself, and I'm back again.
I tried erasing and re-installing everything, I used the same bios settings, I installed the latest nvidia web drivers, I used the same app for injecting the kexts, I also went and deleted all the numbered folders in efi/clover/kexts except for "Other", but nothing..
One thing I noticed, I don't know if it will be helpful: in your guide you said to change some text in the config.plist file, but I don't have those lines of code so I didn't edit it.
Sorry for the long post, I hope you guys will help me since this is my first build and seeing it fail is kind of heartbreaking.

Ok I made some progress, here's what I did:
1) Booting with verbose helped me notice that the boot got stuck on "Hash data from Me never returned, status=1, doing retry";
2) I searched the issue on this forum and I saw the '-disablegfxfirmware' fix;
3) Booting with -disablegfxfirmware only got me stuck on a screen full of glitchy graphics and colors :banghead:
4) Searching again and I found that I needed to boot with an invalid platform-id, so I did and succesfully booted! :thumbup:

Now my questions are the following:
- How do I make sure I got the latest kexts installed? I already installed Lilu.kext, but searching for my problem it seems like the issue was this particular kext... Do I need to remove it and re-install it? I did everything with KextBeast;
- Do I need to boot every time with an invalid platform-id? Is there a way to permanently fix it?
- My boot time seems a bit slow now (compared to when I only had Windows installed), will it be this way forever?


Ps: I may be wrong, but it seems like my problems are graphics related.. but I'm still "looking" through my motherboard displayport, I still haven't connected to my 1080 displayport :confused:.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX VEGA 56
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi!

This is my first OSX86 system in a long time so I'm not super into all the details how to do stuff.
Ive just set up my Hero X, Vega 56, i7 8700K, Samsung 960, Fractal Define R6 BenqPD3200U.
Installation went really smooth. High Sierra 10.13.5 (17F77).
Im using iMac 14,2 since display port not working on 18,3.
The Front-USB, BackUSB, BenqPD3200U-USB + SDCARD works. (Have not done any speed tests or anything)
iMessage works. But I don't have any bluetooth or wifi yet. Im thinking of buying a T9E and ASUS USB-BT400(don't know if it will work but cheap and I got it in the store downstairs)

As of many here I have problems with my sound. I did follow your guide with

Drivers > Audio > 100/200/300 Series Audio Support
Drivers > Audio > 200 / 300 Series / X299 Audio Device ID Patch


Reboot
on the first run . And second run

Drivers > Audio > Realtek ALC1220
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions/
reboot

No sound.

Then I tried the: https://github.com/toleda/audio_CloverALC But could not get that to work either.

I can't see any sound card at all. Ill add my plist and kexts that I have in my /System/Library/Extensions if there is something missing or wrong.

Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 12.12.16.png Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 12.12.58.png

Any hints for what to try next?
 

Attachments

  • config_herox.plist
    8.8 KB · Views: 155
  • kexts.txt
    5.4 KB · Views: 128

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,865
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Stork or @pastrychef could one of you help with a problem? I have the iogear bluetooth dongle connected, my system is picking up the apple keyboard and trackpad however, when I disconnect the cables to run them on bluetooth, they are not being picked up. The system shows them, they just won't connect.
I don't understand "my system is picking up the apple keyboard and trackpad however, when I disconnect the cables to run them on bluetooth, they are not being picked up." The Apple wireless keyboard and trackpad don't have cables...unless...are the keyboard and trackpad Apple Magic 2 devices?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,865
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok I made some progress, here's what I did:
1) Booting with verbose helped me notice that the boot got stuck on "Hash data from Me never returned, status=1, doing retry";
2) I searched the issue on this forum and I saw the '-disablegfxfirmware' fix;
3) Booting with -disablegfxfirmware only got me stuck on a screen full of glitchy graphics and colors :banghead:
4) Searching again and I found that I needed to boot with an invalid platform-id, so I did and succesfully booted! :thumbup:

Now my questions are the following:
- How do I make sure I got the latest kexts installed? I already installed Lilu.kext, but searching for my problem it seems like the issue was this particular kext... Do I need to remove it and re-install it? I did everything with KextBeast;
- Do I need to boot every time with an invalid platform-id? Is there a way to permanently fix it?
- My boot time seems a bit slow now (compared to when I only had Windows installed), will it be this way forever?


Ps: I may be wrong, but it seems like my problems are graphics related.. but I'm still "looking" through my motherboard displayport, I still haven't connected to my 1080 displayport :confused:.
I've never experienced the problems you're having since I've always used a discrete graphics card. So, I can't even think of what you should do.

To check to see what kexts are installed, use this command in the Terminal:
Code:
kextstat
This command will list all the kexts loaded. To look for just one, use this command where xyz is the name of the kext (use capital letters where appropriate):
Code:
kextstat | grep xyz

As for using -disablegfxfirmware and an invalid platform-id, I recommend you keep digging to see why you need those two parameters to boot successfully. Maybe @pastrychef can help as I'm not that knowledgeable about what you're having to do. (Thanks, pastrychef for your help.)
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,865
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi!

This is my first OSX86 system in a long time so I'm not super into all the details how to do stuff.
Ive just set up my Hero X, Vega 56, i7 8700K, Samsung 960, Fractal Define R6 BenqPD3200U.
Installation went really smooth. High Sierra 10.13.5 (17F77).
Im using iMac 14,2 since display port not working on 18,3.
The Front-USB, BackUSB, BenqPD3200U-USB + SDCARD works. (Have not done any speed tests or anything)
iMessage works. But I don't have any bluetooth or wifi yet. Im thinking of buying a T9E and ASUS USB-BT400(don't know if it will work but cheap and I got it in the store downstairs)
I am using the TP-LINK T9E in another system, and it works OOB. However, I'm not familiar with the ASUS BT400. I use the GMYLE BT4 USB Dongle that's listed in the Buyer's Guide, Accessory section on the same system with the T9E; this BT dongle works OOB, too.

As of many here I have problems with my sound. I did follow your guide with

Drivers > Audio > 100/200/300 Series Audio Support
Drivers > Audio > 200 / 300 Series / X299 Audio Device ID Patch


Reboot
on the first run . And second run

Drivers > Audio > Realtek ALC1220
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions/
reboot

No sound.

Then I tried the: https://github.com/toleda/audio_CloverALC But could not get that to work either.

I can't see any sound card at all. Ill add my plist and kexts that I have in my /System/Library/Extensions if there is something missing or wrong.

View attachment 336775 View attachment 336776

Any hints for what to try next?
I hate to say it, but I recommend a fresh (re)install because you did or missed something to cause your audio problem. I just had to use the Two Step method, and it worked.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,801
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok I made some progress, here's what I did:
1) Booting with verbose helped me notice that the boot got stuck on "Hash data from Me never returned, status=1, doing retry";
2) I searched the issue on this forum and I saw the '-disablegfxfirmware' fix;
3) Booting with -disablegfxfirmware only got me stuck on a screen full of glitchy graphics and colors :banghead:
4) Searching again and I found that I needed to boot with an invalid platform-id, so I did and succesfully booted! :thumbup:

Now my questions are the following:
- How do I make sure I got the latest kexts installed? I already installed Lilu.kext, but searching for my problem it seems like the issue was this particular kext... Do I need to remove it and re-install it? I did everything with KextBeast;
- Do I need to boot every time with an invalid platform-id? Is there a way to permanently fix it?
- My boot time seems a bit slow now (compared to when I only had Windows installed), will it be this way forever?


Ps: I may be wrong, but it seems like my problems are graphics related.. but I'm still "looking" through my motherboard displayport, I still haven't connected to my 1080 displayport :confused:.

If you have a GTX 1080, your monitor should be connect to it, not the motherboard.
nvda_drv=1 should be enabled so that the system knows to use the Nvidia web drivers.
If you want to leave the UHD 630 enabled for Quick Sync, AirPlay video, etc., set ig-platform-id=59120003.

If you will ONLY be using the UHD 630 for graphics, set ig-platform-id=59120000 and use iMac18,1 system definition.

Lilu.kext and IntelGraphicsFixup.kext can help systems with UHD 630 enabled.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero Z370
CPU
Intel i7 8700k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks everyone for the help, you are really patient and kind!

Since I was booting without having any nvidia driver installed, I thought hooking the monitor to the 1080 wasn't going to display anything; I'll check as soon as I come home from the office.
I actually plan to use the two displayports on my 1080 to "drive" my two monitors (currently I have only one cause I'm replacing the other), so should I leave 14,2 system definition? And should I still set ig-platform-id=59120000?
Also, do I need to inject nvidia? I've seen the checkbox in the clover settings.

PS: I can't believe all these troubles are given by my gpu :crazy:
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,801
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks everyone for the help, you are really patient and kind!

Since I was booting without having any nvidia driver installed, I thought hooking the monitor to the 1080 wasn't going to display anything; I'll check as soon as I come home from the office.
I actually plan to use the two displayports on my 1080 to "drive" my two monitors (currently I have only one cause I'm replacing the other), so should I leave 14,2 system definition? And should I still set ig-platform-id=59120000?
Also, do I need to inject nvidia? I've seen the checkbox in the clover settings.

PS: I can't believe all these troubles are given by my gpu :crazy:

If you will be using the GTX 1080, don't connect monitors to the motherboard.
Set ig-platform-id=59120003 and Inject Intel.

System definition is up to you, but iMac18,3 is probably the most popular choice for i7-8700K users.
 
Top